We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We arrived in Mayakoba in the morning and from the second we stepped into Rosewood we knew that this hotel was unlike any other..First off we were triple upgraded due to the low occupancy..the beachside lagoon was enormous..3 separate rooms a plunge pool and a bathroom the size of most hotel rooms..the staff is OUT OF THIS WORLD..all the employees know you by name and are geniunely happy to be working there..i assure you that u will never hear the phrase "my pleasure" more times in your life! if u have any concerns about traveling to Mexico you should put them away..the airport is sparkling clean..there is absolutely nothing to worry about! life is as usual there! the resort is very clean and the staff is constantly tidying up and cleaning door knobs or any other public area...the weather was magnificent..the food was great and the spa was just amazing..i have never had a sap experience like this! the pools and beach area are wonderful..the staff is always ready to get whatever u might need..this resort is truly beyond five stars...we saw people from the other hotels in the area walking on the beach and every single person stopped to stare at the rosewood..it cannot be compared to any other property in the area! it is beautiful and we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NycLuv2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    128
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
452
922
22
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

This was our second stay - first one was last year. The hotel has noticeably improved since last year. Service has been markedly better with a better attention to detail. The hotel is on its way to becoming a true world class resort. Not that one needs to wait to have an amazing experience. The peaceful surrounding (in general but also when compared to pretty much anywhere else in the Cancun/Riviera area), the out of this world suites, the food, the pools and the beach all area superb. If you want a place in the sun this is great and worth every single penny.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esrubilsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We went for 6 days on July, for our Anniversary. We booked the tranfer from the hotel (I must say that this is good only when you are arriving because that guarantice that they will be waiting for you for check inn with frozen mojitos...when leaving take a regular taxi that is 30% the value of the hotel transfer and it is just the same..).
They gave us an upgrade from a Lagoon suite to a Ocean view suite...GREAT!!
The room was huge, with separate living room, balcony, an upper floor wtih a round day bed, a big plunge pool with warm water, everything was perfect!
The staff is very friendly, they call you by your name.
We never had to wait more than 5 minutes for the golf cart to take us to the lobby.
The beach is very nice, you can snorkel in a reef that can be easily reach with the canoes.
The nicest rooms seem to be the beach front, they are right on the beach (but they are smaller than the rest). We would prefer one of those if we go back, choosing the first ones that are close to the services areas (600 to 608).
The restaurants are all good and the food very afordable.
The best is the breakfast!!
Just go!! you will love this place

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The Rosewood Mayakoba Resort in Playa del Carmen, Mexico, was the destination for our annual family excursion this year. What a fabulous trip! There aren't enough gushy adjectives to describe the hotel, its restaurants, the beach, and the service.

A hotel representative and cars and drivers were on hand in Cancun to meet us at the lovely international airport--a shiny, air-conditioned Mercedes SUV for us and another SUV for the luggage, golf clubs and scuba gear. If you have any trepadations about the drive to the resort, put them aside. It was a short 30-45 minute drive on a four-lane divided highway. Our driver was excellent, and the ride was most comfortable.

The bad press Mexico has received worked to our advantage. Our accomodations were upgraded to two commodious luxury suites, each with plunge pools and numerous balconies.

Food in all of the restaurants was delicious. Breakfast at Casa del Lago was an eagerly anticipated event every morning. Starters consisted of a lavish buffet that most hotels would have considered more than adequate for a complete meal. But not the Rosewood Mayakoba. Entrees are ordered from the menu and prepared individually. By special arrangement, this feast and breakfast via room service were included in our room charge.

Due to the low occupancy in the resort, dinner was served alternately in two restaurants: Casa del Lago for fine dining and Punta Bonita for less formal dining. Both were outstanding. While I have read negative comments about the value and quality of these two restaurants, I must disagree--that was not our experience. We enjoyed wonderful food for prices that equaled what one would pay in any major city. We also had drinks and light fare at Agave Azul Raw Bar, which was also delicious.

The swimming pools, lagoons, extensive grounds, and beach were totally wonderful. Everything was sparkling clean.

Service was excellent--exactly what is expected in a five-star setting.

Our eight-year-old granddaughter loved the Kids' Club, the swimming pools, the beach, their plunge pool, and everything else at the resort.

We were all sad to leave and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelCritic_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Although very different from the three Rosewood Caribbean resorts we have enjoyed (Caneel, Jumby, and Little Dix) Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera May, Mexico did not disappoint us. From our arrival to our departure our five day stay was excellent. The small things like the boat ride to our suit, the yummy treats and cool scented towels pool side added to our experience. Add to this a staff which there are no words to describe food ( on every menu) by far the best I have ever tasted, who could ask for more? If only my pictures came close to showing just how beautiful this resort truly is!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KDBMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Every member of the staff went out of their way at all times to be helpful, gracious, and friendly. Oftentimes we were greeted by name and always with a smile. It seemed to us that the management and staff were keen to deliver a level of service that was incomparable, anticipating and fulfilling our every wish. Kudos especially to the concierge staff, front desk staff, Casa Del Lago staff, Club de Playa staff, and our english butler. Here's a tip - go NOW!!! Since the resort was only 20% occupied at the time of our vacation (July 10-14, 2009), we were treated to a free room upgrade from the room we reserved for $400/night to one that normally goes for $900/nite. And what a room it was, 100 feet from the beach with a beautiful view of the lagoon from our private plunge pool. We will never again experience such bliss and happiness - until we return for our next vacation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnightsTemplar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We've been very fortunate to have travelled extensively, and we have to say this resort is as good as it gets. We felt like family. A place where everyone knows your name. "With pleasure" is heard over and over. Amazing suites, attentive staff. We're ready to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travler153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,081 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,983 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,191 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,037 reviews
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing