We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #81 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This resort was very nice and clean the service was very good!
This was a very large place, love the swim up pool lounge. The staff was very helpful the food was good with many resturant to go to @ night. Would go back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,831 - 4,837 of 8,463 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

The resort is outstanding! The rooms were clean, the property was beautiful and clean. The service was top notch. The food was TERRIBLE!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2012, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs.
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was, we will be more than happy to have the opportunity to host you again very soon and give you once more the good service.
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A very large resort. Eight pools, plus swim up rooms for a premium, which I`m told, really add to the humidity levels. The humidity in May is brutal. You will walk a ton just on the size of the resort alone. More on that below. The place is 99% marble, floors, walls, ceilings, stairs, very nice! Very clean!

Food was very good, both the Buffet/s, and the three a la carte restaurants we tried, Italian, Fondue, and, sea food. The Buffet has theme nights, Italian, Oriental, etc. Breakfast was also good, though the toaster was slow, and, you needed put the bread through twice. I know, but, I like toast with my breakfast...

We stayed in a Junior Deluxe Suite, which was a free upgrade from the Junior suite. Maybe they do that with everybody...hard to tell. They are nicely appointed, with a jacuzzi tub, stand up shower stall, separate sinks. King size beds were comfy but, I've slept in better. Very humid in May, so the feeling of humidity definitely affects the quality of the sleep, even under the covers, and, even with the air conditioning and fan working. Have to find a happy medium between the fan and the AC. The AC fan is loud, not as bad as some places, but, loud nevertheless! Nice balconies. Very scenic grounds., well kept, impeccable! One of the best I have seen in a resort!!

Pool temperatures are not refreshing but, hey it's Mexico, so it is what it is. The ocean is warm also but, definitely more refreshing than the pools. The resort was at capacity, so you had to reserve a chair/s early if you wanted a prime beach front or pool front location. One complaint in general, they do not have enough staff going around taking drink orders, compared to other resorts. If you don`t go to a pool bar or local Cabana bar, you are going to wait a long time between drinks, unless you stay in the Platinum Suites. The Platinum Suite patrons get premium service, so if you can afford the extra expense, looks like it is probably worth it. Platinum patrons have their own areas of the beach, pools and premium service in terms of staff availability.

There is only one shuttle on either side of the resort, and, the stretch between the rooms close to the lobby, where we stayed, and, the beach is a LONG walk. If you miss a shuttle you will wait about 15-20 min. for another, and, sometimes they fill up quickly so you still might wind up walking. anyway.

Careful if booking excursions on a credit card, they charge a 4-5% surcharge, and they don`t tell you up front. If you ask them about it, they tell you there is a surcharge charged all over Mexico when paying by credit card. Nice line, I told the guy to cancel my credit card order, and paid cash, and, never to feed me that kind of BS again!! Plus, of course resort prices in the local on site shops are ridiculously expensive, so go to Playa Del Carmen to shop.

Staff is friendly and helpfull. But , maybe because it is such a big place, some of the service staff seemed to have a kind of an edge to the way they serve you. Sometimes, it felt like they were borderline rude/impatient! Probably a product of the work itself. Got to be tough to be UP everyday. I get that. Still, they are in the service business. Noticed service attitude more here, than other resorts.

OK, so it`s not perfect. What is? Still ,we went with another couple and we all agreed that overall we would seriously consider staying here again. Despite the little annoyances, it deserves a 5 star rating on the more important things people look for in an all inclusive.

Room Tip: Take Platinum if you can afford it. Junior Deluxe is fine if not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Sal093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2012, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs.,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Hotel.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped for it. We have especially noted your comments about pool temperature, the shuttle, etc, we are working in all issues.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Resort in the future
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks at the beginning of may. After reading some of the reviews after booking the holiday we were a bit wary, especially about all the thefts but we needn't have worried. We had a fantastic holiday and had nothing stolen but we kept all valuables in our locked suitcases and didn't use the safe in our room. The hotel was spotless and the staff were always doing something, cleaning, gardening, painting or just general maintenance. All of the staff were very polite, the food was fine for buffet food and we visited four of the a la cartes which were all good an a nice change. Beach was stunning and the sea was like a bath! Would definitely recommend and would happily go back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2012, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs.,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Hotel.
We are happy to know that you had enjoyed your 2 weeks stay .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I wanted to love this resort, I really did. I read many of the reviews prior to booking and thought the negative reviews were foodies, elitists and whiners. Boy, was I wrong. I'll try to be as specific as possible to help current resort shoppers make an informed decision.

GOOD SERVICE vs. FRIENDLY STAFF:
-Yes, the staff is very friendly. Always saying "hola" and greeting you with a smile
-Service is very poor - the minute you have a problem or wander out of their cookie-cutter approach to doing business is when you encounter problems. Here are two examples:
1) There is a $10 charge if you lose your room card. One day, we left our room card in our room in the light slider (it's required for the electricity to be on in the room). The maid came in and took our room card while she was cleaning our room (they do not allow you to keep electricity on in your room when you leave, despite the fact that outlets don't work and if you're trying to charge your laptop/ipod/ipad/cell it will not charge due to no electricity). Anyway, the maid took our key because we were 'disobeying' the rules. I went to the from desk and spoke with Alejandra who told me there was no way the maid took our key without leaving a T-shaped note in the light slide saying it was taken. I explained over and over we were positive it was taken. She was extremely rude, accused me of lying and told me she was going to charge me $10. I left, searched our building for our maid, asked her about our room card, of which she proceeded to pull out of her pocket and handed to me, no question. Later on, I returned to Alejandra, explained what happened and she responded "What is your point. Next time you have a problem, go to concierge." No apology, nothing. Just flat-out rudeness. My jaw literally dropped when she said "What is your point." She couldn't have been more rude.
2) We hired a resort babysitter for 7 hours so we could go on an excursion. The babysitter arrived 30 minutes late and we missed our shuttle to our excursion. When the babysitter arrived, we sent her away and went to concierge to inform them of what happened. The concierge told us they were charging us 50% of the babysitter amount due to late cancellation. We explained over and over to Luis at the concierge and eventually escalated to the Guest Services Manager Gina that we did not want to cancel, but we missed our shuttle due to the babysitter's tardiness. THEY STATED IT WAS OUR FAULT that we did not give ourselves a larger buffer of time AND REFUSED to 1) reimburse us for any of our excursion expenses we forfeited and 2) insisted on charging us the $35 for late-babysitter cancellation! We are furious and are refuting the charges on our credit card with our card carrier.

FOOD:
-Low to medium grade (at times) at the buffets, think Panda Express or Old Country Buffet
-A la carte restaurants were OK, but it's hard to make extremely poor quality meats and cheeses taste very delicious. I don't hold the chefs or cooks accountable - they did what they could with poor ingredients
-NO SNACKS available in between meals except hot dogs and nachos at the sports bar. This was a huge problem for us, as we have a 2-year old son who eats snacks and the last thing I want to give him is hot dogs all day long.
-You are not allowed to bring food out of the buffets to your rooms. You will get scolded if you try to take food out. Several times, I sneaked out bananas and crackers in my bag for my son for later. This felt extremely elementary. We don't spend $2k+ on a vacation to have to sneak food.
-Every restaurant tries to upsell you to wine, etc not included in the all-inclusive plan
-Room service is an extra charge (and it's expensive). With Platinum, it is included.
-Again, not being able to take food back to your room was horrible. Our son takes an afternoon nap and if he was sleeping during lunch time, my husband and I had to go to the buffet alone and dine alone, one after the other. Just horrible.

FITNESS FACILITIES/CLASSES:
-Very nice, small workout room. Very clean and beautiful scenery
-Took a water aerobics class. Weird. They have you massage your neighbor's face, ears, back. Yuck.
-Took a Pilates class. Delightful. Although not true Pilates, the class was a great morning stretch/core workout

BEACH:
-Not the beautiful turquoise beaches that you find in Cancun.
-Lots of seaweed and pebbles when walking into the water. On a calm day, it was ok, because you could see to the bottom of the water and avoid it. But, the majority of the days that we were there, there were lots of waves, causing the water to be cloudy, and then you couldn't avoid what you stepped on and it was not good at all. I highly prefer the beach to the pool, but we ended up spending 75% of our swimming time at the pools
-Beautiful white sand and ability to walk for miles to the north and south adjacent beaches to the resort

DINNER RESERVATIONS:
-Some previous reviews complained about availability. We never had a problem, but we always wanted to dine at 6pm, which was earlier than most would like to dine. The best restaurant was the Fondue. We had a fun time.
-The ladies who booked the reservations were extremely friendly and helpful. Great service from these ladies.

KID'S CLUB:
-Delightful staff and very attentive girls working. Our son loved it.

FACILITIES:
-Beautiful and well-kept
-Our maid Mayte Bavahona did a fantastic job and scrubbed our room so thoroughly every day that it sparkled from top to bottom. Props to Mayte!

All in all, we would NOT go back and we will NOT RECOMMEND this resort to ANYONE. We've stayed at 3.5 star resorts that were better. We had a good time only because we determined not to let the negatives bother us, but we would never, ever ever go back. Our most fun days were the days when we were off-resort. Please take your business elsewhere! If you want a dream vacation, look into Couples Swept Away in Negril, Jamaica, CasaMagna in Puerto Vallarta or the Marriott in Lahaina, Maui. Far superior. Or, I would stay in Cancun if we ever decided to go back. Cancun is much nicer than Playa del Carmen in terms of beach quality. But, I think we're done with Mexico for a while.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank mskking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2012, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs.,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Hotel.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had hoped for it. We have especially noted your comments about the missing room card, the babysitting service, food, restaurants, etc. we are working in all the issue.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Riviera Princess for 4 nights for our Anniversary. Upon arriving at the property, we decided to upgrade from the Jr. Deluxe Suite that we had originally booked. We instead stayed in a Laguna Villa Suite. When we mentioned at check-in that we wanted to upgrade, it seemed like it was a bit of an inconvenience, but overall, they were happy to upgrade us.

The Laguna Suites were AMAZING. It was one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. The outdoor shower was lovely, and so was the over-sized jacuzzi tub. There was a separate concierge for those staying in the Laguna Suites, and he helped us make reservations for dinner for 3 out of our 4 nights there. The private pool was great as well, it was definitely more of a relaxed spot, which we preferred. The bartender at the Laguna Pool bar was outstanding, and always ready to prepare your drink. She would bring us whatever we requested, so we rarely had to get up at all. They also had snacks at that pool all day.

The room service that was included in our stay was great as well, and although they always said it would be about 30 minutes before our order arrived, it always seemed to arrive faster. We had coffee brought to us almost every morning. Housekeeping staff came promptly at about 10:30 every morning. We had turn-down service only one night, our Anniversary.

The beach was a little rocky once you actually got into the water, but it was still beautiful nonetheless. The main beach area was rather crowded most of the time, so we opted to walk a little ways to the north, where the adults only section was. We were always able to grab a pair of chairs over there. That section of the beach was a lot quieter, and the bar service was better as well, with servers coming around about every 20 -30 minutes or so to see if you needed something to drink.

There were quite a few vendors on the beach, which is another reason we camped out on the adults only section of the beach. We did actually have one of the photographers snap a few pics of us on the beach, and he did a great job. I have had tons of compliments on the pictures he took.

The only pool we really spent any time at was our private one, but I liked that they did have a variety of pools with different "scenes". Some were obviously more "party" pools, some where more chill where families could hang out. There always seemed to be available chairs if you weren't too picky on exactly where you wanted them to be.

For the most part, service was rather good. Sometimes service at the restaurants/buffets was a little touch and go. But if you have a good attitude, you will probably get better service. Here's a hint..."please" and "thank you" can work wonders. We had many great bartenders and servers. Orlando at Las Olas was great, and the best server we had the entire trip.

Las Olas was probably the best meal we had. Their ceviche was ridiculously good. We also ate at Tapas and Le Fleur. I had a chicken dish at Tapas that was pretty good, and then the beef dish at Le Fleur was good too. We also ate at the buffet a few times as well. The buffet's best meal was breakfast, other than that, it was kind of hit and miss. Overall, the food was maybe the only downside. It was decent, but not great. I've stayed at other all-inclusive resorts, and had better food. If you want coffee or anything at the restaurants, make sure you ask for it by the time they bring your dessert. Our experience was that after they dropped off your dessert, they aren't coming back to your table to check on you.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this resort to friends (unless they are real foodies). It was clean, gorgeous, and had a variety of activities to cater to a multitude of guests.

Room Tip: The property is huge. If you want to be closest to the beach, go with a Platinum room. If you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LinseyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Hotel was very clean and had beautiful grounds (pools, landscaping, beach, rooms, etc.)

One thing i would recommend is booking your flight later in the day as we arrived at the hotel at noon and couldnt check in our room until 3pm.

Food was just OK... but coming from Chicagoland where the food is great, its hard to compare.

The grounds are fairly large, but comparable to most resorts I have stayed at before. All the hotel staff was very kind and friendly. Our room was cleaned nicely every day, the pools were kept clean (there were pool staff outside every morning), restaurants were decorated with modern looks, whole resort was beautiful with marble tile everywhere. They have fun shows to go to every night in the main lobby area... fire show is pretty cool.

The beach has beautiful white sand... and the water is nice (I think Cancun's water is nicer, but overall we couldnt complain). There were quite a few massage huts on the beach that ask you EVERY time you walk by if you want a massage... which was a little annoying, but we spent most of our time at the pools more than the beach so we werent bothered too much. The pools have waiters walking around so you can ask for a drink if you are too lazy to get up and go to the bar... which we did a few times :)

Overall it was a fun trip... we stayed 5 days/ 4 nights. Probably wouldnt go back again... not because it wasnt good, but because we are the type of people who like to go to different places and explore.

**Tip: bring your own suntan lotion... we ran out and paid $40 for a suntan lotion and aloe gel in the hotel shops!

Room Tip: We asked for a room in the middle of the resort... that way the walking wasnt too far to the lobby o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CrystalH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management2012, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Mr. & Mrs.,
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Sincerely
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
687 reviews
4.6 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#60 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,680 reviews
14.8 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,037 reviews
23.4 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,137 reviews
12.5 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £128 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll. Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon). A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing