We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful 8 days of vacation! New Friends. Petite's a Great Value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Adairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful 8 days of vacation! New Friends. Petite's a Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Upon arrival, in just a few moments my pace slowed down and I found rest. I spent the first night checking out the stars, making pictures out of the clouds. Every meal I was served was great. Service staff was great. Great beach, beautiful flowers, small library was cool- I read 2 books, my wife read 5 most in a shaded hammock listening to the ocean. The pool was good, we had our own small porch surrounded by flowers, small iguanas and other small lizards. Beds were comfortable. I had coffee each morning oceanside at a table and one morning I was out way before daylight, one of the young guys made coffee at the bar the moment he saw me.

The walk to Playa is a good hike, you will pass one of the best beaches I have ever seen. It's a local public beach. Playa Del Carmen had some fancy resorts we passed. Fifth avenue is no good. I did get a $1 Corona at Tequilla Town but that's just bait. We walked to the Mega, a cross between wal mart, home depot, staples and Best Buy. We caught a taxi back and regretted leaving the sanctuary of the Petite Lafitte.

Out the front gate is a small homestyle zoo.

I read on Trip Advisor the beach bar was not a good value for lunches. I found that to be untrue. We refrained due to a budget. About day 4 I got a menu, the prices are stated, chips are included and for a lunch served ocean front by high quality adult servers it was not much more than a Thick burger combo at the drive thru at Hardees. Its really sad the service we allow in the United States.

Use Petite's shuttle, it will cost about 20 more than Expedia but it will worth it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefhtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,093
    249
    71
    9
    6
See reviews for
488
678
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Just leaving Petite Lafitte, and willing to come back again and again... It's a great place for relaxing vacations... Imagine waking up and finding the beach just three steps from your door! The staff is so kind... they are like a family receiving friends to stay for some days :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebert-HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Stayed with Partner and Friends for a week to celebrate birthdays. The customer service is out of this world. Accomodations were made for different dietary needs and room requests were met in short time. No detail was left ignored and we were always welcomed with a sincere smile. The food is super fresh and in a perfect indoor/outdoor atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayPeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

My stay at Petit Lafitte was fabulous! The spotless white beach, beautiful blue water, and peaceful calm setting was much more than I ever expected. Staying here felt like you were a personal family guest in a paradise scenario. Truly a well kept secret hide-away, the accomodations were first class and the food was outstanding...prepared to your individual taste, and not your ordinary large resort buffet. This is the perfect place for family reunions, casual corporate meetings, or to enjoy an environment of complete relaxation! I can't wait to book a vacation trip to Petit Lafitte for our entire family!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

If you are looking for a Disney cruise on the beach experience, then Petit Lafitte is not for you. If you are looking for a more genuine Mexican owned resort, then you should consider what is offered at Petit Lafitte. The low key/high alpha wave vibe of the old Capitan Lafitte survives here. For over 30 years, the owners, management and staff have successfully created a business model that emphasizes a relaxed, family oriented environment, personal service and great food. Each time my wife (sometimes family members) return it is like reuniting with old friends. Sometimes surprise reunions occur with returning guests such as us.

There are no excessive surroundings of glass, chrome and marble here. The facilities express more stucco, limestone and wood with tile and palapa style roofs. Numerous hammocks are slung between coconut trees and a hammock palapa is situated closer to the water. The grounds of Petit Lafitte provide lush vegetation and is well maintained. My wife and I actually saw staff sifting the sand in the cabana area to eliminate any small stones or shells. Perfect for the barefoot experience! Thank you Lafitte.

A small zoo is maintained to the rear of the property with an aviary, as well as having havelina, deer, and ostriches.

The resort has one nice pool that is approximately 4 feet deep and is cleaned on a daily basis. Petit Lafitte is divided into 2 sections. There is the hotel section and the cabana section. In the hotel section rooms may be considered somewhat Spartan, but spacious and clean with a large shower. Included are a TV, telephone, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, safe and a mini fridge. The cabana area consists of beach front, ocean view and garden view cabanas. The cabanas vary in terms of having king, or two double beds. All cabanas also have a loft bed over the bathroom. The cabanas all contain the same as the hotel rooms except for telephone and TV. All rooms have A/C and ceiling fans.

The restaurant is a treat. Two full meals (breakfast and dinner) are included in your daily rate. Breakfast is a menu choice of various offerings. Very good. Dinner is a choice of two specials for the evening, but a menu choice is an option if necessary. We never found the dinner menu necessary however. The meals are 3 to 4 courses and we found all to be delicious. Here is a tip. Whenever asked for salad or soup, always ask for soup, or both. Every type of soup made was fantastic. Waiters, Manuel and Martine are top notch and have a great sense of humor. Oh yes, a good wine selection exists here too. Also, our daughter-in-law is vegetarian, and all accommodations were made for her dietary requirements. A lunch grill is located at the pool/beach bar with a menu of affordable offerings.

The pool/beach bar is manned by Jesus and Victor – known on You-Tube as 2 of the best bartenders in Mexico! That they are. Both grow their own mint for the Mojitos that they make. As opposed to many all-inclusive mega resorts, top brands of alcohol may be found here.

I would describe the beach as being of two parts. The part in front of the hotel section is nice, but has exposed limestone bedrock off shore and can be rocky. It does serve as a good area for close-in snorkeling however. To the north end of the property is a gentle sloping beach with easy access to a swimming area.

New access from hwy. 307 now exists via the main entrance of the Grand Maya Princess resort that is adjacent to the Lafitte beach. Despite the size of this resort, it still offers many of same amenities found in larger resorts such as spa services, laundry service, tours, internet access, private transfers, snorkel trips, dive trips and fishing. When entering the lobby Felipe is there to check you in and answer questions. David serves as Concierge and will assist in making any special arrangements for your room or for tours – almost anything really. Ivan, the manager always inquires about your level of comfort or satisfaction.

My wife and I are proud to say that we know this remarkable staff and that we always meet guests there that are interesting people as well. Petit Lafitte continues to uphold the old motto of Capitan Lafitte, where they offer an environment that is “simply different.”

We hope to return again and see our old friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank palapaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crandall, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This quaint little resort was wonderful. The beautiful beach and friendly, attentive staff made this vacation one of my favorites. The rooms were large and comfortable. The service was great and the food was excellent. I can't wait to return. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We had a wonderful time at Petit Lafitte. If you are looking for privacy, security, excellent food and a wait staff that truly cares about making your stay enjoyable and comfortable, this is the place to go. It is not touristy in any way. I highly recommend the bungalow accommodations-they are quiet, clean and comfortable.

I recommend this property for couples and business teams looking to get away from the rat race. We went into Cancun one day and couldn't wait to get back to Petit Lafitte where we felt safe and away from the fast pace you can find in Cancun.

We are going back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing