We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rosewood Mayakoba
Nearby Hotels
US$463
US$445
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,620
US$1,546
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$957
US$553
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$398
US$337
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$495
US$425
BlueBay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,342
US$868
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$675
US$353
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$453
US$439
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,001
US$536
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveller rating
1,679
138
30
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,679
138
30
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspunta bonitaplunge poollagoon suiteoutdoor showercasa del lagojose mariaspa islandsense spatequila librarybanyan treegolf cartbutler serviceeco tourfour seasonssun deckpersonal butlerlas ventanas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,576 - 1,581 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I just got back from 5 days at the Rosewood Mayakoba.

If you've stayed at the Rosewood Las Ventanas, the Rosewood Mayakoba isn't even close relative to LV's service.

Overall, the resort is beautiful. Actually, the property is really beautiful and if you like birds it sits on a major estuary with all different types of birds.

But the service..forget it. The place isn't even close to other Rosewood's I've stayed at and just completely missed the mark. It's not a cheap place to stay and again if you've stayed at other Rosewood's this place isn't up to the usual standards. In fact, I'd bet that they hear that a lot because I just felt so let down by how "blah" the entire staff was. While extremely nice, just don't get it.

I could go into so many examples I'd run out of room writing them.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ktellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Great hotel, the setting is perfect. The infrastructure is great, pools, restaurants, etc. Ther service was just ok, it needs more time. We've been to Las Ventanas, also a Rosewood hotel, in Cabo San Lucas, and they have much better service. The food was very good but not very fancy. The price your paying is primary for the investment of the hotel and not for the service. In conclusion a very good experience but needs more time to improve the average service.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mrivero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

For my wife's 40th birthday, we celebrated at the Rosewood Mayakoba. 4 other couples joined us for a quick (3 night), adult only get-away. This was not our first time in the Mexican Riviera, nor was it our first time at a great Mayakoba Hotel. It was, however, the most enjoyable trip we have had by far. The Rosewood is a truly beautiful hotel with an exceptional staff and unparalleled service. At every level... reception, concierge, room butler, restaurant staff, spa services and workout fascilities... this was by far the nicest and most attentive staff we have ever experienced at a hotel anywhere in the world. The rooms are amazing (even better than the pictures) and the food is excellent. This is without doubt the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in anywhere in Mexico... Any beach destination in the world for that matter.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NYCParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2009

We just got back from a 4 night stay at the Rosewood . The service is great.From the grounds keepers to the wait staff to the golf cart drivers everyone goes above and beyond to make you feel special . The rooms are great plunge pool and private deck provide a place to spend quality alone time . The bathrooms in all of the suites are better than any four seasons I have been to they are really fantastic . The outdoor showers that every suite has are also something not to be missed . We are foodies and eat in NYC quite often and we found the food really good..We ate at all 3 resort restaurants and found each one quite enjoyable . We also ventured over to the Mandarin and ate at there restaurant Ambar and found the food also very good . The beach is not the caribbean but it is very pretty the service at the beach was great . We really enjoyed the Spa and we each had a few treatments and spent some time in the spa enjoying the amenities . All in all we relly liked this hotel and felt it was well worth the cost . We will most definetly return to the Rosewood.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJHockeyMom26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My husband and I have stayed at many Rosewood hotels. When beginning our search for a place to take his Executive team and their spouses for a reward retreat, we chose the newly opened Rosewood Mayakoba.

My husband and I traveled to Mayakoba in February 2008 to check things out and meet with the event planner. Although the spa had not opened nor had all the rooms been finished, we we pleasantly surprised at how smoothly things ran.

We stayed in one of the beach villas and thoroughly enjoyed the room, plunge pool and decor. The housekeeping service was incredible. The laundry service delivers your clothes on special hangers and your folded laundry in the neatest little basket. Nice touch....

If you stay on the beach, you will either walk to the lobby area, take a golf cart shuttle or ride in the shuttle boat. The boat ride is a fun experience. We were met when we arrived at the resort with a drink and small hors d'oeuvres on our boat ride to the beach via the lagoon. The shuttles run constantly so you almost never have to call one.

The restaurant on the beach called Punta Bonita was our favorite. Some of the best fresh fish tacos I've ever eaten....don't forget to ask for the roasted pumpkin seed dip (earthly flavor like you have never experienced). Service was always A+. The Casa del Lago was very nice also...located right next to the lobby and main pool. The sommelier suggested a delicious Spanish wine that was the best! Food is pricier here than the other restaurant, but really good! Next to the restaurant is a glass enclosed room where you can check out the available wines and Cuban cigars.

A great afternoon spot is Agave Azul Raw Bar & Tequila Library...and I mean library. Every kind of tequila you can imagine. All there for the tasting. Fresh seafood tapas style with a freshly made margarita will set your hair on fire! WOW!

Our scouting mission in February 2008 was a success. Our event planner, Tulio, had everything ready for our 28 guests in April 2008. There were a few small hiccups, but all in all our April trip was just as we planned. I received thank you notes from all the guests saying it was the best and most relaxing 5 days they have spent away in a long time. "Over the top" was how most described the experience.

All the ladies and some of the men visited the spa and raved about the experience. Tranquil, attentive and worth every moment were some of the words used to describe the spa by our group.

The beach and water are incredible. Strolled on the white sand and meditated. Peaceful beauty!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SkysMomLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews