We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort!”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New Lenox, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Resort!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My sister and I along with our daughters (11 and 9) had a great experience at Petit Lafitte! The size of this resort was absolutley perfect. We loved a more intimate atmosphere and the family feel of Petit Lafitte. It was not over crowded, most times we were the only ones in the pool! The grounds/gardens were absolutley beautiful. The service was excellent, with friendly and welcoming staff. As a very limited spanish speaker I found communication to be easy with most staff members. We stayed in bungalow 15 and enjoyed having a bit of privacy from the larger hotel. The airconditioning worked tremenously well, rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner were included. We enjoyed all of our breakfasts and most of the dinners. The reort is nicely located off the beaten path but close enough to access all site seeing options and downtown districts. We had a car so we were able to drive into town and see the sights and accomplish excellent shopping! We cant wait to come back again!

Room Tip: The bungalows are very charming and offer a feel of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Dear Tammy, sister and daughters!

Lovely, thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte as your destination for a Mexican Caribbean trip. Evidently you are the boutique hotel type and aren’t we glad! Yes, more intimate atmosphere, relaxed surroundings and ambiance, and welcoming staff, that is the essences of our place.
So glad you loved it and resonated with it, and with our far enough-close-enough location.
As I often tell people, If you are in the middle of the action, like in down town playa, you can’t take the party out of your neighborhood it is basically impossible. But if you are in a secluded area, you cn always ride into the action that way having both worlds.

We hope that your idea of a possible comeback becomes a reality soon!

Hasta La Vista!

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    256
    72
    9
    6
See reviews for
508
702
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Petit Lafitte is the perfect getaway hotel if you wish to chill! I went solo and was very content with all! The staff was more than helpful and caring. The property is just beautiful and the food was just fine. I would have liked more possibilities at dinner. Otherwise, I will come back again. I would recommend renting a car if you wish to go into Playa del Carmen. Taxis have become very expensive for a four mile trip!

Room Tip: I was in 401 and it was just fine. I would stay on a higher floor to get a breeze so that I would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Irisjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear Irisjo,

Greetings to the big Apple,
We are glad to read that a solo traveler like you was able to find the peace and quiet from her normal city life. That you enjoyed the staff’s attention and dedication. As far as dinner options, yes it is more a dining room than a restaurant, we produce everything fresh and having too many options would involve using frozen produce, we prefer to not use frozen.

We are glad that your overall experience was one of satisfaction and pleasure!

Best wishes and happy travels!

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place is perfect for a relaxing getaway which is exactly what my wife and I needed. As a same sex couple this hotel was more than welcoming. We stayed in a Garden View Bungalow and right out side our door was their bird refuge area. It is so wonderful that they have this on property. The birds are intercepted from animal trafficking, rehabilitated and released back into the wild if possible. There are toucans, macaws, all types of parrots, wild ducks, turkeys, peacocks and more. We loved being greeted by Toku the toucan and George of the Jungle :-) every morning. They have a great beach, that was not busy, plenty of hammocks. The pool was great, the service was great. Javier is wonderful and thank you Eduardo and David for accommodating our needs. A/C in the room is more than adequate. Beds are firm but they will get you foam toppers if needed. The food was also delicious. Great ceviche at the bar. Delicious Pina Coladas and Mojitos and they have 3 local beers that were good, one was even on tap and was delicious.

If you are looking for an adventure outside the hotel, I would recommend the Chaak Tun Cenote. It was really spectacular. Lockers are all broken thought so I wouldn't leave any valuables in them, just a change of clothes or towel. You will need around $40 for the round-trip cab ride and $30 per person for the Cenote.

One thing I might recommend is drink service on the beach. We were never served or offered any drinks while at the beach, as well as at the pool. Most of the staff is right there anyway so it would not be difficult to ask guests if they would like anything and it would be a way for them to make more tips too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Merissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Dear Merissa P,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed their vacation at Petit Lafitte. We believe in respect and that is why we do not discriminate anybody for their believes or ideologies. We are glad that you felt welcomed and that you enjoyed the animal sanctuary that is another aspect of the respect we have, in this case for nature. We try to put extra energy in the service we provide and Javier, David and Eduardo are three important members of our team who excel at providing personalized attention. Thank you for noticing.
We are taking your comment about the lack of service on the beach seriously. The GM personally reads the comments of the guests and the owners get a report of those comments. So, they will know about the service on the beach need you are pointing out. You are right, that would be an extra nice touch.

Thank you so much for you visit and for sharing your review.

All the best!

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My wife and I had a great time in Playa Del Carmen. We stayed a couple nights in the city and then the rest of the week at Petit Lafitte (4miles outside the city). While it was quiet, compared to the hotels near 5th ave., the friendly staff, good food and beautiful grounds made our stay memorable. Our room was a bit dated and our bed was hard, but our view was perfect and besides, the last place you want to be is in your room. Pull up a stool at the bar and ask Jesus (bartender) to mix you a margarita and you'll be glad you chose Petit Lafitte.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradinSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 27 September 2014
Dear Bradinsandiego,

We’re glad you and your wife had a god time here in Petit Lafitte. It was nice that you got to savor two different versions of Playa del Carmen, the down town side, with the action packed 5th avenue and Xcalacoco beach just a few miles north, for a semi-secluded beachfront, relaxed experiences.
As I’ve said before, we are still in the process of updating the rooms, it is hard to do it with an open hotel with rooms occupied, it takes time, but we are now 60 percent done, we should be ready by mid December.

Enjoy our beautiful part of the world that you call home..Sand Diego, California.
And have many more happy vacations!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay for the cost. The area is very pretty. Good pizza place Coco Cabanas around the corner. Breakfast was good. Unfortunately dinner was unusually expensive for the meal. Other than that a great beach, pool is fine bar is on the sand. Rooms are fine, strong ac. Low tech door locks and safe.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 25 September 2014
Dear hhtravels8,

Thank you for taking the time for writing a brief review for us. We are glad you thought our prices were affordable and good value. We have 6 different categories of rooms, thee in the Bungalow section and three in the Standard section, the prices escalate the closer you are to the ocean. That allows people with different budgets choose the room price that suits each one. Yes our neighbors at Cocos, make a pizza that could compete with any in Mexico, nothing substituted the smoky wood oven flavor. Dining in the area is rather expensive, unless you eat outside of the main tourist strip, that’s why it is a good idea to get the half board plan (with dinner and breakfast included). The difference between the breakfast only and the half board is very small and you get a dinner meal that the value of the difference in prices won’t buy you.
As for the low tech safe and locks…well, you see, when you are just steps from the ocean, high tech electronics are a terrible idea, unless you are a large hotel (with hundreds of rooms) then you can get a good deal with the suppliers, they even give you service, and the price per unit gets to be very low, the other advantage for them (disadvantage for the guest) is that in most cases these hotels have their rooms a quarter of a mile away and the salt air is much less there than 25 yards away. We will stick with these locks and safes, they work perfectly and avoid a lot of problems that we would have with high tech ones.

Overall, you seem to have had a good experience and enjoyed our little beach front hotel.



Thank you again, and enjoy your future ventures.

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here in June of 2014 for some relaxation. We got an ocean view bungalow (number 11).

This is the place if you are looking for a relaxing vacation with a great beach, and are not into big crowds and huge resorts. The room was great - big king bed, very clean, great view of the beach and ocean, great front porch with chairs to relax in, and air conditioning that kept your room as cold as you wanted.

The best part about this resort was the staff. They were unbelievable. They really catered to your every need. They were always ready with some food, a clean towel, a cold beer, or a bottle of the complimentary water. The second best part about this resort was the beach, its beach bar, and tables overlooking the beach. The beach was full of chairs covered by palapas for shade (if you wanted it), and we never had a problem getting whatever set of chairs we wanted. The beach is very wide so you do not notice people walking by on the beach. The beach is raked every morning so it is clean and beautiful. The ocean right in front of the hotel has some rocks, but you only have to walk about 10 yards down the beach for the perfect beach swimming hole. We walked down the beach in both directions and all the other resorts in the area looked miserable! The other resorts had seaweed all over the beaches in front of the resorts, rows of four or five chairs, and crowded beach bars (if there were beach bars at all). Not the Petit Lafitte! The bar was right by the beach, and there was never a wait. The tables by the bar overlook the beach and are perfect for lunch or an afternoon snack. Also, any water activities you book can pull the boat right up to your breach to pick you up and drop you off - nice and easy.

I also want to say how good the food was. We got the meal plan that included breakfast and dinner. We usually never do meal plans/all inclusive b/c of the usual poor quality of the food, but we read reviews here that made us do the meal plan. We were pleasantly surprised - the food was great. The breakfast included fresh fruit, toast, and pastries that you can fix a plate of before sitting down. Then you get a full menu to order from including fresh omelettes, breakfast tacos, pancakes, etc ...! Dinner is also made fresh to order, but it is limited to a selection of two items. It was usually fish/shrimp or a beef/pork item. We thought they were all great. One night they had a Mexican BBQ by the beach, pulled out a huge charcoal grill, and you got to pick what type of fajitas you wanted as they were made fresh! There was even a two person band by the beach. Lots of fun.

I usually try to leave at least one negative, but it is really hard to think of one here. The dinner/breakfast restaurant is back from the beach, but it is open to the ocean breeze. There is a cab ride to playa del carmen, but it is only ten minutes and about twenty dollars. [Note: We went to playa ONCE and missed the Petit so much that we never went back.]

We hope this place never ends up like those hotels around it and stays as peaceful as it was. We would definitely visit again. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow - much better than your typical hotel room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank ratavius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Howdy ratavius,

Thank you for your visit in June and for writing a nice review for us. We’re glad your wife and you enjoyed one of our best Bungalows on the beach, the personalized service, the semi deserted beach and the beach bar.
Evidently you are not the all inclusive resort type, however, as we all know, there is all kinds of travelers and some do enjoy larger hotels, and rows of lounge chairs. It is fair to admit that we are not for everybody and we’re happy to see that in your case there was the appreciation for our style and size.

Be well, enjoy your Texas fall and future travels if you ever want to try us again, just cont6act us…after all we’re just a short flight from Houston.

Kind Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time at Petit Lefitte. Extremely accommodating and friendly staff, lovely facilities, delicious food, beautiful beach, affordable prices...what else can I say? We will be coming back next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, 19 September 2014
Hi BW,

Very short, yet very eloquent review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and for recommending us and more so for threatening us with a next year return!

Be well and see you next time!

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing