We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosewood Mayakoba
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Maya Royale(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hacienda Tres Rios(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
1,679
138
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
138
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta bonitaplunge poollagoon suiteoutdoor showercasa del lagojose mariaspa islandsense spatequila librarybanyan treegolf cartbutler serviceeco tourfour seasonssun deckpersonal butlerlas ventanas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,001 - 1,006 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I was fortunate enough to stay here June 2014 with Shires 2013 President's Club winners. Upon arrival, you are taken to your room by boat!! The first thing I noticed is the stunning beauty everywhere. You are surrounded by your own private "jungle". The suites are breath-taking. Very spacious. Very clean. You will want for nothing. However, if there is anything at all that you need, you can just call your butler! The service is amazing! The food is incredible! From the rooftop patio, to the outdoor shower (one of three showers in our suite) to the plunge pool, I still cannot decide which one I miss the most!!! I honestly cannot think of one negative thing to say about my experience here. I would highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Loved the rooftop balcony & plunge pool!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We love to travel and like to stay at luxurious, comfortable resorts. This resort by far has been our favorite. We usually stay at the Four Seasons and Ritz-Carltons but this Rosewood Collection resort was by far our favorite. WOW! From the moment you walk in, you are called by Mr. & Mrs. and your last name. We were picked up by private transporation at the airport. $250 each way. The entrance is just gorgeous. You take a little boat ride to your room. On the boat they have fresh towels, water and fruit. We reached our room and the butler was very informative. We stayed in a beach front studio suite with what seemed like our own beach! We loved it since it seemed like we had the ocean to ourselves! We did have a plunge pool and our kids loved it! Our baby was 6 months old so we could leave him in his play pen on our shaded terrace and we could go to the beach a few steps away. Food: delicious!! I just love to eat Mexican food in Mexico. So authentic and great. Everything is so fresh and so good! We would just call our butler and they would bring the food to our beach side tables within 15 mintues. For my baby they would fix his food it'd be steamed bananas & apples or carrots & spinach. They have alot of activities for the kids. The kids club is full of board games, xbox, colors, etc. On different days they have face painting, one day they made a pinata. So fun! They also have a snow cone cart near the pool for a refresing cold snack. The entire staff is so friendly and helpful.

Can not wait to go back to paradise!

Room Tip: Must stay in a beach fromt studio. There is no room like this one!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nancygamez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Nancy. A sincere thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay with us at Rosewood Mayakoba. We take great pride in creating an exceptional experience and it sounds like we achieved our goal with your visit to us. You chose our most popular beachfront suites and ensured that your children enjoyed all of the activities and amenities that make us such a great family friendly resort as well as a romantic destination for couples and celebrations. We do look forward to welcoming you back home very soon and thank you again for choosing to stay with us as we know you have so many choices. Enjoy the summer and please do let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.. Warm Regards...Graeme Davis Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have nothing negative to say about this resort. Once you enter this resort, you will be struck by the size and beauty of it. It's so large it would take us a good 20 minute walk to get back to the lobby from our room. Thankfully, there are plenty of golf carts all around, ready to transport you anywhere you need to be if you're not in the mood for walking. Don't want to get on the golf cart either? They provide complimentary bicycles to everyone. We were biking all over the place and loving every minute of it.

On one side of this resort is the beautiful Caribbean, on the other, a lagoon that is in reality more like a swamp (but don't think smelly, gross swamp, just a ton of trees, turtles, crocodiles, etc). You can get to your rooms by taking a boat through the lagoon or by golf cart. Getting there by boat is just so relaxing and different that it was an experience onto itself.

The service is just beyond amazing. If you ask them for the moon, they will find a way to deliver it to you. At dinner, our normally vegetarian child suddenly decided that he really wants some bacon and watermelon juice, neither one of which was on the menu. We explained to him that they did not have bacon for dinner and ordered something else. When the food arrived, they brought what we had ordered along with a side of bacon and fresh watermelon juice! This happened over and over with us wishing for things not on the menu and them making it happen. Everybody is very polite and accommodating. They go out of their way to make every wish you may have come true. I cannot say enough good things about the service.

We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite. It was very large and spacious and had its own pool on the roof. The bed was very comfortable, as was the living room. My only small gripe is that the rooms don't take advantage of the view. The bedroom was in the back away from the view, while there was a view from the bathroom. It would have been great if they had swapped the two so you would get a view from your bedroom too, but oh well. On the first night, they also upgraded us to a oceanfront suite but because we had our child with us, the layout did not work for us. Obviously, the view from the oceanfront room was amazing, but as soon as our 5 year old went to bed, we had to sit there quietly. So we moved back to the room we had originally booked and the layout worked much, much better. There are 2 doors between the bedroom and the living room which you can shut and thus, don't ever have to worry about waking up your child. So if you have children who go to bed early, I highly recommend that you NOT get an oceanfront suite.

The food at the resort was very good with 3 different options: Asian, Italian and Mexican. We dined at all 3 and were thoroughly satisfied with the food. Also, I thought the food prices were very reasonable given that we were at a fancy resort. It was a very pleasant surprise when I expected things to cost more but they didn't.

They also have a butler service which is very convenient. For example, when we moved rooms, our butler unpacked us. If you forget your ipad in the room, you can just tell someone to tell the butler and the butler (ours was Nick) would get it for you. If you wanted a picnic lunch packed, you simply told someone to ask the butler to show up and voila, he was there arranging a picnic lunch for you.

Our son also used the kids club almost everyday and never got bored. They have ecotours, sand castle building, cupcake making, pizza baking, you name it. The ladies in there are very nice and great with kids.

Overall, it was an awesome experience and I wouldn't change a thing. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you have kids, don't book the oceanfront suites. They're too small. Book the ocean view suite. Much more spacious and a better layout for families.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank naynee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Absolutely fantastic resort. The weather was not the best, so the team put activities together such as wine tastings, Mexican Artisanal beer tastings, movies, etc. to ensure we had fun.
The staff was always helpful and intuitive. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a beautiful view to the lagoon.
The food was also amazing, varied and of great quality.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, whether they are on the lagoon or beach side.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cponce85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The least expensive room here is truly heavenly, with space more than enough for a family of three, and amenities that put it over the top- plunge pool, private patio overlooking the peaceful lagoon, and a rooftop sun deck. The bathroom deserves special mention- its design is amazing! Closed off WC, dressing table, huge tiled jetted tub. And the showers- plural! Luxurious glassed shower with another outdoor shower on the way up to sun deck. Just heaven to be in.

There were children's activities and a superb pool with beach for the kids (my son and his cousin staying next door)- it was a pleasure to have them so nicely entertained as part of the resort's offerings and as well using on their own.

The staff was consistently personable and proactive in being helpful. We all felt so well taken care of- a treat.

The beach was lovely- but quite rocky and narrow. We didn't spend much time in the sea, as a result. The grounds of the hotel are otherwise remarkably well-maintained, and a treat to walk through. The landscaping was manicured but maintained just enough sense of wildness to be a treat- very well thought through and executed.

The dining options here are fine; one deficit is the lack of a truly stellar restaurant. But there are other establishments in Mayakoba and in Playa del Carmen which can certainly mix things up and provide some remarkable experiences.

We will without a doubt be back here.

Room Tip: The lagoon view suites are the least expensive available- and could not be more lovely! Complete privacy, and beautiful views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews