We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$374
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$645
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$451
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$359
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Playacar Palace(Playa del Carmen)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$717
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$598
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$879
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$747
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$467
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$436
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$941
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$666
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$424
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (9,623)
Filter reviews
9,623 results
Traveller rating
4,196
3,002
1,372
577
476
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,196
3,002
1,372
577
476
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantssports barfondueplatinum suitemama miaplatinum areala fleurchill out barplatinum conciergeplatinum poolthe grilllas olasdays in advanceprivate poolwater shoesseafoodfree room service
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 9,623 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

i was recommended by a good friend of mine who was there 3 years ago this was mine and my fiances first time vacationing together so we was very excited and also looking for a place we can have vacation package at multiple countrys which you guys provide we booked a junior suite room the day we arrived it was raining and pouring we happen to arrive 2 hours before the check in which was suppose to be at 3 so we left our luggage with the bellboys and the front desk said we are freshing up our room since we were early no big deal there so meantime we said lets go walk wait main lobby couldnt walk around since it was pouring so after 2 hours and half it was about 3 oclock they said sorry room still isnt ready should be ready in about 30 minutes or so ok got a little aggitated there but waited went and waited so we went and booked some excursions in the meantime to lock in some days during the trip when we came back to desk they said room was ready we stayed in room 6006 wich was about 10-15 walk from the main lobby and located right next to the back of resturant whcih was very loud every night do to them working and such they said well give u a ride and our luggage will be there in 10-15 minutes so came to the room walked in looked great for most part i am in the construction industry i noticed MOLd in the bathroom ceiling i fixed thetoilet which wasnt working and dint make a big deal for the must part we was a bit wet from the ride there from the bell boy due to the rain so as we waited patiently 40 minutes pass by i called from desk to ask for our luggage they said sorry sir should be there any minute another 20 mins pass and i gt upset we were wet and still no luggage i walked all the way over to front desk to complain about luggage they said applogies we came no body there that was a lie becoause my fiance stayed in the room to wait then after getting upset my fiance called and said it finally came here and bellboy offered me ride back and said my apolgies i will find out what happend and take care of it ok fine so we changed to go get some food come to fnd out which we didnt know we have to make reservations for places to eat got a little upset that front desk never said anything to us the first time and especialy knowing we was there early could of helped alot since it is our first time and i did mention that to the front desk personal so we went to main lobby made our reservation for the night and so it happened to bad week in mexico that it literaly rained every day while we was there very unfortunate and made trip unpleasant so we went next excursion had dinner also 2 days later we went on another excursion and we put sign on door have room made when we came back they left our garbage there and put dirty sheets we called front desk they apoligized and said theyl take care of it we said take care of it next morning while we are away we booked a day at the spa to enjoy it somewhat since the rain and thunder dint allow us to do much at resort and this way the maids can clean or and it it isnt inconvenient for us we left came back and still dint get done called back once again applogized ad said well take care of it we changed and went for dinner when we back it was done this is now a friday the air conditioning wasnt working to well and the tv remote stopped working i called and they said theyll take care of it the next morning i called and said please have somebody come fix it please while we are away when we came back remote was fixed but airconditioning was still not working properly my fiance said leave it alone we have 1 more day and we are leaving ok no worries still upset ESPECIALLY SINCE IT RAINED EVERY SINGLE DAY ALL DAY AND NIGHT the whole time there wifi didnt work for us at all the resort did nothing to accomadate the guest while it was raining but play bingo and whatevr they had planned for the week i happened to see that we had a coupon for the spa that it was a 2 for 1 deal so when i went to pay the front desk said sorry i dont know what u mean after he ripped it up after he took it then after he went and got another coupon whihc comes with the keys they said sorry the soa has nothing to do with us youll have to wait untill 9 when they open i said im leaving now i cant and how come nobody told me its not likei stayed in a standard room or anything especialy know how many time i called and complained nobdoy helped but just kept saying sir please sign here nothing we can do its not part of our resort which makes no sense since it is in youre resort and im retty sure they could of done something i will never come back or refer yourre resort to anybody everything could been avoided if the personall would of just helped oout someway instead of just saying sorry especialy knowing it was a bad week for alot of people and also knowing i didnt stay in regular room and paid for suite i have pictures of the mold the dirty sheet garbage left which i am not uploading because i hope people see this review and will understand VERY VERY VERY BAD EXPERIANCE and dont recond anybody going there without having these issues resolved

Room Tip: only villas are quite
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Senior trip for my daughter at the Platinum Princess. The staff and facility is awesome! Eric, a staff member invited us to do Zumba on the beach, so much fun! The theater and fire show was outstanding. Cero and two nice ladies at our lobby bar are friendly and professional!

Room Tip: Beds are a little stiff.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is huge and to move around you have to walk a lot or take the transportation but sometimes takes some minutes for the transportation to arrive.

Overall Score: 8.8


1)Room: Score 9.5
Size: Plenty of room including a sofa area.
Bed: Confortable and with clean and confortable sheets
Furniture: Contemporary and in good shape
Decoration: Nothing outstanding but pleasant
Cleanliness: Very clean, all the time
Quietness: Peaceful and conducive to rest
View: Garden view, nothing interesting

2) Bathroom: Score 9.0
Size: Medium with separate tub and shower
Furniture: Modern and in good shape
Cleanliness: Always clean
Amenities: Good quality but some items were not replaced when finished

3) Food and drinks: Score 8.5
Quality: Some items could be better seasoned and cooked.
Variety: Plenty of options to choose from.
The Asian restaurant is really good.

4) Technology: Score 8.5
TV: Medium size flat screen
Entry system: Card
Safe: Electronic laptop compatible

5) Common areas: Score 8.0
Cleanliness: Always working to keep them in great shape
Decoration: Nice decoration in different areas but nothing extremely relevant
Gym: N/A
Swimming pool: Beautiful swimming pools.
The natural environment is great with some animals roaming freely like coatis, raccoons, and iguanas

6) Staff: Score 9.5
Always willing to help and make every effort to make me feel welcome. Only at the beginning I was helped by a person a little bit intrusive that make me feel uncomfortable.

7) Location: Score 8.5
It is a little bit far away from downtown playa but if you do not plan to go there a lot it is not a big deal.
The beach is not the best I ever seen in the area but is ok.

8)Entertainment. Score N/A
I didn’t attend any entertainment show.

9) Value: Score: 9.0
This hotel offer a good value for the money I paid.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our 6th visit at The Grand Riviera Princess and it won't be our last!!! I will try and provide a thorough review and address some of the outlandish comments that I have seen posted on TripAdvisor.

The Grand Riviera Princess (GRP) is a great resort for families, couples, and singles. It really has something for everyone!!

Size: The resort is HUGE. If you have mobility issues this resort is NOT for you. There are elevators near the lobby area, but they are fairly limited throughout the resort and it would be challenging for an individual with mobility issues or other health issues to manage. The plus side of a larger resort is that there are areas that are very quiet and areas that have a lot of action. We have heard outlandish claims that it takes 20 minutes to get to the beach and this is utter rubbish. It is no more than an 8-10 minute walk from Lobby to Beach (we timed it). The resort is absolutely gorgeous throughout and the walk is lovely. There are statues along the way that light your path at night and there are even restrooms available should you need to stop.

Pools: There are 12 total pools, including the swim out pool, multiple shallow depth pools for little ones, and 3 (yes 3!!!) swim up bars. If you love the pool, you will be very pleased by all of the options. The main pool was considered the "party pool" but I would say that the Tequila Swim Up is a strong 2nd if you want a lively group. They play music at both locations and it was pretty wild when we were there. Note to parents: this really isn't the best choice for young children. They have done wonders to replace missing tiles since our visit last year, but there are still some that need to be replaced. This certainly didn't ruin our fabulous vacation.

Food: There are so many choices available at the GRP. There are 4 buffets for breakfast and lunch (most people do not realize that there are 2 buffets nearer the beach that are open for breakfast and lunch). The 2 buffets nearer the beach turn into ala carte restaurants in the evening, but this is a great option if you are staying Platinum or if your room is located nearer the beach. These buffets are smaller and much less crowded. The 2 buffets near the lobby are very large and offer a wide variety of options. We are pretty healthy eaters, so finding fresh fruit, salad fixings, and lean protein options were never an issue. There is an entire section in the buffet for salad fixings, a bread section, a dessert section, a fried food section, a fresh grill where they make fish, chicken, steak, or pork options, and an entire area of hot food items. The beauty of a buffet is if you take something that is not to your liking, go back up!!! Some of the complaints that we have read on TripAdvisor are pure madness. If you can't find something suitable to eat at this resort, you can't be pleased. There are also 9 ala carte restaurants to choose from that are very good. So many great options! Please keep in mind that they are serving 2000+ people.
They also serve food at the beach (burgers, hotdogs, French fries, nachos and sometimes wings). There is also a multiple taco stands by the main party pool and the Tequila Swim Up pool.

Ice Cream Shop:

There is an ice cream shop located on the Riviera side in the Family Section that is available to EVERYONE at the resort regardless of what category you are staying in.

Categories:

We have stayed in each and every category and you truly can't go wrong with any of them.

JUNIOR SUITE: If you are on tight budget and are worried about staying in a JS, don't be. You won't have access to Las Olas or La Fleur (unless you really want to pay extra), but this will not alter your fabulous stay. You will not be treated any differently, you will still have drink service on the beach, and your room will be closest to the lobby (easy access to the 2 main buffets and many of the restaurants and ice cream shop)!!! Yes, you still get a fridge stocked with soda, water, and beer. No room service at this category (unless you pay for it)

Deluxe Junior Suite: Your room will located in the middle of the resort near many of the pools. You have a jacuzzi bathtub in your room. You do have access to Las Olas and La Fleur. Stocked fridge. No room service at this category (unless you pay for it).

Platinum: Your room is located nearest the beach. There are many amenities that come from staying Platinum including private check-in, concierge service, 2 Jacuzzi's (1 in the room and 1 on the patio). Private roped off area on the beach/more comfy loungers. Room Service

Villas: The Villas are the only ADULT ONLY options at the GRP. They are the little pod buildings near the lobby. You must have a key pass to enter the bar area/pool. They share the private area on the beach with Platinum guests. Jacuzzi tub in the room. Room Service

PLEASE CHECK THE WEBSITE FOR COMPLETE DETAILS FOR EACH ROOM CATEGORY TO SEE WHAT YOU ARE ENTITLED TO FOR YOUR VISIT!!!!!

Beach: We were there just after several days of severe storms and the beach was a bit of a mess. The seaweed was absolutely epic and it took them a few days of non-stop effort to get it cleaned up. They worked tirelessly to clean it up and the water cleared considerable when we were there. There is quite a bit of beach erosion in front of the Yucatan Princess Resort (more on this later) and it made it more challenging to walk to the left of the resort in the direction of the Grand Velas. For those of you who are use to walking 4-5 miles along the beach. It is still possible, but you will need to deal with some rock in the mangrove section prior to the Grand Velas before getting back to sand. There use to be a small path by the mangroves, but the erosion has taken its toll. The seaweed smells horrible, but they are working hard to clean it up.

Yucatan Princess-

This is a separate adult only resort next door that has access to the amenities at the GRP. They DO NOT have access to the Platinum/Villa private section at the beach. The beach area in front of the Yucatan is in horrible shape. I mean trip cancelling horrible if you are a beach person. I would highly recommend that anyone considering a stay at the Yucatan consider booking the Villas at the GRP.

Grand Riviera Princess/Grand Sunset Princess:

They bill this as 2 separate resorts, but it really isn't. The Riviera is the left side of the resort and the Sunset is on the right, with all the amenities (spa, gym, theater) shared between the 2. They are mirrored images of each other. Just because you book Riviera, don't be surprised if they put you on the Sunset side. My advice, book which ever is cheapest as it is the EXACT same resort.

Entertainment:

We have stayed at many other resorts and the entertainment at the GRP is OUTSTANDING!!! These are professional dancers and there is nothing amateurish about the productions. We have stayed at other resorts at a much higher price point and the entertainment does not compare. We LOVE the Horror Show, Party Time, 70's and 80's show. They have a children's show prior to the main show most nights. The theater is air conditioned and there is a bar and popcorn in the back. Get there early for good seats.

The Plaza also has nightly entertainment and a large bar. There appeared to be music in the lobby this past trip, but we never made it up to listen.

Cats: The cats at the GRP are PRINCESS CATS. They are well loved and cared for. We never missed an opportunity to visit them each day. They are there to keep the critter population under control. Please be kind to them!! Most of the cats have 1 ear that is clipped, and this may indicate that they have been spayed or neutered. There were 2 kittens there during our last visit that were fun to watch. They are still a little shy, but look healthy and happy. You will notice that some of the cats have princess collars on.

Recycling: Yes, they wash the cups. The resort is very environmentally conscious. They provide very sturdy cups that are washed and reused. They are also trying to limit the use of straws which are very damaging to the environment. My advice is to bring your YETI and BUBBA MUGS and they will gladly fill them with your favorite beverage!

Staff: They are EXCEPTIONAL!! Everyone is very friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. If you have a special need or request, ask your concierge. PLEASE TIP WELL!!! They deserve it.

Recommendations:

If we had any recommendations, it would be to consider a DJ some evenings in the Plaza to play good music for dancing (save the techno for the disco which opens at 10:30). We really miss when they had entertainment in the Plaza before AND after the main show. Save Alladin show for during the week and NOT on Saturday night. Another "Events" board of daily activities near the beach would be great. Have a channel on the TV that lists daily activities. There really isn't any activities for Teens.

We clearly love the Princess and can't wait to return. If you are looking for a great resort at a decent price, The Princess is the best option in the region.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
17  Thank CNEINIOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'll keep it short and to the point. Fourth time in Mexico, but definitely one of the better trips. Pros and Cons below. If you can, upgrade to Laguna or Platinum. It really does make a difference.

Pros:
- Restaurants were actually good. We tried the french, Hibachi, steakhouse, Italian, Mediterranean, and Asian Fusion. Italian and Mediterranean were sub par. Food was bland and unimpressive. Steakhouse was amazing. I have NEVER had good meat in Mexico...and somehow I had two great steaks from this steakhouse. Definitely a must have.

- Service - Service was great. We had the Laguna suite so we had our own private cabana along with pool and bar / private area. Margarita did an amazing job to make sure we had drinks in our hands every 30 minutes at least! Pedro also did a great job with our drinks. Always ready to go at any ask.

-Maintenance...Always someone cleaning, or updating, or painting. The resort is massive and there are always people taking care of something which is great to see.

-Spa...The spa was great. Massage was nothing special, but you get the water circuit included and it was phenomenal. We had a couple rainy days so this took care of one of those. Try it out if you can.

-Gym...Their gym surprised me. It was your typical workoutworld / planetfitness. It had everything you needed. Normally you only see two treadmills, a medicine ball and a few weights but this gym had everything and anything.

-Sports Bar...Sports bar rocked. Good food, drinks and service. Also the best AC in the place.

Cons:
- Buffet. I'll be honest here; the buffet sucked. Same bland food every single day. Not a single thing changes. Some of the food was okay, but for the most part, stick to the restaurants when possible. Desserts looked great, but weren't anything special. Could use a little variety here. Just anything

- Missing tiles? So all the missing tile reviews are accurate somewhat. Our private Laguna Suites pool was missing a good share of its tiles. Safe to say at least a solid 10% of the pools worth. Wasn't really a massive deal as there was actually somebody in the pool working to replace those tiles for the duration of our visit. The larger pools throughout the resort looked fine and in decent shape.

-Beach....What Beach? The seaweed problem is horrific. I know this happens every few years, but someone needs to at least try to clean it up. Beach was covered in a ton of seaweed, and the water was dirty and filled with seaweed everywhere. This is not your typical Caribbean ocean view. Not only that, the seaweed would smell up the entire resort because it was just rotting away in the sun. Outside of the seaweed covered areas, there isn't much. The beach is very eroded and small. This is not a resort you go to for the beach.

- Room...Room was a bit in the middle. We had a Laguna suite so the room was awesome in size and amenities. We had a two person Jacuzzi in the room along with an outdoor shower which rocked. Bed was uncomfortable. AC barely worked. Room was pretty outdated. Could use a newer TV.

TL;DR: Restaurants were great. Buffet was lackluster. Beach sucked. Seaweed everywhere!!!!!! Not a 5 or 4 star, but it definitely sits comfortably in the 3 category.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Platinum or Laguna if possible. Makes the difference.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FalcoDuDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews