We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So close”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

What an amazing resort, but what a difficult layout. For those that do not know, the majority of the rooms are not near the beach or the main pool. They do have golf carts to transport you to the other areas of the resort, but you cannot count on them. My wife and I are young and enjoy exercise so for the most part did not mind walking to the beach everyday. However, a few times when we were in a hurry for a dinner reservation or to head to the airport, the lack of rides was frustrating. We had pre-arranged to have a golf cart pick up our luggage before checkout. The ride never arrived so I had to carry our bags to the lobby.

The resort, pool, and amenities are top notch. You will not be disappointed. A quick shout-out to our butler Adha, who was amazing. She hooked us up with newspapers, waters, and dinner reservations. The bell hop/valet guys were rude, but the rest of the staff was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    128
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
450
921
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a beach front room. Our own guy to serve us guacamole And chips and setup our chairs on our own little private part of the beach. Oh and don't let me forget the pitcher of handmade margaritas! Our room with our private dipping pool facing the ocean was pure paradise. The bathroom was amazing with the biggest tub I've ever been in and the walk in shower with a door to our little courtyard was pure perfection.
The spa. Was very nice. I will say at banyon tree Mayakoba across the way it's hard to top that spa experience especially because you can go through the rain spa with your significant other and not b separated by gender. That's still the best spa in Mexico.
The food was incredible. We had a steak that I can still remember at the restaurant at the front of the hotel. Absolutely mouth watering. The beaches in the Mexican Rivera are the most beautiful.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room it's worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dvswank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

we recently returned from our first trip to the rosewood mayakoba. first, it felt incredibly safe. we booked a driver thru the hotel (always recommend in mexico) and enjoyed the ride to and from the hotel. the hotel itself was better than i thought it would be. however, i would highly recommend the suites along the beach (numbers 500-600 range). im not sure about the other ones, but ours was great for not being directly on the beach. service was simply outstanding. one drawback, and not enough to change form an excellent rating, is the food didn't "wow" me. the sushi restaurant and breakfast offerings were superb. the rest was just okay and i would would recommend skipping taco night. we will definitely be going back and will try and splurge for the ocean front suite as opposed to our ocean view.

Room Tip: pick an ocean front room if willing to shell out a few extra bucks. if not, get the ocean view. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank randy322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We came for the second time to this wonderful place, this time in a bit different context as my wife is pregnant, but they still managed to impress us again, and i believe this place has only gotten better since our last time here.
Most of the great things that they had before are still there ( pool amenities, the superb rooms, the service, etc) but i found that they actually improved the very few things that they could improve: restaurants have GREAT food, from the Agave restaurant with the sushi and tequila tastings ( loved it), to the Casa del Lago ( even the breakfast buffet is amazing) and the pool restaurant which was delicious.
They have a chaya Margarita that was the best margarita i have ever tried.
Our butler, DJ, was amazing, everybody there from the general manager to the spa staff, the pool waiters and the cart drivers, are the nicest people you will ever meet.
Hands down the best hotel in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: All are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pompougnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

by far one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. (better than Ritz Carlton Dorado)
Not worth repeating what every other reviewer has said but this place is over the top and I would highly recommend. It is worth every penny! Rooms are spectacular, service over the top. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: we stayed in 420 loved it but it is a hike to the beach. You need your bike or take golf cart
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alan3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

hands down best hotel in Mexico, food, service, rooms are some of the best ive ever experienced.
Staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The italian restaurant is the best meal ive had in Mexico bar none.
Spa is great as well as every other facility in the resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

So many people have praised this resort with minute details that it seems almost superflo=uous to add yet another glowing review. I feel compelled to write this because Rosewood Mayakoba is without question the best resort I have stayed at -- as a guest of over one hundred of the 'best resorts' as rated by Conde Nast and Trip Advisor, I feel like I am a veteran. This resort takes service to new heights, making a Ritz Carlton seem like a motel. The ambiance of this ecoResort envelopes you in natural beauty and creates the illusion that you are alone in this amazing spot.
Bravo. I stayed in the overwater lagoon suite and it was LARGE with a privacy that created romance.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding and filling to the point where lunch wasn't necessary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,078 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,972 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
3,188 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
16,025 reviews
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing