We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place near Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Place near Playa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Great Place near Playa Del Carmen. The service is wonderful. The employees are truly a great bunch of folks. We stayed four nights last week on a spontaneous getaway.

While basic, the rooms are clean and in good order. There is a stocked mini refrigerator and all the bottled water you can drink. Wireless internet is included. Each room although "poolside" or garden has a nice balcony and partial view of the ocean. The beach area is nice and we felt more at home there than we would have in the larger resort beach areas we walked past during our daily walks.

Our rate included breakfast and dinner. Both meals were way beyond our expectations!

If you rent a car, the map on their website is more than ailed detenough to get you there. (I don't recommend renting a car in Cancun) Playa is too far to walk ... so you will need to drive or a taxi to go into Playa.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daver328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,123
    253
    71
    9
    6
See reviews for
500
695
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Each year in frigid February, my husband and I spend about two weeks at Petit Lafitte hotel north of Playa Del Carmen. Each year we are welcomed back by the courteous, sweet and cheerful staff-- the waiters, bartenders, housekeepers and primo chef make this trip feel like we are coming home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northnodejudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

What stood out to me the most about Petit Lafitte was the staff. They went out of their way to make our trip the best it could possibly be. The attention given by the friendly workers is at a different level than any other resort in which I have stayed. The food is incredible, the accomodations are wonderful, and the beach is immaculate. We cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okiebanker86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just returned from this quiet little gem of a hotel in Playa del Carmen. My husband and I were in need of some R & R and really did not want to be in the heart of Play del Carmen as we really just wanted to relax afterall so we opted to try Capitan Lafitte. We were pleased that this was a very private hotel that was not inundated with too many guests, and was situated right on the beach. Service was excellent! we were greeted by Eduardo who was extremely helpful and gave us a walkaround tour of the hotel and as our room was not ready we wereseated near the beach for a lovely lunch. The food was outstanding! all so fresh and variable and the Wait Staff were excellent. Everyone was so friendly and accomodating that we will not hesitate in going back again. The rooms are spacious and clean and include all major amenities. Best 4 days vacation for us thus far and well worth the money. Thanks again to all the staff at Petite Lafitte we had a wonderful time.

-Nicole & Yassine-

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We just returned from a one week stay at Petit Lafitte, one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at! For families this is an excellent find. We travelled with our 3-year old daughter; it was great to be so close to the beach. We stayed in one of the poolside hotel rooms - you literally walk out your room door into sand! She had a wonderful time playing for hours in the sand, ocean and pool; consequently we could just relax and enjoy. The hotel is small enough that it was easy to meet other families with kids; we felt like we got to know many people that stayed, as well as the staff.

Rooms were basic, yet clean and we enjoyed the little towel animals that room service created every day. AC, fan and mini-fridge were in working order and it was wonderful to have as much free water as you needed.

No need to go into town if you didn't want to, but so close to Playa del Carmen (15 min cab ride) that you could.

Food was excellent - the breakfast buffet was great... fresh fruit, bakery breads, cereal, yogurts, and egg or pancake items for order. Dinner included a soup and salad bar plus choice of 2 entrees and dessert. Our only quibble might be that we would have liked more Mexican food (it was more standard American/European fare), but a minor thing.

Service was beyond our expectations - all the staff were friendly and went over the top to help you with anything you needed. One evening our daughter fell asleep early so we went to ask if we could bring dinner back to our hotel room. Minutes later David arrived in the midst of a heavy downpour with our meals on a tray, wine glasses and all. Hats off to David, Javier, Luis and all the lovely staff - thank you for an excellent stay!

Much better than one of the huge all-inclusives. We would highly recommend Petit Lafitte and hope to make it back soon!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artmaven_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

I’m one of those people who came to Petit Lafitte after having been to the original Capitan Lafitte many times over the years. The original held so much charm and originality that I was worried that my expectations would be too high; they weren’t.

Petit Lafitte is a magical slice of a simple paradise on a beach that is fast becoming home to many mega resorts. Here at Lafitte’s you will not find jet skis, hundreds of lounge chairs nor will you find pesky wrist bands to identify you amongst the literally thousands of guests. No, here you will be at home; one of the family. Lafitte’s is not going to be for everybody, but if you value a paradise that is relaxed, unassuming and personal then you might very well have found your next Mexican vacation destination.

Upon arrival I was amazed that even after 7 years the staff remembered me; this is the kind of personal touch you can expect here. Here, the staff wants to know you, where you’re from and more about you than just whether or not you want salt on your margarita. If you wish quiet anonymity you can have it but trust me, the staff here is wonderful.

The main resort features a smallish three-story hotel that looks charming, white against the Caribbean blue skies. This area is also home to a sparkling pool that’s surrounded by a lush garden. Here in the central courtyard you’ll find the restaurant area serving breakfast and dinner each day, more about that in a bit. At the far end of the courtyard, near the beach is a quaint little bar where you can mingle with other guests as well as enjoy the best margaritas in Mexico.

The other side of the resort is the cabana section; here a growing number of private and simple cabanas begin at the beach and continue around to face a garden area. Currently there are 18 cabanas but there are still a few under construction. We stayed here and I will say that it was peaceful and charming. The cabanas themselves are fairly basic, wood construction with either two double beds or one king (we chose the king) our cabana also had a loft area with an additional bed. The cabana was clean, simple and a great place to come home to each evening.

Days start at Lafitte with breakfast, and they should not be missed. There is always a buffet of fresh fruits, yogurt, pastries, a tasty granola mix and freshly squeezed orange juice. If that isn’t enough, by all means count on one of the breakfast entrees on the menu; the molletas, omelets and yes the French toast are personal favorites. Don’t forget to linger with a cup of coffee while you let your day begin slowly. Afterwards, make your way to the beach to savor the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. There is an area with a sandy bottom perfect for splashing around in the warm water or if you’d like, there are areas with coral that will allow limited snorkeling as well. Either way, when you step out of the sea you will have your choice of reclining on a beach chair in the open sun or one of the palaps on the beach. Don’t overlook the hammocks that are available as well, very comfy, perfect places for a nap.

Since lunch is not included in the room rate, you can either order something from the bar, which offers a great variety of Mexican dishes or you can take a car or taxi into Playa del Carmen and try out one of the many restaurants there.

As the sun begins to set you’ll likely find many of the guests gravitating to the bar area for those amazing margaritas, ice-cold cervecas or even a surprisingly good glass of vino blanco. Whatever your taste in libation, Victor of Jesus will be sure that you’re happy. After a cocktail, its back to the dining area to savor the amazing cuisine that is native to this area. The food in a word is fabulous. You will be treated to homemade soups and salads as a first course followed by a selection of either of two dinner entrees along with dessert. Prepare to enjoy and savor dinner as you look out from under the thatched roof at picture perfect evenings.

As I said in the beginning, this isn’t a mega resort; there isn’t a casino, nightclub, disco or any other distraction that would intrude upon the perfect simplicity of your Mexican holiday. After dinner, let your evening wind down with one last margarita before returning the tranquility of your cabana or room, savoring the rhythmic sound of the sea.

In the end Petit Lafitte not only met our expectations but exceed them as well. The resort is an ideal getaway, tranquil and relaxing; the staff is wonderful, very friendly and genuine (bear in mind that some of the staff has been here for over 20 years); and the people you meet here, we had great conversations with people from other snowy locales like Minnesota and Pennsylvania as well as from New Mexico, Montana and Washington DC; the common denominator is that they are all here because they seek a tranquil paradise and at Petit Laffite they’ve found it! Chances are if you seek something different, someplace special that will feel like home you’ll enjoy it too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pablo_a2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 5-night stay at Petit Lafitte. We specifically booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. We were not dissapointed! All the previous reviews are right on. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.
We stayed in one of the hotel rooms, a garden view king room on the third floor. We had a nice view of the pool and we even had a sliver of view of the sea. Like other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are VERY basic, but clean and functional. The finishes could use some updating, but for the price we paid we feel the rooms were just fine. The price of your stay includes all the bottled water you want. The rooms also have a coffee maker, and free wifi. The wifi was functional and fast the throughout our stay.
Besides the room, everything else exceeded our expectations. The staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable, and they did a fantastic job. They were accomodating in every way. Breakfast and dinner were included in the price of our stay, and they were very good. We looked forward to each meal. There was consistently good variety. Lunch was not included but we ate lunch just about every day at the seaside bar and grill. The fish tacos were out of this world. I don't think they were on the menu but order them anyway. Javier will be happy to accomodate.
The beach here is quiet and absolutely perfect. There was good swimming and snorkeling right off the beach. Wy wife and I also both got messages right there on the beach, and I would highly recommend this as well! We also made some new friends both with some of the guests and the staff. There's a very intimate feel to this place and you'll quickly make new friends with other guests.
Overall, I can't say enough about this great little resort. If you're looking to get away and enjoy quiet time at the beach, great food and drinks (awesome mojitos!), and getting to know some new folks, this is the place. We left our work and kids behind and went to Petit for a few days, and were able to completely unwind and rejuvinate.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elder1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing