We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB! Vacation of a Lifetime!”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Spectacular property, fantastic food, and phenomenal service. We were a large multi-generation family group, which can sometimes overwhelm staff at a resort, especially food service. But not at Rosewood Mayakoba. Every need was promptly met, and we had the vacation of a lifetime. Every area from the suites, restaurants, bars, pool, beach, gym, and spa was top notch in terms of cleanliness, aesthetics, and operations. Everyone who worked at the Mayakoba went out of their way to be helpful. This resort was very expensive, but worth every penny. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFamily706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I went to Rosewood Mayakoba for our honeymoon through advice of a friend.
We stayed there for 8 days in June 2013.
I cannot fault Rosewood in any shape or form.
From the arrival smiles , the delicious and cooling non alcoholic Mojito welcome drink, to the day we left, everything was flawless.
When we arrived they asked if this was a special occasion and when we told them it was out honeymoon, after dinner, they brought fresh fruit, champagne on ice and delicious chocolate truffles to our rooms.
We had maid service three time a day and the turn down service at night made me feel like i was coming home every night.

On arrival once you check in, you get into a boat and travel through the lagoon to our room. Each room is a stand alone with its outdoor private pool and shower.
THe rooms are generously sized. The resort is large so should you wish you are provided with complimentary bicycles to get around.
You have a 24 hour butler service and they will do everything from unpacking and packing your bags, to running a bath for you (the tub is HUGE and needs at least 45 minutes to fill!), to booking you excursions or booking a table at one of the restaurants.
The food…oh the food! delightful! every meal was a wonderful journey. I had the best ceviche of my life there. and they don't just have one type of ceviche…oh no!I tried at least 5 different types during my stay.
The Lobster Taco was my lunchtime stable. the nachos were fresh and when i asked if they were friend or baked the answer was " they are fried but we can make some for you that are baked if you wish"
and that is how the Rosewood rolls…."as you wish" anything and everything you want can be provided.
THe service for breakfast was wonderful. we were welcomes by Fabiola every morning , with a smiles. Ramon and Luis Miguel gave us excellent service for breakfast. When we asked how they made their delicious corn bread, the pastry chef, Fidel actually came out to greet us and handed us his recipe!!!
At night the same restaurant had Carlos and Hugo serving us who provided excellent service and taught us a lot about the region and the local wines.

My recommendations are:
Try the mexican wines , they are very good. The breakfast green juice is refreshing and tasty, the corn bread and tamarind jam were also yummy.

We also went out for the day to the local ruins which was a great day out and we learnt so much about the rich history of mexico.
We used the bicycles to travel around the ground . it is very safe …but watch out for the mosquitos .
I was eaten alive by them!

Overall, this was the best holiday i have ever been to. We will be coming back for our one year anniversary for sure
Thank you Mayakoba.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank X-rays-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We traveled to the Rosewood in January 2013 for my brother's wedding which was held at the resort. We stayed in an ocean front room, complete with plunge pool and could not have been happier! The service is incredible (of course based on the rates, you would expect nothing less) and the setting for this resort is like none other!! You feel as if you are staying on a private compound, natural surroundings so very beautiful and the rooms are top notch. The beach was pretty, surf a bit rough but nice to walk. Pool area was fantastic and the views were just as great! All of our meals were delicious, even the room service meal on our last day. If you want to be pampered, relax and enjoy peace and quiet, this is the place.

Room Tip: Ocean front suite was incredible, had family stay in lagoon side rooms and I was impressed by their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dameemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Rosewood just does resort better than anyone (except maybe the Aman hotel group).
Their staff is extremely well-trained in VIP service; they simply can't do enough for each guest.

We were here during very busy Xmas week so resort was at full capacity.
This is a very family-friendly time with many screaming young children at the pool area, so keep this in mind when planning your travel. Also, the pool & beach area is very condensed for a resort of this size. Chairs are packed fairly close together on the pool deck and at peak times you must get out there early (7:30 AM!!) to "claim your spot" (an annoying occurrence but not the resort's fault)

The other big thing to keep in mind is that the property is VERY spread out. The distance from the main restaurants to the beach is 1/2 mile so the resort has roving golf carts that swing by every 10 minutes. (You can also call the front desk and they will send a cart for you)

(If you want a Rosewood that is more compact and all beachfront I strongly suggest las Ventanas in Cabo)

Rooms at Mayakoba are massive. Approx 800 SF with huge bathrooms, outdoor showers, private patios with plunge pools overlooking the lagoon.
You are in the jungle so it is extremely lush.

The spa here is probably the best resort spa I've ever experienced. Recently rated "Best spa in Mexico" by Travel & Leisure magazine.
The facilities are top-notch with treatments in individual private mini buildings accessed via a walkway cut thru the foliage. It's a very unique experience.

And if you're into yoga be sure to take the AM class held in their lagoon-front Palapa. We were surrounded by birdsong and a lovely breeze. Heaven!!

The food is very good! Breakfast buffet is extensive with 5 kinds of fresh-squeezed exotic juices, and extensive selections of cheeses, fruits, yogurt, cereals, breads, pastries, etc.

Be sure to try their sushi & tequila restaurant Agave Azul. The sushi is very fresh and rivals what you find in L.A or NY.

All of this luxury comes at a steep price, of course, but worth every penny.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank HMM099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My husband and I visited the Rosewood in October. We have stayed in some lovely places, and this resort is probably our favorite. It is a beautiful, magical place that was very close to perfect. We love the beach, but reserved a lagoon deluxe suite (ocean suites are very pricey!) and worried we would miss the beach experience. However, the lagoon was so beautiful and such a unique experience that we didn’t miss it at all. There are birds, turtles, fish and a lush landscape to take in from your private deck and pool.
The rooms are gorgeous, luxurious and comfortable, from the outdoor shower to the huge bathroom, to the beautifully scented toiletries. (Not to mention the complementary bottle of Herradura tequila!) The service was topnotch, with everyone going out of their way to offer assistance.
We had the daily breakfast buffet included, and it was amazing. We woke up everyday looking forward to it. Try the “green juice” - so good!
It’s hard to leave here, can’t wait to return!

FYI: It was the rainy season when we were there in late October, and wow, did it rain! One day it rained non-stop. So be aware if you travel during that time.

Room Tip: We stayed in 421, and it was very private and looked across the lagoon (not at other suites). It wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MountainJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The resort is lovely, as many have said. Suites are large and comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe Lagoon Suite with 2 bathrooms and all the amenities others have mentioned. We loved the sounds of the lagoon's animals and birds. It was private and a great choice for us. Service was friendly and excellent throughout. The staff is very well trained and dedicated to making your stay pleasant.
The beach is small and crowded...3 rows of deck chairs.
The pools aren't the greatest...a design flaw, I think, for a beach resort. We enjoyed being at the beach pool once we discovered that you can sit facing the ocean, literally 2 feet from the surf, with the advantage of the sound of the ocean drowning out the screams of the many kids. Had to get there by 9 or all were gone. Pool service is good, water, snacks etc.
Beach is barely walkable, rocky and narrow. These are some of the minuses.
Another minus is that when we asked for bikes we were told we would be put 'on a list'....bikes didn't show up for 3 days by which time we'd lost interest. Silly 'miss' for an upscale resort.
I don't know why people have complained so much about the food. Aside from using evaporated milk instead of half and half for coffee, the breakfast was fine. Lunch at Punta Bonita was great. The lobster tacos and the chicken fajitas were standouts as were the Churros with dulce de leche dip. Dinner at the Italian restaurant was good, and we also enjoyed Agave Azul. Room service was prompt and gracious.
Spa services were excellent. Went 4 times and liked all the services.
In all, the pros outweighed the cons. I gave the resort an excellent rating because the negatives did not negatively impact us. We are normally beach people so we moved to the pool area facing the ocean. Not having bikes didn't bother us much. It rained for 3 of our 6 days and we still had fun. Would we return? I'm not sure we will, but I will recommend this resort to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank scatsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Everything is perfect here. The room (416 - a Deluxe over water suite, I believe it's called) couldn't be better - gigantic, secluded, immaculately maintained twice a day. The view is across the lagoon, it has a plunge pool, the best bathroom ever, bedroom (really comfortable bed) and large living room. The food in all three restaurants is amazing and the breakfast buffet is fantastic (and I hate breakfast usually). And every single member of staff has been polite, friendly and clearly want to make the strongest of good impressions. I understand why people keep coming back again and again - its the kind of hotel that spoils other hotels for you!

Room Tip: 416 is very private and very large! Couldn't have asked for a better room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hugosdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,995 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,535 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £630 - £1,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing