We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxurious, but not best in Mexico” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Luxurious, but not best in Mexico”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My wife and I went to the hotel for a quick 48 hour escape for her birthday. While beautiful and serene, it did not quite live up to the perfection of places like the Capella Pedregal in Cabo for a romantic trip. The food was very good, but not fantastic, and the lagoons were serene but not quite stunning. There were also a few hiccups in the service. We would absolutely go back and, with the whole family, in might be preferable to other locations. Just had to add our two cents!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    124
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
404
871
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

We loved it! we were so happy! the place is beutiful, great location.... definitely we are going back!
Our room had the most wonderful ocean view you can ever imagine.
Wonderful place, one of the best places I have visited!

Room Tip: ocean view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoram Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

I went to RM for my honeymoon. Since we arrived the staff where awesome, very friendly, nice and made easy checking in in this great hotel.

Once you arrive vy car you enter trough a big gate, very intimidating and resort-like, but once you pass trough the jungle that steps between the hotel and the rest of the world you'll be amazed by the beauty of the installations: a marvelous clear water river runs trough the hotel, filled with beatifull fish and encased in limestone.

The room was fantastic. The food great.

The only but for this hotel is not living in it. You have your personal buttler, a beatiful beach, a world class golf course... and the staff, not enough words to thank you for everything. Will come back every time I'm able to.

Room Tip: By the river so you can get a glimpse of the beatifull landscape
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteban Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

My family of 4 stayed at this hotel in August 2014 and were extremely happy. We started in the ocean view room with a pool on the rooftop but found that we wanted to have easier access to the pool at our room so we upgraded to the oceanfront room after 2 days (we stayed 7). The hotel was very wonderful in every sense of the word. Our concierge assisted us with all of our needs. The rooms were exceptionally clean, the pool/beach staff were ready to assist every time we looked up from our book, there was plenty for our 8 and 10 year old kids to do and we felt they were very welcome, the and the spa was the nicest I have ever been to (and I go to many high end spas). I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and would say it is well worth the price for the security, luxury rooms, and service of the staff. It was one of the most relaxing family vacations we have ever been on. We were nervous about going to Mexico but we never felt unsafe in the Mayan Riviera and we felt safe and secure in our beachfront room. The public is not allowed on the beaches in this area and it keeps the area very safe.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a room close to the beach and pool. Bring some snacks for the room and extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renee94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled as a family, 2 adults & 2 children (7 & 4). Being pretty well travelled worldwide, this property is one of the best I have visited! The beauty & interest if the lagoon, the idyllic sea, the world class service & delicious food are exemplary! They strike a wonderful balance between child friendly, but still very luxurious & respectful to those without children! The property is vast & set out on acres if thick lush man groves & beautifully kept lagoon! With the Caribbean Sea glistening in the background!

Every need is attended to with the most professional & friendly service, without being over the top.

Rosebuds kids club is wonderful! My kids chose to be there, loving the boat ride Eco tour, pottery classes, the list goes on!

There is plenty to do for everyone, releasing one day old turtles into the sea was the most wonderful experience!

We will undoubtedly return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Piggies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Rosewood Mayakoba, nestled in serene beauty along the Maya Riviera coast, offers many opportunities for a relaxing escape from chaos. The hotel lobby is unpretentious and welcoming. With open walls, the coastal breeze fans the spirit while two powerful panther statues act as guardians, poised by a refreshing waterfall feature. Casual and calm decor invite you to sit back and sip a drink or order delicious food from a varied menu with something for everyone.

Gathered in clusters, surrounded by trees and foliage, guest accommodations are like an individual oasis Our rooms were delightfully spacious and quiet; the beds - swallow you in comfort; the bathroom was a retreat; the back porch was for the birds (cheerful and colorful);

The swimming pools were pristine, close to dining, and just what you desire for sun and fun.

The hotel staff were impeccable in their graceful service, authentically sincere in spirit, and always around.

Take advantage of the bicycles for exploring the grounds and getting around.

My only disappointment was encountering many rocks while wading out into the Gulf waters. Be sure to take water shoes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Rosewood Mayakoba is a large and beautifully maintained property. What not to miss: 1) plan to have the breakfast buffet at the main restaurant. Don't miss the cronuts, the muexli parfait, and the assortment of other delightful pastries and gourmet cheeses. 2) stay on the beach and wake up for a gorgeous sunrise 3) rent (free) bikes 4) use the adult pool at the spa, visit the ceynote there and shower after your swim using the private showers with delightful multiple shower heads and a supply of indulging scrubs and other beauty products. 5) rent (free, but first come first serve) a cabana. I never really thought I was a cabana girl, but we found out differently this trip. The service at the cabanas was superb. 6) the ecotour is delightful, and a good opportunity to take photos.
Other wonderful amenities: boat ride to your room, all the rooms have complimentary tequila, and the staff brought us a treat and champagne for our anniversary. Having a butler was an amazing treat, especially once we were shown the apple app, and could message the butler services instead of remembering to ask about something. The turndown service was superior to any other as they left nice treats and refreshed the room entirely.
The resort arranged a wonderful private snorkeling tour for us. The reef there is the second longest, and the fish were amazingly diverse for such a shallow area. It was the best and easiest snorkeling, bar none. We would typically dive, but the snorkeling was so satisfying, we didn't need to go diving. We loved the intimacy of a private guide, driver, and boat captain as well.
We traveled without kids (since it was an anniversary trip) but our kids would have loved the resort too. I saw a lot of kids playing together and hanging out. Apparently the kids camp area is really fun, because the kids would leave their parents at the beach and go play in the kids club.

Room Tip: Only 4 or 5 of the overwater bungalows are private. If you want privacy, note that when you make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thedoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,147 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing