We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is not your average 5* hotel. This is a very special place. You turn off a busy road into a long driveway through the jungle, and then you arrive at the Rosewood. The natural beauty of the hotel is incredible- all very subtle with amazing views over the lagoon. Bright, open and relaxing. No large generic hotel structure, instead everything is built into the natural scenery.

All rooms are suites and consist of a separate villa- we had the most basic category which had: a large double bedroom, eating area, huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, indoor shower and our own terrace with an outdoor shower. The great thing is you can use the outdoor shower in complete privacy due to the way the rooms are built. You have your own terrace with sun beds on, with a small pool, so if you ever fancy hanging out in the room and getting a bit of sun, you can!

There are a number of pool areas to choose from- if you want the ocean view then there is only one pool. We quite liked the pool overlooking the lagoon as well, which is something a bit different. The resort is kept in immaculate condition, staff are incredibly friendly and can't do enough for you.

There are some nice perks- free bottled water, some free snacks by the pool, cold towels by the pool. There are also bikes you cant rent to ride around the resort if you like. The food is very good- the japanese restaurant offers a good menu and was a welcome change from the nachos we seemed to be eating a lot.

Overall, this is a really amazing, relaxing and special place. It stands out from all other 5* hotels I have been to (which includes the Four Seasons, Montage properties and other privately owned hotels in Europe). I cannot recommend it highly enough- and we cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LAX100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,764)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

979 - 985 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Mayakoba is a genius master plan of three hotels of which I stayed at two during my 6 days in paradise. The rosewood has service down to a tee, and the food was spot on. The ambiance and room features rivaled some of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Lagoon view is the only way to go Stay close to main building..... better than golf cart shuttles e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dcdesigndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

If you're looking for a wonderful experience, the Rosewood Mayakoba will not disappoint. Located about 45 minutes from Cancun Airport and 15 minutes from downtown Playa del Carmen, the hotel is really a private sanctuary on secured grounds shared by two other high end resorts and a golf course (although you will never see these other properties unless you want to go to them for drinks, dinner or golf.

From the minute you step out of the taxi, you're greeted by the friendliest staff I have ever met. I stayed in a Lagoon Suite - which will completely blow you away with its private plunge pool, roof deck, huge modern interior and unbelievable bathrooms. Internet was fast and free and worked all over the property which covers a lot of acreage.

Bicycles are available at no charge to get around if you want, but there seems to be a staff member with a golf cart passing by every couple of minutes who will be more than happy to give you a ride to wherever you want to go.

They were incredibly accommodating. When some buddies and I wanted to play poker during our stay and the staff could not find any cards, they immediately dispatched someone to go the the store to get some. 15 minutes later I was happily getting killed in a game of Texas Hold 'em.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a high end resort experience near Playa del Carmen. Just be aware that the Rosewood is definitely NOT an all inclusive! Dining and drinking on the property can be an expensive experience - although every meal I had (maybe with the exception of the continental breakfast) was worth whatever it cost.

This was my first time in the Mayan Riviera and the hotel arranged for the 9 of us that were there together to do some day trips and have a car service whenever we needed it.

I will most definitely stay at the Rosewood Mayakoba again!

Room Tip: The lagoon suites are the least expensive room option but are unbelievably large with incredible ame...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mbloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We've just returned from our second trip to The Rosewood Mayakoba. I am even more impressed this time as two years had past and the resort seems to have grown onto an even more beautiful and lush property. The staff are wonderful from the moment we arrive..this is consistent throughout our stay. The food is of great quality and value (decent portions;) We have two young children, one is 4 and so spent most of her days at Rosebuds (kids club) the girls there are so sweet and really great with the kids. We have stayed in both the lagoon studio suites as well as the ocean front unit and I think we preferred the lagoon suites, they are very bright and spacious and we loved to walk down to our dock to see all the fish, birds iguanas and other various wildlife. Just as I was mentioning yesterday, the last day of our trip…"Y'know, it would be nice if someone would come to the beach club by boat to take us back to our suites instead of the golf carts", a staff member did just that and so my daughter and I got to take a relaxing boat ride/ecotour back to our suite! I wonder if they heard me or if it was just a coincidence? Anyway, bikes are always available as well which is another nice way to get around. We were at the Mayakoba for a week and it rained every day except the last two (unusual weather) and yet, we were still happy to be there. They offered plenty of free, rainy day activities. We enjoyed our patio and hot plunge pool and ate or ordered room service off the various menus…and of course, lots of tequila tasting;) We have been fortunate to stay at some of the best hotels in the world and this one is definitely my favourite.

Room Tip: Lagoon suites are perfect for a small family. Ocean suites are nice but there's no evening sun a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparkysmomndad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Resort is enchanting and the food/facilities are excellent. The staff was not as friendly and accommodating as they were at other Rosewood properties I have stayed. The average level of service is the only reason I gave it 4 stars. It was like pulling teeth to get the water sports guys to help with anything. They would rather sit in the shade than "allow" you to use the equipment. Was told "maybe later" on a couple of requests. Beverage service on the beach service was inconsistent and slow.

Other than that, five stars all the way. Rooms are incredible.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TCUlonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Best place I have ever stayed, hands down.
Service stands out the most. Been to a lot of beautiful places around the world, with gorgeous accommodations, like this place, but the service is second to none, which makes this place all the more special.
Staff seem sincere, not contrived in their customer service. The concierge service is also amazing. They accommodated all of our requests promptly.
Needless to say, the property is beautiful, the private plunge pool is so fun and special to have. Also, the spa was great. The service poolside is attentive and the extras, like drinks and sunglass cleaning make it extra-special.
Attention to detail everywhere you go makes this place great.
Went with my husband and under two year old--great place for our son. We all loved it. Definitely will return...I also tell everyone to go!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SFholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

At my knowledge probably one of the best resorts worlwide. The smallest suite has a private pool. Unbelievable! The staff is fantastic: after one day everybody know my name, my preference, my wish. It is expansive, but they provide a real 5 star service, so the high price is totally justified. The swimming pool by the Casa del Lago is an heaven, with someone who bring a glass of fresh juice or something to refresh each hour for free (well... included in the resort fee). Don't miss a romantic dinner at Punta Bonita, by the sea, with the sound of the waves behind you. Unforgettable. However, if the suites are very expensive, the restaurants are very reasonable. If you compare the rates to the other two hotels in Mayakoba, it is more expensive for sure, but there is not comparison in quality. Not to miss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Van_Den_Budenmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4,216 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
6,000 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
16,539 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £629 - £1,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing