We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rosewood Mayakoba is Fabulous”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The grounds are stunning. The pools are gorgeous. The views are spectacular. Like many five star resorts having the aforementioned attributes are pretty standard. What really sets this place apart is the fabulous service and Mexican hospitality. Our butler Caesar was incredible. I also highly recommend the island getaway treatment at the spa. My husband and I really enjoyed the spa treatment and the incredible view during the massage. We also really loved Agave Azul. If you like tequila, the tequila library is pretty incredible.

Our room was spacious and well appointed. The only negative was that our room was humid likely because we had beachfront room and the last night the AC was not working. Other than that, it was a fabulous stay. Definitely take advantage of the bikes to ride around the resort and go on the bike trails.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
There are newer reviews for Rosewood Mayakoba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

862 - 868 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is actually the first time I have ever left a review on a hotel property. This resort is absolutely amazing!!! The staff is magnificent. You need to get here and stay asap!!! The only hotel when after check-in you get a small boutique boat ride along the lagoon to your room. The food and wine list is the best!! The breakfast selections are the best I've ever seen. Your in the jungle with all the wild life...just beautiful. That's all I need to say. Trust me!!!! This place is out of control!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous! Incredible service!! Food was great, especially at casa de lago. Rooms are amazing! Great desserts at the Mexican restaurant. I can't say enough about our perfect getaway.
The grounds are so well maintained and the staff couldn't be any kinder!

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank Aaammmbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Absolutely the nicest resort I've ever been to. This review is LONG overdue. My husband and I stayed here in December for our honeymoon and had an amazing time. From the driver picking us up at the airport and the check-in process, to the attentiveness of the staff (including our butler Nick!!) to the amazing amenities....I felt like I was royalty. It was very easy to book activities through the concierge or our butler and they had recommended tour operators, which helped to ease my fear of going off resort without a reputable guide.

Our room was gorgeous - my husband is still trying to figure out how to install an outdoor rain shower in our home. The staff really paid attention to the littlest things - after the first day that I left my slippers near the bed, the slippers showed up near the bed every day afterwards. We loved the gummies in our mini bar and the staff went out of their way to find more. It was quiet in our room (which I appreciated as I was catching up on sleep) but the pool wasn't dead. Definitely not a club type atmosphere but still very relaxing. Speaking of the pool, gorgeous. I sat there all day long just staring out at the beautiful water.

All in all, a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Megan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This fabulous resort in near Cancun is part of a complex of 4 new hotels called Mayakoba. The rooms can be reached by ferry on the lagoon (shared by all hotels) or by golf cart. Our room came with a personal butler who explained all the amenities that came with our room.
The bathroom had a huge tub and a circular shower but couples also have the option to bathe in the outdoor shower in the back. The room also came with a Nespresso machine, which was a welcome treat after the watered down versions we had in Mexico City.
The resort had 3 restaurants, including a Japanese sushi bar serving pairings of mescal and sushi. We opted to eat at the restaurant near the beach, which served delicious Mexican fare. In the evening we feasted on a wide variety of tacos while being serenaded by some local musicians. The main restaurant serves International fare as well as breakfast. It was the best breakfast spread we had on the trip, with a large selection of cold cuts, cheeses and pastries (must try: citrus glazed cronuts) and made- to-order dishes like lobster omelette and huevos rancheros.

The beach is a stretch of white sand but the strong waves and rocky bottom did not really encourage swimming. We moved to the pool which is heated with bubbling water and covered cabanas for lounging. My daughter loved that the hotel has a cart of snow cones with a variety of sweet syrups like vanilla, coconut and pineapple.

It was a shame that we were there just for 1 night. We would love to come back just to enjoy this hotel for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Rosewood Mayakoba is undoubtedly the nicest vacation resort our family has visited. We surprised our two children with this 6 night trip to celebrate a year of their hard work in school and all four of us believe this was the best, most peaceful, luxurious experience we have had.

Once you arrive you know you are in for something special. Check-in is quick, informative and courteous and then they transport you to your suite in a electric boat. Our lagoon suite was near the main lobby and pool but they take you the long way (just a few minutes) and by the time you get there you are completely relaxed and at home. Our butler, Nathan, met us at the room and helped to answer any questions we had. He was amazing our entire stay, just checking on us and making sure we had what we needed our that we were enjoying our relaxing time. He arranged for a private boat tour of the extensive lagoon system which really is a great hour event for the family. He even tried to apologize for the one brief spell of rain we had and offered to have popcorn sent to the room.

The rooms are beautifully appointed. Great outdoor shower, spacious tub that both my children enjoyed bubble baths in (arranged by the staff). Relaxing plunge pool overlooking the lagoon with bird calls that are straight out of one of those sounds of nature cds.

The beach is very nice and you can enjoy the ocean (agree that if you bring water shoes its easier as they have had some recent erosion that has uncovered some rocks). Our family spent hours in the ocean and then also spent time in the infinity pool overlooking the ocean.

The restaurants were all terrific. Casa del Lago was our favorite for dinner. Mexican night at the beach was great and the sushi restaurant was very good as well.

What sets the resort apart is the service. I believe you can find great beaches, nice properties and good food at many places around the world. We have. But we've never found a vacation spot that combines each of those with a level of service that just hits the target with every single interaction, And we're an easy family as all we wanted to do was relax and sit at the beach or in our plunge pool, visit the spa/gym a few times and eat our meals. But every single person we interacted with made our vacation the best one possible. They made us feel welcome and extremely comfortable. Thank you to the entire staff for making this trip such a great experience for our family. We will be back and we will stay longer next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank CBtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Rosewood. I cannot say enough great things about the staff, service, food and our overall experience at this resort. The car service/driver was waiting right outside the airport - had cold towels and bottled water waiting. Short drive to the resort and there was not a single disappointing moment during the entire stay. Easy check in and lovely boat/eco tour on our way to the room. We stayed in a Beachfront Studio Suite and it was gorgeous. Reserved bikes and rode all around the beautiful property. Ate at all of the restaurants - food was delicious. Had a blast on the golf cart rides - never had to wait more than a few minutes for one to go by our room. Johana (our butler) was so thoughtful and helped us with various reservations, recommendations and whatever things we needed during our stay. I absolutely recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic escape!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are directly on the beach and are a short walk to the beachfront restaurant/bar and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KelleyM968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,110 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,087 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,209 reviews
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,916 reviews
4.5 mi away
Viceroy Riviera Maya
Viceroy Riviera Maya
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £517 - £1,327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing