We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #79 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from a two week stay at the yucatan princess .
On arrival at check in we were both handed a glass of bubbly and a cold cloth to
help cool us both down,we got the keys to our room which was in the adults only section.
The room was fine but our outlook was very dull on ground floor near site of new part to hotel which was under construction, we asked to be moved to the first or top floor which was
done the next day our new room was on second floor in the middle section of yucatan .
Nice and bright king size bed large bathroom with twin sinks separate shower and WC
With large whirlpool bath. The hotel is very clean ,staff were very helpful and courteous
Our housekeeper was male great young man and very good at his job goes by the name Ivan.
We found the buffet restaurants good our preference was the riviera always had nice meal
Used sunset one lunchtime only to find the chicken I picked not cooked through (I did point this out to staff who offered to cook more for me ) the a la carte restaurants we used were great our favourite was the tepinyaki a bit of entertainment and plenty to eat .The pool at yucatan was great no children nice and peaceful if you wanted it the other pools did have younger ones but I would not say they were rowdy, just having fun.Spent sometime at the beach we had a few choices of where to sit we chose the adult section with waiter service very nice plenty of loungers for everyone.
The hotel has plenty of bars one of which is sports bar I found this place to be extremely noisy
Where some people could go with there children of all ages let the kids scream and carry on
While they proceeded to get drunk this bar should have a time limit for children (might help there parents remember which ones belonged to them ) the lobby bar was very warm due to being open
Air but the platinum bars were air conditioned. We did enjoy the nite club great music and dancing
(Quieter than the sports bar !!). The grounds around the hotel are very nice to walk around with some wild life to see iguanas, Coaties, there is even a gator near the chill out area.
All in all I would return here found this place very nice indeed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Colin H,

Firstly, the entire team of Grand Riviera Princess wants to thank you for sharing your positive experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community.

We are really happy to read words as nice as yours. To know that our staff and service have exceeded your expectations encourages us to keep working day by day to maintain this proposal of high level that we want to achieve.

We will be glad to welcome you back again. We are at your disposal for anything you need.

Kind Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,271
    2,471
    1,148
    490
    382
See reviews for
2,419
3,560
120
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,841)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
panda in paisley
Level Contributor
214 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Went for our 2 weeks summer holiday. This is our second time in Mexico but first time in this hotel. The hotel was really clean and food fantastic. The sports bar was opened 24 hours and has a disco which opened really late which was well away from the rooms. The sports bar had snacks all day. The rooms where pretty spacious and the fridge in the room was stocked at different time to the room getting cleaned. They had a smoke machine that helped with the Mosquitos every day. A massive plus was the evening entertainment was indoors that was air conditioned. Beds were plentiful and pools really clean at all times. The staff where really friendly and offered drinks all day. Beds at the beach was a bit harder to get but food at the barbecue was superb.
There is a few negatives that was a bit of a pain but didnt spoil our holiday. Biggest pain was To book a restauant you had to wait in line to book. You could not call and they didnt have an electronic system. Having a sister hotel that uses the same restaurants you had a be quick but this is dependant on the staff member. No ocean views and shop really expensive. The checkin took forever. We tried to upgrade as we felt like second class citizens but nothing was available. Big tip is to check out the hot spots for the free wifi. This is obviously not publicised but the wifi is really expensive. Would have liked coffee available at the main pool and beach bar. You are out in the sticks so can't go walkabout. Taxi to playa de Carmen is £10 or 200 Mexican pesos. Again these are minor but did effect our overall outlook.

Room Tip: Hot spots around the middle apartments of hotel are free. This is situated in the centre of the comp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagull021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear seagull021,
Thank you for taking time to report your recent experience at Grand Riviera Princess, we are really happy to read your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent visit.

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. We can assure you we always try to do everything as possible to create enjoyable experiences to our guests, and we will consider all your comments like a great value that help us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for all of us to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We just returned from the hotel after a week at Princess Riviera, 8 days 7 nights. We arrived before the check in time of 3pm, and although we had booked a platinum suite which boasts special check in line, we were denied this service and had to wait in line. Not a first great impression. Since the room was not ready, we headed for the buffet which was welcome after a morning of travel. To get your room key, you have to line up again in the check in line which was exhausting. If we did not have to, noone told us.

Once you've passed this hurdle, yes, enjoy the grounds. Our room was at the end of the resort next to the beach. We enjoyed the location of it, and did not mind the walk.

As platinum guests, you get access to the paltinum lounge and pool. Make sure you get there early to secure a spot in the morning, afternoon is not An issue to get a spot. If riviera is full, head over to sunset pool as the hotels are mirror of each other.

Beach section in platinum/villa is nice but can be crowded. Head there before 10am and you will nt have a problem for a seat. It can get crowded. Water is shallow but great for a dip when the weather gets too hot.

Rooms are clean, spacious with basic amenities, housekeeping does a good job, mini bar is restocked everyday, ac works well.

Buffet food is decent, after 7 days you do get tired of eating the same thing but you always find something to eat. Buffet staff during rush hour seemed overwhelmed, either because of lack of training or understaff. No utensils on the table, no one bringing you cups for your coffee or glasses for your water. Restaurants were slight disappointment as food was not as good as others have mentioned. Nonetheless, this was not an issue and did not prevent us from having a great time. Staff does work hard at the hotel and you are always greeted with an ola and a smile.

Shuttle is provided if you want to visit playa del carmen for $4/trip and hours are 9am, 12pm and 4pm. Shuttle comes back three hours later. In playa, check and bargain for different tours as they may be cheaper than the ones offered at the hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sanmtl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear sanmtl2012
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your review with the community of TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is very important to us it helps us know that we are on the right path in our efforts to provide outstanding customer service. Your comments and suggestions are always taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our service and facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent the first 2 weeks of July at the Grand Riveria Princess everything from start to finnish was exceptional. The hotel accommodation is of the highest standard plenty of room all mod cons and very clean.
The food and drink is exactley as described plentiful and huge variety, evening entertainment could do with more of a selection but we just made the most of what was available. The hotel grounds are well kept and very picturesque, the beach front is beautiful with lovely warm water.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a chilled relaxing holiday in a first class hotel resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richie01Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. It's exciting to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the beauty of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have just returned from an 11 day stay at the Grand Riviera Princess and can honesly not fault this Resort. Myself and two friends were warmly welcomed on arrival and continued to find all staff we encountered throughout our stay to be so lovely.

The resort is immaculately kept. The stretch of beach the resport has is beautiful and the many pools meant that there was never an issue finding a spot. There is lots of entertainment throughout the day (but you have to find out where it is held). The food buffet options are endless and the restautant bookings (once you get the hang of how to book) are excellent. Sake Oriental, Le Fleur Itialina, and The Grill were all amazing. It is also an easy ride to the main Playa main street in the resort shuttles.

All in all a wonderful stay.

I would also recommend going to Coco Bongo if you get the chance, we bought tickets at the hotel and it was a thoroughly great night. The VIP tickets are definately worth it too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LA-Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear LA-Ang,

We are happy that you had such a great experience in our hotel and that you took the time to review our hotel and give us such high marks, we appreciate this.

We do not know how to thank you for this kind of comments. It is wonderful to know that everything was as expected and your experience was amazing with us.

Thank you so much for your time visiting our beautiful country and spend your vacation in this paradise.

We wish to welcome you in the near future at Grand Riviera Princess to continue demonstrating you our commitment to excellence.

Warm Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reynoldsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stay at resort from July 10-18 2014. After reading so many reviews good and poor..we were very pleased with the resort. This was our first all inclusive resort. The pools and grounds are impeccable, food was not bad, except for the restaurant Chinese , chefs need some authentic training. We had no problems arranging dinner reservations. We took the taxis into Playa del Carmen. This was disappointing, as vendors were aggressive and prices were not reasonable. We did make excursion plans through a small company not at the resort..was chance, but turned out wonderful and much cheaper than if made within the resort. The best: the beach. It was beautiful, water clean, beaches cleaned by hand daily, only rocky in a few places but you can see the bottom of sea to avoid rocky spots. The beach is shaded with many trees and palapas....so if the sun is too much ( it was wicked strong) we could lounge in the shade and breeze all day. Beach bar was great....two guys grilled hamburgers all day. Complaint: some food not up to our American standards. Beef tastes different, and hot dogs not edible. Rooms need some updating but if you top you housekeeper (. $1 per day) it is always spotless. Bathrooms by the beach and in main lobby were usually not in working order. Do not go to Time share presentation...it's a waste of time. Bring with: if you like chips, chocolate, etc.. To snack on, these are VERY expensive to buy ($12 for a bag of chips). Sunscreen...bring your own..very expensive. If you smoke...pack your own. Lots $1 bills..for tips. The hotel does not make change. We tipped often because these employees work so hard to make the guests happy. We also found out that most employees rely on tips as they do make very much per week.
This is a huge resort...so plan on walking alot...be patient for towels (keep overnight and exchange mid morning). And yes, saving seats at beach is recommended...there are many seats...but shade gets grabbed first. Nights in the plaza were great for people watching. Entertainment varied and was good.
It was very hot when we visited so days were spent at beach where a breeze always blows. Pool areas are extensive but were too hot for us to sit and enjoy. Must visit the party pool at least once...everyone is your new best friend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jgarnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear jgarnica,

Thank you for highlighting our beautiful Resort and It is a pleasure to know that you experienced a fabulous time and you are so grateful with the staff you have mentioned.

Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

Thank you once again for your comments and we hope to have the chance to serve you once again in near future.

Best Regards,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful but there was a large section (possibly expanding) on construction right smack in the middle of the resort. So there was a lot of noise.

Lots of Mosquitos and several of us were stung by bees near the pools and beachs.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. However again there were Mosquitos everywhere and it was impossible to keep them out of the room.

Also the resort was very large and there was a train provided however, while my grandmother was exiting the train she hadn't gotten fully off and the driver proceeded to start moving causing her to fall very badly. I did not like the hotels response. My Grandmother is almost 80 years old and we had to request the doctor. Doctors came to her room that night with some sort of cream in a napkin! They rubbed some on her yet did not give her any for after. The next morning I feel at least the hotel manager should have contacted her however no one did. BAD Customer service! My grandfather passed away from complications after a fall 6 months ago and this was my grandmothers first trip without him.

The food was awful. My husband made a dent in a piece of cheese to see if they would change the food but that dented cheese stayed in the lunch buffet for 4 days!!!

They also had some sort of Hip Hop convention beginning on Friday while we were there. Don't get me wrong I love hip hop however they set up some famous Dj fromNYC on the beach Friday and by the pool on Saturday and all the music contained vulgar language and curse words there were also woman who were twerking (which was encouraged by the mc) and dancing very suggestively in front of my 6 year old son. I'm not a prude but this could have been kept at the adults only side of the resort instead of my son listening to music that talked about pu$$y!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Vjollca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Obed C, Gerente at Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Although I thank you for taking the time to review our property, I am certainly disappointed that we failed to provide the experience you and your family were seeking for your visit to Playa del Carmen. We strive to provide the best service for all of our guests and hope to make everyone comfortable during their time with us. I apologize for any shortcomings.
I Have contacted directly through a message and I hope that you will allow me the opportunity to talk this with you and perhaps gain a second chance to earn your esteem as we would love for you to experience the best vacation in the Riviera Maya.
Please reach out to me, and I will be happy to assist.

Best wishes,
Obed Canche
Grand Riviera Princess
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
0.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
18.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
16.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,341 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Prolongacion 5ta Avenida Mza 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#63 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 674
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa is located on the stunning Riviera Maya, just three kilometers from the famous Playa Del Carmen, in beautiful surrounds, with large and spacious natural parks and the delight of a good tropical weather. Besides our fascinating beach, renowned for the clear water and splendid sea beds, typical of the east end of the Yucatan Peninsula, the Hotel invites you to discover the huge wealth of the archaeological remains of the Maya culture in this area. After crossing the spacious lobby the splendid "Paseo de los Dioses" is reached, which invites the costumers to discover the charm of the hotel. It is a gift to our senses to enjoy all our facilities that can be found to our left and right on the way to the marvelous beach awaiting for everybody at the way of the pleasant stroll.Opened in December 2007, Grand Riviera Princess offers 674 fully equipped rooms with a range of services that give the clients a variety of possibilities to choose from: Junior Suite, Junior Suite Deluxe (some with direct pool access), Platinum Suites and Laguna Villa Suites (ideal for the most romantic honeymoon).A fascinating Spa is offered to all the clients, and the most complete activity program during day and night. A range of services in the varied and international selection of top quality food provide the perfect counterpoint when sharing moments of peace and calm with excellent meals in beautiful and inviting specially decorated surrounds, some of which are by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Riviera Princess Hotel
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing