We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome. Awesome. Awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

There are just too many good things to say about this new resort. So I am going to make it as short and sweet as possible. First of all, splurge and get the ocean front rooms. They are right on the beach. We are talking 20 steps from the deck of our room and you are swimming in the ocean. And we had our own pool. Our bathroom was gorgeous. We had a bath tub that looked something from the Roman times. Shower was incredible. The room was incredible. The grounds are amazing. The margaritas are the bomb. You have to go to the tequila bar on margarita night and try the interesting margaritas of the day. I had a mint and coconut margarita. Best margarita I have ever had. They also had a mariachi band who were excellent. I played their golf course, "El Chamaleon". It was a great course and it was in excellent shape. I would have to say that the spa is probably the best spa I have ever been to. That is all I can say about the spa. If I keep talking about the spa, I would have to write a novel. I cant say enough about how great the staff was. From the concierge, to the waiters, to the gardeners. Everybody treated you like you were a king. Our butler was awesome. He gave us great restaurant advice. He would bring us drinks while we sat on our deck. He even surpised us one night after dinner with a bubble bath waiting for us. Just for fun or because you dont want to walk or take a cart to your room or to the main area of the resort, you have to hop on the shuttle boats that take you on the cenote through out the resort and to your room. On our way back to our room one day, we saw a baby crocodile and we saw these diving ducks that were incredible. I loved this place. Here is what I did not like: 1. The food was mediocre. (Excluding breakfast. Breakfast was amazing) 2. The shuttle service was terrible. We would wait by our room sometimes for 15 minutes before a shuttle would pick us up to take us to the main part of the hotel. The walk is not bad. But it takes about 15 minutes. They really need to work on that. It was annoying. All and all, I highly recommend this place. But if someone had a gun to my head and made me choose between Rosewood Las Ventanas and Rosewood Mayakoba, I would have to choose Las Ventanas.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usopenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,426
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
414
877
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ny, ny
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

I really want to be fair here but I've let a week pass and still feel confused about what this place is. FIrst, it's dramatic and beautiful but the money is spent in a strange way. There are wonderful docks and waterways at the beach villas, and huge 2 BR villas but for a family they are impractical. We had a 2 BR that was 4400 sq feet yet had only 2 beds in it. Our children were on a different floor than us and there was a truly dangerous trek to the top floor that we had to rope off. The idea is that the cheap pullout couch with a plastic mattress is the second BR but for $3k a night? There is a butler for each villa which I find a little precocious especially since he seemed confused about what his job was. That said the food was terrific. Be careful that no corporate event is booked for the same time as your visit or you will find yourself eating dinner with 65 people having cocktails in the same space you are having dinner in, shouting conversation across your table. I'm serious. In the end I find it more a couples/corporate place than a family place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arbella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

Just got back from a week at Rosewood Mayakoba. It was great. Unless you are an incredibly picky person with absolutely no tolerance for the slightest misstep then this is the place for you. I'm a Type-A and it was great. Not perfect but great. But hey you are on vacation so I don't understand some of the other reviewers issues with details.

Rooms are fabulous. Like staying in a new apartment. Quite wonderful. The beds are very comfortable. The plunge pools are a nice touch and the lagoon views are superb.

The spa is amazing. My wife has been to many spas worldwide and she assures me this was the best so far.

Pools. Beach pool is great and beach/pool service was fabulous. I truly can't understand some of the gripes I have seen here. They were busy but at no time was it bad. The beach is a little narrow and the water has some nasty rocks in it specifically at Rosewood. That was an irritation. Pool at the main hotel is amazing. Very relaxing and beautiful.

Food was good. Not great by any means, but good. They need to up the game a bit here. The fancy restuarant at the main hotel is OK. The food needs to be better for the price. But service is good they try very hard. Breakfast was great. Very good selection of fresh food, meats, fish and traditional breakfast items. Service a little frenzied but not a big issue.

It is a big hotel with the rooms spread out across the property and far from the beach. This is not an issue. The golf carts are numerous and quick. All the drivers are friendly and accomodating. Relax and enjoy the ride.

Check-in and check-out were painless. No problems at all. They were informed, organised and efficient.

Golf is fantastic. Bring the clubs if you can otherwise it will be expensive. But the course is challenging and beautiful.

All in all a wonderful time to be had here. I don't recommend to couples during school holidays as the resort is kid friendly. Our 8 year old was in heaven. But if you want a quiet time with no kids go out of school holidays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

The Good: The grounds are lovely, the rooms are amazing, the food is not bad (granted we are tough to please).

The Bad: Kids everywhere/ there is no adult pool/ no real bar on the lagoon side (great for a family vacation), staff lacks organization, it is really two resorts (the lagoon and the beach) and they are not connected in any way (in fact our driver told us it was dangerous to walk between the two after dark -- eg scorpions, etc.)

If you plan on staying only in your room (which is beyond compare) then this could be the place for you. As we ventured out we became less and less impressed. The entire lagoon side is a ghost town except for a few families with children.

I read in a post before I left that someone had slipped and I thought they were just being silly. They are not -- there are parts of this resort that are slippery and downright dangerous (like your outdoor shower).

Bottom line -- anyone but honeymooners, I would say give it a shot. It is expensive (we paid about 8K for 5 nights) but it is different. However, I would hate for a honeymooner to go there and be let down (go to the Rosewood property in Cabo or the Palmilla).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kannm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

This is one of the more amazing hotels that I have ever stay at. The hole resort is top notch and the service by everyone is unvelibable. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bighead33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

this hotel is absolutely amazing!! the staff is beyond incredible!!! they go out of their way to make sure you have and need everything . the rooms are some of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. the design and architecture of the entire complex is outstanding!!! allot of glass, modern but cozy!!!it is stretched out over a large area, and we enjoyed the walks between the beach , villa and restaurants.if not you can pick up any of the golf carts going around the area!!! there are alot of different villas to choose from. we visited a few of them. all amazing and different. we chose one on a lagoon.we thought it would have been better to be by the ocean but we actually changed rooms because we loved looking on to the lagoon which is like a clean blue small lake( can not swim in). our room (like most rooms,i think all) have their own plunge pool,which was amazing!!! also a wonderful spa. i would recommend this hotel 150%!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tibo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

I just got back from my 3rd visit to the Rosewood Mayakoba. First and foremost I wanted to address the security concerns that some of you may have. I went with a single friend of mine along with a married couple awaiting their 2nd child. What you hear in the news or elsewhere does not pertain to the Riviera Maya region. The hotel has 2 levels of security...one at the main entrance and one at each individual hotel within the Mayakoba community. On one of the days a friend came to visit me and he was not allowed to come to my room until I came to the front desk area and escorted him to my room.

The town of Playa and 5th Avenue was full of families, teenagers, and kids. A few of the nights my friend and I were out until 4 or 5 a.m. with no issues...just people having a great time.

As for the resort, it just keeps getting better and better. By this time they knew my name as soon as I walked in and knew my previous preferences. The staff, the food, the spa, and the beach were all amazing as always. I especially loved the daily breakfast buffets.

I again stayed in suite #500 which is a Deluxe Oceanview Beach Suite with 3 floors. The second floor has a pull out couch with an additional bathroom and shower. The nice sized plunge pool was very warm. The views from all levels were amazing. The cool thing is that this suite has views of the lagoon as well from the back side.

If you are thinking of going to this resort...do not hesitate. It is absolutely gorgeous and very safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Trvl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,638 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,354 reviews
10.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing