We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value, Great Beach, Attentive Staff”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value, Great Beach, Attentive Staff”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

This is the place to stay if you want to have a relaxing confortable vacation without fighting the crowds of the mega-hotels. The accommodations are clean, beds are comfortable and the staff treats you like family. Everyone from the restaurant, bar, and front desk will know your name and constantly ask if you need anything. The knowledgeable concierge will recommend restaurants in Playa Del Carmen, and loan out tour books if you want to go out to explore the Mayan ruins.

Forget about waking up early to find a chair by the pool or beach! This is a small hotel with ample seating and lounge chairs wherever you look. We certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpwomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,147
    257
    72
    9
    6
See reviews for
508
706
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2010

First came across this hotel eight years ago when it had just been built. Eight years later it has expanded but unlike the other large hotels, has managed to retain the small personal hotel charm. The entry road was being worked on but remained passable and I expect that it will be finished by the end of the month. Some rooms described as "ocean view rooms" probably were before the coconut trees matured.
The hotel was, in general, quiet although this was at the beginning of the season and it may not be that way if fully booked.
The staff went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stayed at Petit Lafitte over the Thanksgiving Holiday 2010 and were very happy. Our main goals were to relax, enjoy the water, eat and drink and this place fit the bill in a big way! On Thanksgiving, the hotel staff prepared an extraordinary feast that included all of the traditional items and more. It was as good as having dinner at home but without any work on our part! The entire staff was amazing, from the management to the housekeepers! Everyone was very friendly, helpful and fun. Breakfasts and dinners were included in the room price and everything was very tasty and fresh. They would do whatever was needed if you had any allergies (one of us does) to make sure that there were things on the menu for you to eat. One day we decided to sit around the pool at lunch time and before we could sit down Javier came over and took our drink and lunch orders. The entire staff works long hours, but were always pleasant and in a good mood. We took a partially guided tour of the Coba Mayan ruins and highly recommend it. Other than that, we stayed at the hotel and relaxed! It's not a big, high-end swanky resort, but they cater to those looking for quiet, comfortable and restful vacations. The rooms are nice and clean as well as the pool and dining area. If you don't want to vacation with crowds of other people, Petit Lafitte is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyNameShownHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2010

I booked this hotel for 3 days strictly on the fave reviews on Trip Advisor ... they were all positive. There was not one negative. Well, we were not disappointed! This is a fabulous small intimate friendly hotel with wonderfully trained staff! The breakfasts & dinners included in the price were amazing and the servers have such a great sense of humour. The room was very clean, the bed linens fresh. The grounds and pool area are kept clean and beautiful and Petit Lafitte is situated on a lovely stretch of white sandy beach,

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

If you're looking for a tasteful, low-key all-inclusive (except drinks and lunch) getaway with wonderful service and well-above par food, the Petit Lafitte is your kind of place. We just spent Thanksgiving week there with our extended family and no one was disappointed (out of more than 20!). Fresh-squeezed orange juice every morning, along with a mind-boggling assortment of locak fruit and pastries. Excellent ceviche for lunch and practically anything else you might want. And dinner was almost always a delightful surprise featuring both local and international dishes. Did I mention the bar makers the best fresh-squeezed lime drinks in Mexico? Only bad thing about that was keeping our kids from going back for 4ths and 5ths.

The resort doesn't have an array of "toys" and amenities to distract those who get tired of surf, sun, swimming and reading but we didn't miss a thing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

I am not kidding about the first class service. Our waiters, the front desk and the cleaners were all fabulous. It felt like we were welcomed into their family home! The cabañas were great! Simple yet more than adequate with a deck on the front so you could sit and soak in the Mayan jungle meeting the ocean. Within a day we settled into a new rhythm of a wonderful breakfast buffet with full course entre to follow. We were stuffed every morning ready for excursions or just hanging around. Dinner was a bit over the top for me salad bar, soup, breads, lots of ended and deserts.......I had to start ordering half portions!! I really enjoyed the food which had a great mix of American dishes and Mayian dishes if you wanted to taste the local recipes like I do.

Our hosts at Petit LaFitte were very helpful and even helped us with our very poor Spanish! Mucho gracias amigos!
I am an amateur photographer and found the jungle setting right next to the beaches all in a tropical setting an endless source of unique topics. I took hundreds of pictures! Some were simply stunning time exposures of the moon backlighting puffy cumulus clouds at night! Enchanting. I also like sw radio and the reception was great. Next year I bring my ham radio gear and try my luck!

I was relived that this was not a party open bar resort. I enjoyed the peace and quiet. There were lots of families there too, some with babies. It all seemed to work so effortlessly. For me, it was five stars all around. It's a jewel set in the Mexican Carribean.

Email me if you have questions about my review. dbalcaen54-at-shaw.ca

David Balcaen

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbalcaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We have been travelling for 25 years touring every place around the world. When my daughter and son-in-law suggested Petit Lafitte for a relaxing holiday, we just didn't know if it was right for us! Honestly, we loved this place the service was just great and the food pretty good. We could not believe that during our 13 day stay the soup was never repeated and every soup delicious - kudos to the Chef(s). From the very top to the staff everyone was very personable and took the time to learn customer's names even though sometimes that can be a challenge! At the reception area they always took care of any need you might have. Conceirge David from the time he handed the key made sure everything was A OK! Victor and Jesus at the bar were very friendly and made sure your thirst for water, drinks or food was always taken care of. We enjoyed the Coconut water daily as per our request. Lourdes who made up the rooms daily was very pleasant and there was never a want of anything.

My grandchild made herself right at home and her needs and the needs of my sick husband were always attended to. The wonderful treat for old and young is the Zoo and although the surface was uneven it added to the natural habbitat for the animals and birds. Even the internet was available at all times.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends for a relaxing and safe holidays with terrific service at all times. The other visitors at Petit were all so friendly and helpful and it felt like being with family. This place is so safe and away from the hustle and bustle of tourists crowds.

The only con was that since the roads are in process of being modernized, the taxi rides to and fro were a little rough. Once completed it will be smooth sailing. I personally feel if you want to do a lot of sightseeing, etc. the best deal would be to rent a car.

Keep up the good work at Petit Lafitte and may be you will see us again soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRemedios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
4.6 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing