We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for a good family bidget friendly trip, this resort is excellent!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Ranked #71 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Evansville, In
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a good family bidget friendly trip, this resort is excellent!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We went with a much more affordable resort this time, and were happy with what we paid for it, great deal. If you want to just relax and read and hit the beach, this place is perfect and ut served our purposes well for this trip. Just so you know though, it was very difficult to get reservations at the restaurants. They filled up very quickly. Lots of screaming children around, which didn't bother me much but you should know thay in case in bothers you. The rooms were very clean but super humid and musty. If you find antonio as your waiter at the pool, you will be very pleased. He is wonderful. Also ask for a shot of whayever liquor goes in your frozen drink and pour it in yourself, i strongly suspect they serve the frozen drinks with no alcohol in them at all.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,557
    2,659
    1,178
    533
    416
See reviews for
2,506
3,764
111
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The week was great, service was awesome, resort was beautiful. We travelled with 2 other families: 6 adults, 6 children aged 11-16. We all had a great time.

Room-Stayed in Platinum, Sunset side-it had problems with A/C noise all week, but resort were attentive & did fix major problem. Room smelled musty all week, all clothing we took needed to be washed--do not over pack! Still, the room was very nice.

Platinum-HIGHLY reccommended-service, attention to detail, private pool, all the extras are all worth it!

Food-great variety of al-a-carte, book at beginning of stay for entire week, Platinum conceirge takes care of this for you. Buffet offers great variety for all eaters, even many gluten-free options (just talk to staff) Loved a mimosa for breakfast every morning. Coffee is amaizing at lobby bar and Sunset Platinum lobby.

Pools-party pool is where that action was, we made a few very brief visits. Swim-up bar is great except for when you notice that you have left to go to the washroom, but many never leave, some so rude to say out loud that they need to go, go for a short swim and come back again--some people have NO class.
We spent most of our pool time at the platinum pool--drinks come delivered cold & quick! Snacks are readily available, lounge chairs are very comfortable and beds are fabulous.

Beach-Platinum service is again amazing. Rubi is the best server we had. Lounge chairs are not as comfortable as at pool. The beach area at this resort is the only reason we will not return. Bring goggles for great entertainment and water shoes for comfort, although you can survive without shoes, we did see people with cuts on their feet from the rocks. Pick your entry point carefully, there are a few areas with fewer rocks than the rest of the beach. The children loved looking for fish with their goggles. We used the catamaran a few times-it was awesome to get out sailing. Our friends went parasailing for $120, they loved it.

Day trip-We went to see a cenote and swim with the turtles. It was a half day trip for $74/adult, $43/child and was well worth the money. Trip said it provided drinks & snacks, but we only got a bottle of water and each of the children got a cookie-we were very hungry when we returned. We all loved this trip & recommend it, just pack a snack.

Activities-there were many things going on all over the resort all the time, but we didn't really do any of them. If you want to get involved, there are many opportunities to do so.

Overall-We highly recommend this resort, but with so many places still to see, we will not likely return, although it was well worth the money. The resort is huge so it does make it a little challenging, especially when men have to wear long pants for dinner and you need to walk 10 minutes to get there in the heat. There is a shuttle, but it is about a 10 minute wait-you can walk faster. We did not go to the spa-but we should have. The weather was great, hot & humid! Bring lots of sunscreen and a hat. This resort is a great place to relax.

Room Tip: You must go Platinum, it is worth evey penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just returned from the resort and we stayed from July 17th through July 26th. We stayed in the Platinum Suites and could not have been more impressed and satisified. The service was excellent and every need and question was taken care of. The food, whether it was the buffets or the restaurants, was superb. The buffet featured a wide variety of items and both breakfast and lunch everyday were great. We did not utilize the pools at the end of the trip compared to the beginning, but this was simply due to our liking of the beach. The pools are nice and a couple have a swim-up bar. Unless you must have a pool that is as active as a nightclub, the pools are a great spot for relaxation. The beach is rocky at first, but if you continue to walk out, there is plenty of soft sand and swimming area. We used the Chill Out Club's beach chairs, which cost $11 each per day. If you are willing to spend extra money on these chairs, I highly encourage it because the rest of the beach chairs and corresponding huts are tightly packed. We used the tennis facility to train for the upcoming college season and the facility is in good condition. Whether you are an avid player or just beginning, I highly encourage taking a group or private lesson with Luis. He is a terrific player and coach, has a great personality, and is very approachable. The rooms are spacious and welcoming. The cleaning staff does a great job maintaining the rooms. The nighttime is not as action-packed as other hotels, but the resort provides plenty of beauty and activity after dark. This resort may not be for those looking for a nightclub and nonstop-action type of experience. However, it is a great fit for those looking for relaxation or even a mix of relaxation and activity.

Room Tip: If you want every need met, then choose Platinum Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank barmstrong12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Stayed at this resort the week of July 16th. Very nice resort, very clean! The staff was very attentive & helpful. We stayed in a Platinum room and was very impressed. The only downside to this resort is that it is very big. It was a 15 minute walk to the beach for us. You probably should bring some water shoes for the walking and the rocks in the ocean. The food wasn't very good, but the service at all restaurants was excellent. Had a great time at this resort!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnsie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

despite everything, had a great time. buffet was below average, could not get reservations for dinner at the restaurants, even thought there were many empty tables. the only bar that served drinks with adaquate amount of alcohol was the sports bar. pools close at 6, which is too early. rooms were clean, but many in our group suffered bed bug bites. still had a great time in yucatan, but will probably stay at another hotel next time

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kikiwiki w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Grand Sunset Princess for a week in July. Overall, we got what we expected. The reviews and pics are all accurate. We have 2 small kids, 3 and 6. The hotel was perfect for them.
A couple of things to consider:
1. We were staying in the Platinum suites: We booked this before arriving, but met serveral people that had upgraded on arrival. IT IS SO WORTH IT! The room was fantastic, you get access to more, the conciege was very helpful. That silver braclet gets you even better service. Our package also included free room service, which is handy with the kids. There is a private pool and longe bar, which we used alot. The beds at the pool are much better and they literally are beds. We would install the kids in teh shade and it was perfect.
2. The beach is far from great: The sand is lovely - and the platiumum guests have a spot on teh beach with waiter service, so this was great. The merchants lined up along the front did not bother us at all. However, there is a lot of seaweed and rocky bit. Also, a bit of a nasty smell to be honest. We did buy swimming shoes, and that is a really good idea, especially if you have kids.
3: The resort is big, but managable, and there is a little golf buggy running regularly to take you from one end to the other.
4: Babysitting Serive in room: We used the service twice (stayed at the resort). The sitters charge $10 per kid and after midnight you have to pay for their cab home (not that we were up that late). The women were very professional and fun and my kids were very happy. If you book it - make sure you reconfirm the morning of your planned night out!
5: Kids club is great for kids up to 10. They even run a mini-disco ever night which the kids really get into. There never seemed to be any kids at the teenager club - but it does exist.
6. Getting Out: We hired a car. Coach trips with kids are a nightmare. There is a car rental place right in the hotel. It was $114 including full insurance for the day, easy and convenient. We went to Tlum - which was managable as our kids are too young for the drive to Chechen Itza and then found the best resto/beach in Tulum. A trip to Playa del Carmen is also worth it.

We found the service at the resort to be exceptional. If you are considering it for a family vacation you should not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and upgrade to Platinum. But be aware there are birds in the court yard that ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lyndsy_eg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed in July for our second visit. All is good with this resort. The rooms and grounds are beautiful. The buffet food is okay, most restaurants are good. The service was good. We had to call the front desk on 2 occassions and the situation was promptly taken care of. Bring water shoes. The walking is not that bad except at night for men since they need to wear long pants to get into the restaurants. The pathways and areas around the pools and rooms are really slippery so you need to have good rubber on the bottom of your sandels and try to walk slow and carefully. The evening entertainment is good but does get repeated year to year, week to week. The resort is a good value for the money you pay. Don't pay attention to the bad reviews, relax and just have a good time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank swimmernancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
3.0 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,467 reviews
7.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Riviera Princess All Suites Resort & Spa
Grand Riviera Princess All Suite...
#75 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
7.5 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
Iberostar Paraiso Lindo
#5 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,744 reviews
16.8 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort

Property: Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort
Address: Prolongacion 5ta. Avenida Mza. 20 Lote 006, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#44 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#58 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 674
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays so you can book your Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort And Spa
Grand Sunset Princess All Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Sunset Princess Hotel
Grand Sunset Princess Review
Grand Sunset Princess Mexico
Grand Sunset Princess Resort
Grand Sunset Princess All Suites Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing