We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOKS BELOW AVERAGE, FOOD IS DELICOUS.”
Review of El Tacoqueto

El Tacoqueto
Ranked #105 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“LOOKS BELOW AVERAGE, FOOD IS DELICOUS.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Never judge a book by its cover. This little restaurant served up the best food both I and my partner tasted in Mexico on our 2 week visit. I am quite sure the health inspector in Ireland would close it down but this did not put us off and we are glad of we decided to eat here. We stopped in on a recommendation from a local Taxi driver. Next time we visit Tulum this is where we will be having lunch dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank delboy2013324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty and fast”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

El Tacoqueto is an original mexican cocina. When to come there you have a choice of at least seven dishes. Everything is ready, you choose your dish and a few seconds later you allready enjoy it. The place is always full with locals and I don't think you can find better food for those prices. Thumps up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjibbe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, cheap, local food”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were recommended to this place by a local so we decided to give it a try. The shop is tucked near a corner south of Tulum town. It's a family-owned place. There's no menu and we chose what we want from a row of containers in front of the kitchen. Knowing little Mexican, we pointed & used what little smattering of Mexican we knew. Somehow we didn't get what we pointed at. The owner's wife instead served us with freshly stir-fired pollo/chicken with rice. Hungry we just shrugged & tucked in. Man, that's 1 of the best chicken we tasted in our whole trip there. We also ordered the excellent chaya + pina drink. Highly recommended eating stop while in Tulum.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kralendijk, Bonaire
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great and cheap food!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

After two weeks eating all the possible kinds of tacos and tortillas of Mexico you can get a bit fed up with the taste and type of food. If you are looking for homemade food, good quality and that make you feel like having a real meal instead of snacks, El Tacoqueto is the place!
The fruit juices are also great and the price is even better! 5 dollars for the whole meal! :D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“an authentic mexican food experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's an extremely simple family-runned restaurant; there's no menu, you can choose your dish from the stove.
People say it's the Tulum's best "pollo con mole" (chicken with cocoa sauce), but I didn't tried it. But my friend has, and liked it a lot. I preferred a soup with huge shrimps, that was ok.
In the end, you can say: "I survived a ~mexican~ game!".

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArturBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tacoqueto also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tacoqueto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing