We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #80 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation setting”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I would highly recommend the Grand Riviera Resort. We stayed there for 3 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed the setting. The restaurants here are excellent and we enjoyed moving round them all. We had a few favourites. We found Le Fleur was very good. You can only access this restaurant if you choose to go Platinum but I would highly recommend this. Platinum allows you to access some places on the beach and some lovely smaller pools which we loved. You can access a catamaran or kayak at the beach free of charge, or snorkel masks all with your Platinum band.
The staff are so friendly and helpful, the facility very clean and the grounds kept incredibly well. We enjoyed using the gym in the morning and the evening bands were very good.
Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We chose to stay at the Platinum suits which are near the pool and the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Estev0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
DearEstev0

Thank you for preferring Grand Riviera Princess as your destination in Playa del Carmen as well as for letting future travelers knows about your experience.

Your comments are of the greatest assistance to us in our effort to achieve the constant improvement in the level of our services and facilities.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that your experience with us was enjoyable and that we have surpassed all your expectations.

We are more than glad in receiving your compliments about the attentiveness demonstrated from our staff.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,466
    2,553
    1,189
    508
    400
See reviews for
2,587
3,690
127
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,916)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just got back from the Grand Riviera Princess resort and I noticed people were not sure about the differences so I thought I would write a blurb!! The Laguna Villas (42 of them) is adult only and only king beds. They face each other in the center of the front of the resort -so no ocean view. The bands you get with those allow you to go anywhere in the hotel and only people in the Villas have access to that pool, lounge area with bed palapas and that concierge. The yucatan has both king and double beds and 1st floor swim out suites that actually face the mangroves on the side of the property and they are adult only as well. It has its own lounge and concierge as well. Again can go anywhere at the hotel with the exception of the villas area. The last of the platinum levels is the family friendly platinum area. That area is at the end of the resort and has swim outs, some ocean views and Jacuzzi's on the upper levels. Most of the views are blocked by the mangroves but some seem to have some view of the ocean. these bands allow access to the platinum lounge and snack rivera and sunset which are all by the beach. If you are an adult without children, the yucatan and the villas would be best unless you want to party then forget all that and go with a swim out room on the sunset side, it is by the party pool with music and activities and actually connects to that pool so you can just swim from your room to there.

Room Tip: villas-any room ,yucatan-swim out 1st floor ,platinum -higher floor is you want the chance to actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank rae1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of Grand Riviera Princess we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your some tips with future travelers.

Thank you for choosing our Resort and also for highlight these details; we work to exceed your expectations.

We look forward for your return.
Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice accommodations the room and grounds are very clean. Gorgeous lush plants and trees all around resort.
Beach was beautiful except first day when lots of algae had gathered from previous weeks storm. By 2nd day algae had cleared and water was nice.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating any problems with room or needs they were prompt to fix with just a call to front desk.
Location is $4 each way to Playa del Carman by taxi. Not close to other resorts or businesses ect.
Excursions we took were nice to Xel Ha & Tulum, Explore, and a private charter 4 hr fishing trip. Tulum was neat but wish we could have spent more time there. It was the most beautiful beach we ever saw! We ran out of time while there and didn't get to shop. Explore was awesome time with 3 teenagers it was great! I wouldn't recommend it for young kids under 10 though.
Our fishing trip was adventuresome on a small boat no bathroom and big waves. We caught 2 Barracuda 3 and 4 ft. long. They cleaned them for us and we arranged for resort restaurant to cook them for us for dinner free of charge and they were delicious!
Shows each evening were worth seeing but not as good as entertainment was when we have been on Carnival Cruises.
Food was plentiful but not great quality Cruise ship expectations were not met. Hard to get good reservations in restaurants make these as soon as u check in they fill up quick leaving few choices late in evening. Momma Mia Italian was our favorite.
Surprisingly I was impressed with Hamburgers available at the beach.
Drinks were good and they can make any kind you want bartenders were experienced. They used many top shelf names Bacardi, Jose, Jack, and Kalula. Its fun to sit at swim up bar in pool!
Weather was forecast as storms all week and it was totally wrong sunny and beautiful everyday never even rained!
Overall great trip!



  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ky_gypsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive greetings from Playa del Carmen; Thank you for spending your vacations at Grand Riviera Princess and for taking the time to post some valuable comments about it.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay .We will forward you review with all our staff, we are sure they will feel flattered to have been part of this great experience.

Also, we would like to thank you for mentioning the points where we can make an improvement.

It will be wonderful to welcome you back in Grand Riviera Princess.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

What an amazing Hotel such a stunning place all the staff are Superb they cannot do enough for you everyone is friendly and makes you really welcome.
The hotel is like what I imagine paradise to look like the staff keep it very clean and the gardens are kept immaculate.
There is a excellent choice of food and we tried nearly all the cocktails!!
The entertainment is amazing the dancers are superb.
This was our second time to the same hotel and we would 100% go back and we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: we where in 7136 first time and 7164 this time both where lovely but it doesn't matter which roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank carolinemason1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear carolinemason1965
It is very nice to know that we met your expectations and we made lovely your holidays with us. Thank your for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TAYLOR TX
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After many cruises, we decided to try an AI..We booked the Grand Sunset Princess , platinum suite, but upon arrival we were told it was full, so they put us on the Riviera side, a twin to the Sunset..We got a ground floor, terrace just looking into the bushes, but it was fine as it was very private. Also, as it was June and hot, we really never used the terrace.We were very surprised how good the food was. We made reservations for the 6 nights at the a la carte restaurants on the second day with no problems..We ate at La Fondue, Las Olas, La Hacienda, and La Vaquerita..All were excellent in our opinion. The service was also very good. The platinum suites are good because it is close to the beach, as well as the buffets on that end. These also serve as restaurants at night. What I do not really like is the size of the resort..It is a long hike from the lobby area to the beach..They do have a shuttle that runs every 15 minutes or so..Drinks were fine and not watered down at all. They will make them as you desire. We spent most of our afternoons lounging in the shade by the beach with a nearby bar..We used the adults only beach area, actually reserved for Platinum Yucatan guests, with no problems.We never used a pool, not even our private platinum pool. As far as the beach, if you like to get in the water, it may not be completely to your liking,as there is some sea weed,sea grass, and some rocks. Straight out from the walkway to the beach is the sandiest area.For the price, we thought this to be a really good value. The resort is really beautiful, and well manicured, but again, very large. I would highly recommend it, especially for families.They are building a new Platinum Yucatan Princess , adults only,to open in November I believe..

Room Tip: If you like to go to the beach a lot, I would recommend the Platinum suites..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BUDDYV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear BUDDYV,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Riviera Princess and for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for allowing us to be part of your holiday vacation. We are truly grateful for your review. These comments will be shared with the entire staff. They will be delighted to read your comments about the service provided.

We are hoping to see you back at the resort very soon, so that more everlasting memories are added to the ones you already have.

Sincerely,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you don't want to read my long version....this place is gorgeous, clean, our rooms were beautiful, has great buffet food, lots of pool options (one crazy spring break pool & bar, two more laid back swim-up bars farther out by the beach).

My family (wife, 2 sons 18 & 20) just returned yesterday 6/13/2014. Booked a 6 day FunJet vacation through our travel agent in the states and had local travel arrangements from Lomas Travel. When you arrive and get to the airport exit, ignore the people in tan clothes....they want to "give you a map", but are really selling you excursions. All the shuttles and ground transportation are right out the airport exit. We were in our Lomas van and on our way within 10 minutes. Took 40 minutes to get to resort in normal traffic. We selected the swim out rooms (we had 2) and requested adjacent if possible (were placed with one room between us). Check-in times will vary due to number of shuttles dropping people off. We lucked out and got right to the desk to check in. Young lady was very professional and courteous. We were early and had to come back at 3:00 for room keys. We were then shown around by Dario, so we understood the buffet hours, show times, activity planner locations, and the on-site travel rep desks. Our Lomas travel agent on site, Cesar Ayala, was very helpful and courteous. He was able to clearly explain the best deals for the excursions we wanted to take, and set up our reservations and transportation. We dropped our suitcases with the bellman and gave him our room number, kept our carry-ons with us and went to the buffet for lunch. Myself and one son are not picky about food, and my wife and other son are. We all found something good to eat...nice salad bar, lunch meat & cheese table, fresh breads, soup du jour, grill with hamburgers & hot dogs, and a daily selection of fish, shrimp, skillet dishes, potatoes, mexican dishes, desert table, etc....awesome! We finished lunch and grabbed a few drinks in the adjacent courtyard until 3:00. Got our keys with no hassle at 3:00 and began the walk to our rooms. We had rooms 6036 & 6038 which were in the last swim-out building (Riviera side and closest to the beach end). There was a buffet location right across from our rooms and this is also where the more quiet swim up bars are located (perfect !!). We would get these rooms again, definitely. Very clean, no smell that others complain about, plenty of towels, firm mattress. Tip housekeeping...they do a great job. You have the long walk back to the main lobby, but that was ok because all the stuff we needed was right where we wanted it...food, bar, beach. Very quiet area and far enough away so you see people from your balcony, but don't hear all the commotion. Breakfast was in the buffet form 7:30 - 10:30 with your usual selections of made-to-order omelettes, fried eggs, breads, cereal, juices, etc. Be patient for coffee...they bring it to you. My kids are of drinking age and they were at the disco bar every night. They met people and were out late every night having a blast. The beach is beautiful and clean. No annoying vendors, just photographers and a few sunglasses & cigar guys walking around. Photo opportunities with monkeys, toucans, parrots, Lemur....very cool and great photos for a reasonable price. Pool bars get kind of ugly because people don't throw out there plastic cups. Bring a bubba keg and they fill it up for you...beer or tropical drinks. We will definitely be going back....had a great time.
One bad thing to say, getting to your excursion on schedule is fine, but getting picked-up is a different story and was frustratingly slow. After 40 minutes of waiting for Lomas to pick us up, I had to get angry at the Maroma excursion desk. They put me on another companies van to get me out of there. There were a lot of people waiting and similarly frustrated, so maybe this is normal. When we went to 5th Ave, we took a taxi for $20 each way for the whole family....no waiting, 15 minute ride.

Room Tip: Riviera side, swim out rooms, far end near the beach are awesome. Construction on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maryann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Maryann T,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. It’s been a pleasure to have you at our resort. It is great to know that you found our resort a very nice place as well as the food. We will share your feedback with the entire staff.

We appreciate very much your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities, services and we wish to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Went down for a friend's vow renewal, last year(2013) in June.
The weather was fantastic, the rooms were good. I shared a room with someone I didn't know but it all worked out. We all enjoyed wonderful swim-up rooms.
They are a little slippery when you mix water and tile floors :(
The food was good, a bit bland.
Booze was good
Service was outstanding
Definitely a place a would go back to. I met some really amazing people.
It is a very big resort (actually joined with another) but the walking I enjoyed.
I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Manager at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Jacky Q,
Thank you so much for your comments in TripAdvisor. They are very useful and important to us. We are delighted to know that we met your expectations. We always do our best to satisfy our guests and offer you the enjoyment and relaxation you expect. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
18.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,514 reviews
17.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,599 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,262 reviews
5.6 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,806 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the Hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll.Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon).A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing