We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small (comparatively) and friendly all you need”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #8 of 216 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This place was considerably cheaper than any other beachfront offering that I could find in Playa del Carmen or Cancun, and considerably nicer looking.
As the resort is small it makes less of a impact on the stunning beach - and lets the beach speak for itself. There are loungers and hammocks - but its nothing like the barrages of loungers and wedding pods that the big hotels have.
The food was good and plentiful, staff friendly . The rooms had a proper coffee maker with plentiful coffee which was a nice touch after being offered unpleasant instant.
I wasnt travelling with kids - but it looked great for kids - there was a games room upstairs with ping pong etc , a small swing set - and the staff were welcoming of kids.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tubbymctubbington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Hello tubbymctubbington,

We are honored by your positive review. Thank you. You traveled a long way to come to Mexico and we are glad that your overall experience was nice, specially the days spent at Petit Lafitte. It sounds like you were at least in one other (and large) hotel. Which makes your Petit Lafitte review even more relevant. We appreciate your kind comments about the service, the ambiance and the coffee.
We hope your Manchester summer is still nice and that if you return to Mexico, you come visit again. In the meantime, please say hello to Chicharito for us. (unless you root for M. City)

Once again, thank you…best regards,
I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really dislike big all-inclusive resort hotels and were looking for a smaller place in Playa del Carmen (where we chose to stay for its proximity to good scuba diving sites). As far as we could tell, Petit Lafitte was the smallest place in PDC which was still right on the beach. We got a 15% off special booking 30+ days in advance, with breakfast and dinner included, so we went for it.

ROOM

We stayed in an "ocean view" room on the second of three floors in Building 5, the closest to the beach. I'd consider it more of a partial view as technically all of the buildings including this one face perpendicular to the beach, so you have to look at an angle to see the water (through palm fronds and over the tiki bar). But we were happy enough with it and spent a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the breeze.

The room had A/C, a ceiling fan and a flatscreen TV. It was cleaned to a good standard every day, with bottles of water provided for free and towels made into animals and all of that. The staff recommended we use their bottled water for brushing teeth rather than the tap water, but I forgot one day and was fine. You do have to throw toilet paper into the trash can rather than flush so as not to clog the weak pipes, but this is the case all over the Riviera Maya. There were occasional sightings of tiny bugs like ants, but it's by the beach, so not surprising.

BEACH

The beach immediately in front of the hotel was pretty good, but there was occasional trash left behind by guests who apparently couldn't pick up after themselves, like straws and cups and cigarette butts. It was far messier outside the Petit Lafitte property, though.

There are lots of rocks all up and down that stretch of beach including in front of the big crowded all-inclusive hotels which neighbor Petit Lafitte, but there was a perfectly good rockless area just a few steps to the left. The water was very clear on days with less wind, but the snorkeling was poor -- all the intriguing dark patches you can see from land are just grass with very few fish.

I saw previous reviews about people staking out chairs with their towels, but we never had a problem with this. There are also four excellent hammocks, in which we spent entire afternoons. You can also get a massage in an open-air hut, or walk a little ways down the beach for a cheaper one.

All in all, a relaxing place to sit and read a book or take a nap. Can't ask for much more out of a beach!

STAFF

The best thing about the hotel is the staff. Everyone was just lovely. David is the manager -- friendly and easy-going and very helpful. Antonio, one of the waiters, had fun helping me with my Spanish. Javier seemed to be the head waiter and was so sweet and hard-working. We tried to give him a special tip the day we left but he just put it right into the communal tip jar! Possibly he is my favorite new person I've met this year. Any prospective guests should look out for him and treat him right!

FOOD

Excellent. Always plentiful and tasty. Good variety in both breakfast and lunch menus, and breakfast also had a long buffet with fruit, cereal, yogurt and freshly squeezed juice. For lunch I had the divine fish tacos everyday -- I miss them already. Javier alerted me to the awesome hot sauce they make as well.

Dinner also came with a long soup/salad buffet but for the main course you usually had the option of either a meat or seafood dish. Each plate was artfully presented. On Saturdays there's a Mayan buffet where they go all out -- so very much food! (I felt bad for the staff because half the hotel guests seemed to be gone for a wedding at another hotel, so I don't know how much of the Mayan buffet was wasted.)

The tiki bar had a 2 for 1 happy hour a couple times a week, so we took advantage! Most everything they made was very tasty and just the right strength. A few nights there was live music. On Saturday there was a Mayan dance troupe who performed in traditional dress and did some impressive fire tricks, and gave a short talk on preserving their culture.

MISCELLANEOUS

There's a small tropical bird sanctuary right next to the hotel which you can walk to without feeling like you've even left the hotel property.

There's also a sizable pool and a play area for kids. One of the days, the staff even brought out a pinata for the kids to whack open. (Normally we'd probably prefer not to be around too many kids on our vacation, but I have to admit I liked how warm the staff were to the families.)

The hotel sprayed for mosquitoes one of the days we were there, but most of the time the wind was strong enough that it wasn't a problem. On one calm night, we saw a single mosquito hanging around our door, which I sent to meet its maker. No bites, but we did wear a lot of bug spray in the evenings (which we got from the Walmart in PDC). Still, some ants got us a few places so beware of that.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor of Building 5 for ocean view if you don't want a bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theakmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear theakmeng,

Greetings to Washington DC, and thank you for your stay at Petit Lafitte. We’re delighted to read your review.
Evidently you are not the “all inclusive” large hotel type, and we are glad that you found what you were looking for at Petit Lafitte. I was wondering if you were able to go diving, as you seemed to be looking for some scuba sites. Yes, snorkeling is not a great thing off the coast anymore as it was, say…10 years ago? Too much traffic of boats and jet skis, make it not a good idea, however, you can always hire a boat (arranged by David, our concierge) who will take you to nearby, safe, colorful and full of sea life reefs.
We’re glad that you liked the room, the staff and the food, and also got to enjoy the bird sanctuary and the other guests, even those who had children.

We hope that you recommend us and maybe someday try us again.

We will be very happy to see you again, meanwhile, enjoy your new adventures and travels.

All the best!

I.Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The beach was clean. There was good swimming a bit to the left in the water (directly in front had rocks a few feet into water)
Lots of hammocks and beach chairs under palapas. The sand on the resort was soft and clean.
There is a small swing set and slide structure near the dining area which is nice for when the kids have finished before the adults. We traveled with our boys, but there were only 2-3 other families with kids so it wasn't overwhelming with children everywhere.
The meal times in the dining area were 7:30-10 or 10:30 for dinner and breakfast. There's a bar and grill between the beach and pool that served lunch from 11-4.
The food was great! High quality food. They didn't cut corners, even in areas they could've easily. (My husband is a buyer for food) We stayed during the week, and one night they had live music before and during dinner. I've heard that there's more live music on weekends too.
We stayed in a garden bungalow. It's truly garden view, but it was nice. The bird sanctuary is next to the garden view bungalows. Make sure to walk through and see the toucans, parrots, turkeys, and other misc birds. Look for the peacocks! The ocean view and oceanfront bungalows are on a section of sand that extends away from the beach.
The hotel rooms are in 5 different buildings of 3 floors each with 2units on each floor. The buildings are in a line similar to the bungalows with Building 5 being closest to the beach and Building 1 by the dining area. The pool is in between.
The staff are very friendly. Very accommodating. And they immediately learned our names which was nice for the kids.
We had a great time. It was a lot of fun and very relaxing!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Nice Megan!

We are glad that you decided to come with your husband and children to Petit Lafitte and found the relaxation and the experience you were looking for. Bungalows are definitely convenient for families like yours, as they are a bit more spacious than the regular rooms. Some people seem to be concerned with the fact that the hotel is not “designed” to entertain children, but your testimony shows that with the bird sanctuary, the beach, the pool, and the newly added little play ground, children can have plenty of entertainment. Thank you for your recognition for the staff who quickly learned your names and made you feel at home.

We hope that you have many more travels with family and as a couple as well, maybe someday our paths will cross again.

Best regards,

Ivan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were awarded a work trip at a larger more expensive resort in the Playa del Carmen area. We wanted to arrive a day early with our friends but were not thrilled with the large resort pricing. I found Petit Lafitte on Trip Advisor and was stunned by all of the fantastic remarks and the pricing. This place is THE BEST!! We only spent one night, but we were given dinner and breakfast (included) and fantastic service. The rooms are simple and plain, but the setting of this resort is so great that all you really use your room for is sleeping and showering! While the setting and facility is beautiful, the staff really sets this resort apart from others! From Lenora at the front desk to Martin and Antonio in the restaurant and Victor and his fantastic margarita dance at the beach bar,,,,, they make Petit Lafitte a destination you will return to! In fact, our larger resort was down the beach and one day we made a hike down the beach just to go back to visit Victor and have a drink! While this trip was with work friends, we have already discussed bringing our kids back to this little hideaway! THANK YOU TO EVERYONE AT PETIT LAFITTE!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hola Denise W,

We truly enjoyed reading your review, for various reasons: First: You weren’t planning to stay at Petit Lafitte, your one night stay with us, was a consequence of you earning a reward at work. Second: You found us on TripAdvisor and the end result, portrayed in your review, give prestige and reputation to the site, to the hotel and to the reviewers. Third: You were able to capture in just one day, the essence of the place which is rooted in personality and intention, things are done here with a mind and heart set on providing service. Fourth: You missed Lafitte while you were in your larger resort to the point that you walked on the beach to visit our bartender and have a drink at our bar! … And the icing on the cake: you and your work colleagues are already talking about coming back with your children on a future occasion. Whoa…no more words needed.
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review for us!
And see you next time…With family!

Best Regards,

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Picture perfect, boutique style hotel/resort. Excellent service. Good food. Very friendly atmosphere. There were several young families with children so our boys quickly found friends to play with. The kids loved the playground, the pool and the beach. My husband and I enjoyed the peace and quiet, the coctail bar, the hammocks,...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Fiener,

We are glad to read your positive review for our little hotel. Thank you for staying with us in your spring family vacation. We understand that your young kids enjoyed meeting other kids who were staying here with their own families, and yes, Petit lafitte has had that quality for a long, long time. People connect and stay connected even after they leave the hotel. Some of them coincide in future trips or travel together even to other places. That speaks of camaraderie and sincerity. But as in most things in life, It takes two to tango, you surely played your part.
We are honored that you appreciated your stay and your experiences while at Petit Lafitte.

Be well and see you next time!

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had our wedding at Petit Lafitte at the end of March. I could not have asked for a more perfect event!!! Everything down to the little details were PERFECT! We live in Chicago so all our meetings took place with Ivan over Skype. He was super helpful and kept my husband and I at ease with planning miles away! We had 86 people at the wedding and every single guest had nothing but amazing compliments to give regarding the ceremony, reception, hotel, and especially STAFF! This place is truly a gem in the Riviera Maya and I would HIGHLY recommend a wedding/honeymoon/vacation to anyone! Petit is simply THE BEST! We all cannot wait to go back :)

Room Tip: Bungalows are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsemanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear L. Semanic,

I personally wish to thank you for being one of the most trusting, and easy going brides ever!! It was a lot of fun working with you and creating this joyous event. We enjoyed your husband’s musical talent while jamming with "Los Naked Mexicans" and having your whole group dancing and having a great time at the beach bar. More than anything, we appreciate you choosing Petit Lafitte putting your unique event in our hands. Life’s a great journey and now as a result of such a marvelous experience while creating magic together, we get you friends E&D, who attended your wedding choose Lafitte for their own wedding in 2015.

On behalf of everyone involved, Thank you for your love, your energy and you magic.

See you for your anniversary!

Love Iván.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Loved our stay at Petit Lafitte. Food was good, nice pool,beach is gorgeous, small friendly resort. My 14 year old daughter loved it too. Great mix of families, couples, groups of friends.
if you want any water sport, you can walk down the beach and rent anything you want. We went on a 3 hour snorkeling boat trip. went parasailing, lots of swimming. The staff is great and helpful arranging any excursions. Visiting and swimming in the cenotes and Xpu- Ha was great.
Can't wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hola Sherri,
Greetings to the NYC,

Thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte for your spring time vacation.
We are glad that your 14 year old daughter liked it as well. Yes, the clientele of Petit lafitte can be very diverse depending on the time of the year. Holidays usually come with variety, and young and adults can enjoy the place as they meet other travelers of their age group. As you report, there is plenty of activity to be found in the vicinity for those restless hearts.
We’re so glad you had a great time and are hoping to return.

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
4,392 reviews
3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#30 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
2,942 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#13 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
542 reviews
7.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#74 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
13,711 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 216 in Playa del Carmen
16,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £140 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing