We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“November 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here in November 2013. We went with another couple and a 3 year old. Hotel was very clean,staff were great really friendly and so hardworking!! The food was really lovely and was so much of it!! Cocktail in the pool bars were really good also. On our last night we even had lobster at the buffet! I can't remember which theme night this was so double check as its well worth not booking on to an a la carte on this night. The Swiss restaurant wasn't that great but maybe not to our taste. All other food was very nice and we loved the live cooking show! The entertainment was ok not amazing but there is so much to do during the day we were not really fussed! Great hotel I would defiantly go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmasnitemare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear xmasnitemare,

We thank you for choosing Grand Riviera Princess for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

Thank you very much for all your comments regarding to our resort. I really appreciate your nice comments about our services in all departments, specially our a la carte Restaurants. Your feedback will encourage us to continue providing the high level of service we believe our guests deserve.

I remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,224
    2,434
    1,134
    486
    376
See reviews for
2,386
3,510
113
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,821)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
235 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I just returned home yesterday from 9 nights at the Grand Riviera Princess with my wife, daughter and her friend. The daughter and friend had a separate room one building over. I'll list this in sections to help you find what you are interested in.

Beach: The beach is beautiful and has sand well out into the water. Getting a thatched umbrella was sometimes a challenge because folks tend to stake out a chair early with their towel and then not show up until late in the afternoon if at all. I'm not sure how the resort can alter that but we worked around it. The beach snack bar serves burgers and hotdogs every day for lunch and the beach bar is well stocked.

Spa: My wife and daughter got a pedicure and they were OK with it only because they got it for 1/2 price the first 24 hours. Obviously, barefoot on a sandy beach eats it up pretty quickly. We also did a couples massage right on the beach. It later in the day and the spa folks wander the beach soliciting guests for massages. We offered them a $50 for a couples 25 minute massage and they declined once but came back 30 minutes later and accepted so everyone will haggle.

Food: The food was decent. Some complain it is a bit bland but I know my wife doesn't like spicy food so you'll know it is plentiful and with an amazing variety but you'll need to season to taste. Desserts were awesome every single time. I have a weakness for chocolate and pineapple and plenty of options were available for both.

Reservation Restaurants: The specialty restaurants were nice. We enjoyed La Fondue and Mama Mia's the most. The lasagna was excellent. Do not gorge on the appetizers and hold out for dessert or you'll be sorry. There is no shortage of food. You need to make reservations after 2PM (but don't wait too long) to get a decent dinner time and not miss the shows. They are located behind the bar (around the corner) with a chart of what is available.

If I had any gripe, it would be about the mosquitoes. Yes, it is tropical, yes, they sprayed with a fogger every few days but we constantly had to kill the buggers every night before bed. Take some bug spray with you or buy some (at inflated prices) locally.

Entertainment: The shows put on every night were quite entertaining and though not quite Broadway, were well choreographed and enjoyable. They are a bit late and after a full day sightseeing at the ruins, it was hard to stay awake. We saw Grease tribute, Michael Jackson tribute and a few others. The other activities are entertaining such as tequila volleyball in the pool and archery or air rifle shooting.

Alcohol: It is everywhere and plentiful. I never wanted for a drink. There are several swim up bars, every restaurant had a bar and there were bars at the beach, the theater and the main plaza. I was actually ordering non-alcoholic drinks part of the time.

Accommodations: Rooms were comfy and spacious. We had a Jr Suite with a sitting area and a porch on the ground floor. The pictures I saw online are accurate representations and I was not disappointed. Next time I'd like to try a swim-up room.

SCUBA Dive Op: I did not dive with the local dive operation but they have a boat that leaves from the beach. Some other divers weren't impressed because the dive instructor took an intro diver into their group and wasted 15 minutes trying to get the new diver down. They said they burned half their air just waiting near the bottom for them to get situated. So, your mileage may vary. We dove with an off-site dive op and had a wonderful time in the cenotes.

Wildlife: We saw cats, iguanas, raccoons and coaties while there. None were aggressive but I would not attempt to pet anything but the cats. The raccoon did appear to be on a hit and run food scrounging mission while the coaties were a tad bit bolder in just being in the open. Neither approached people and they stayed away without being completely spooked.

Other thoughts: the place is massive. It is actually multiple resorts with no boundary to denote who can go where. There is a Sunset Princess that is a mirror image of the Riviera and a Yucatan Princess that is adults only. There is also a new addition going up but it wasn't too big of a distraction even though we were right next to the construction area. The beach is one mile from the lobby. I walked a minimum of 4 miles a day every day we were there. You don't have to if you don't want to though. They have a shuttle that runs from near the beach to the front lobby every 15 minutes.

Avoidances: Politely dismiss the people with Royal name tags unless you are willing to blow 3+ hours "Not on a timeshare" presentation for $100 credit.

Overall, it was a relaxing, entertaining and convenient vacation in the same time zone.

Room Tip: There are more thatched umbrellas on the north side (left while facing the ocean) of the roped off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knucklebusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear knucklebusted,

It is always a pleasure to receive the comments and feedback of our guests, even though they may be not so positive as we would like them to be, because they are the most effective help to achieve our goal of excellence in service and facilities

Rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration in order to provide our guests everything that they need to make the most of their vacations with us. Comments like yours enable our continued pursuit of improvement for perfection on our daily performance.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Grand Riviera Princess and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Riviera Princess.

Yours sincerely
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Right first things first there is major construction work ongoing in which holiday companies decide not to Inform it's customers. They are extending the Yucatan adults only section by some 500+ rooms. Our major disappointment was we booked wanting a quiet 3 week holiday in celebrating our pearl wedding. The noise where our swimming pool was really noisy and dusty, I thought we were starring in an episode of Auf Wiedeshen Pet. The room was nice and large but when entering the room there is a hint of mustyness. Beds were comfortable and bathroom had large Jacuzzi bath and seperate walk in shower. But because of the noise etc we were eventually moved to the villa rooms, whilst there was some noise certainly not so bad. I know some people weren't so bothered about noise we were because when booking we specifically asked the travel agent if it was a quiet hotel and was never told about the ongoing works which through the whole complex has been on going for a couple of years. Anyway villas were spacious and comfortable. Food in buffet restaurants was good with plenty of choice. The only other let down is they book you in for a gala dinner on your second night saying you have to wear shirts with collars and long trousers, not an issue for a gala night but it's actually another buffet restaurant where guests who know dress down. There were plenty of other good restaurants to choose from italian french (not my favourite only because the food is not to my taste) mexican, grill/steakhouse chinese with sushi section. The whole complex is huge and when finished will consist of 3 hotels Sunset Princess Grand Riviera Princess and when finished Grand Yucatan Princess so takes a couple of days to find your way around. All staff were friendly and polite. And there's a huge beach with chill out section a roped off platinum section and adults only section. I would actually give it 3/5 but trip advisor doesn't allow halves! All in all it was a good holiday but we preferred the Princess hotel in La Palma

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cactusstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear cactusstud,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We all took your suggestions as a learning tool and will keep working to improve our services for you and for future guests to Grand Riviera Princess.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Warm regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall river
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just came back and will never return. Food was awful, even the restaurants, nightly entertainment was provided by amateurs and not worth staying up for, went to beach and room not cleaned with fresh towels when I returned at 4pm. Sound like a nice place to stay? Only if you like wasting your hard earned money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmony0375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Dmony0375,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Grand Riviera Princess.
Your comments are very important for us, it is through them how we learn about what we need to improve and take corrective actions to avoid negative points in future guests experiences. That is why we have sent your notes to the Food and Beverage management. Please be sure they will work on those aspects, because all our guests deserve to receive the best service.

We appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention, and hope you’ll consider giving us another chance in order to change your fist impression and to provide you a better experience.

Best Regards,
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Lima, MG
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spectacular hotel quality service, friendly and helpful staff, especially Ivan responsible for the security, Mayra beach bar. Clean and flawless structure, extremely well maintained gardens, perfect pools and lovely beach. Thanks for hosting Grand Riviera Princess!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Felipe,

We appreciate your valuable comments on TripAdvisor about your visit to Grand Riviera Princess. We are very pleased reading that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and services.

Thank you very much for your visit and we hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in our hotel on a future occasion.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Late review!!! Stayed here March 2012 and returned January 2013 for our wedding. Excellent service, excellent buffet, lots of pools. We stayed in platinum suites both times and recommend even though the regular rooms are just as good, as per other family members who stayed there. The activity pool is fun with music and different games, bingo, mechanical bull, volleyball, water polo, etc. The spa is nice too. We were married January 2013 and the wedding coordinator Jacquie was excellent. Everything was taken care of through email and when we arrived it was all smooth. I would request to meet with the photographer and videographer prior to the wedding, which we did not but the photos were fantastic!!! The video was alright!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthnOnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear GuavaKiwi,

We thank you very much for the time you have dedicated to writing your nice and positive feedback.
It is highly gratifying to hear that you have found our services and facilities entirely satisfactory.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My Boyfriend and I have just returned from The Grand Riviera Princess where we stayed for 11 nights in a Junior Deluxe Suite (16-27/6).

We were both a bit apprehensive before we travelled due to the bad reviews but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were met in the reception with welcome drinks & check in was very quick. We asked for an iron to be sent to our room whilst we were checking in and it had arrived within 5 minutes of us being in the room. Our patio door didn't lock properly and after reporting it to reception, 2 maintenance men arrived within 10 minutes to fix it. The rooms were spotless and we received fresh towels everyday. We stayed in room 8027 which was in between the reception area and the pools and looked out on a beautiful garden. Excellent location and very quiet.

The staff at the hotel, pool bars and in the restaurants were amazing and always very friendly. In particular Fernando in the Argentinan steak restaurant, Ale at the Fantasy pool bar & Russell & David at the Chill Out. All staff couldn't do enough for you but these 4 stood out to us especially. They were fantastic.

The booking system for the restaurants isn't as bad as people are saying. You can only book two days in advance but this is the only way that they can make it fair for all visitors. We ate in the Steak house which was fantastic and the Japanese which was brilliant. The chef did lots on tricks on the show table and the food was really good. The best restaurant of all was definitely the Chill Out. You have to pay for this one but it is well worth it. The food is outstanding and the service is brilliant, and eating your dinner looking out onto the beach and the sea as the sun sets is priceless. We visited this restaurant twice as it was so nice. A little tip would be to pay for this on your card as the exchange rate we got was so good it worked out much better than when we paid for the first meal in USD. You then get to spend the next day on the Chill Out beach (separate to normal beach) where they have cabanas, it's beautiful. They also have crocodiles at the entrance which are worth seeing! A day there is normally USD13 per person.

There is also lots of other wildlife in the hotel such as Coaties and Iguanas because it is in the jungle which makes its a little more special.

The buffet food is also second to none. It's fresh with a wide variety. The breakfasts were my boyfriends favourite, and the omelette bar got visited daily. I have no complaints about the food at all.

The staff are constantly cleaning & the gardeners are always making sure the plants and grass are immaculate.

We travelled into Cancun to watch the World Cup and I would say if you want to see a bit of Mexico it is well worth a visit. There is a legalised price list for cabs outside where the bell boys are and no cab driver should go over these prices, even on your return journey. It was USD56 to Cancun & USD20 to Playa Del Carmen which is also worth a trip of an evening.

The beach is not 15 minutes walk away. The hotel is big but it's not that big. Just another thing for people to moan about!

The weather (I know it's not controlled by the hotel) was amazing!! We were looking at the weather reports for a few weeks before we travelled and it said lots of rain but we had 10 minutes in 11days. Extremely hot so take high factor sun creams and a hat!

The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that it didn't have wifi. You had to pay USD20 per day per device or USD79 per week per device which I don't think is acceptable for a hotel of this standard. You do get free wifi in the Chill Out restaurant and beach but we're were only there twice. We bought wifi once and was told by the concierge that you got reception throughout the entire hotel which was incorrect as as soon as we walked out of the lobby we lost connection. Friends of ours stayed in similar hotels in cancun and they were given the wifi code in arrival. This should be standard in a 5* hotel in this day and age. We were not the only ones in the hotel that thought this was unacceptable.

There is a shop in the hotel but it is quite expensive (as to be expected) so make sure your take all your toiletries and sun creams with you! A bag of crisps were USD12 which was a little extreme!....Also the staff in the shop were quite rude compared to the hotel/restaurant staff but we didn't have much to do with them.

We will definitely be returning to this hotel, we had an amazing holiday and the things that people are moaning about really are minor so please don't listen to them!! It exceeded both of our expectations!!

Room Tip: We had a Junior Deluxe Suite which had a huge jacuzzi. Would definitely recommend! Stayed in room 80...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Jade28786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Jade28786

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at TripAdvisor. We appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also glad to know that you had a pleasurable time and you have encountered our service, food and facilities completely satisfactory.

Concerning your observations about the wifi, will be shared with all areas concerned as guests’ feedback is important to us, and ultimately is how we measure our success.

Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Grand Riviera Princess.

Best Regards
Obed Canché
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#103 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
18.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,444 reviews
16.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,154 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the Hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll.Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon).A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing