We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in the Suenos Caribeno bungalow at Nueva Vida for three nights. The room is not very modern but we appreciated the rustic quality of the handmade palapa roof, a deck complete with two chairs and a hammock plus the amazing breeze that made even a fan unnecessary at night. The beach is certainly one of the most beautiful on the strip and the chairs, bed and umbrella that are provided for each guest make this one of the most well-appointed beach locations as well. Breakfast was delicious with fruit, fruit juice and bread every morning at Casa Banana. I understand that just a continental breakfast was included but I do think a small protein such as an egg or avocado would really make the meal complete for very little effort. Everyone we met was very personable and helpful and the property is well cared for. We did see a mouse in our room one night but that is to be expected when you're truly experiencing the beach and jungle in a cabana like this. Our only complaint is that it poured quite heavily one morning and the roof of our bathroom caved in. This took most of the day to fix and while we were out and about anyway, the hotel did not offer a free cocktail or other compensation. That would have been much appreciated. A great stay in all.

Room Tip: A bungalow with an ocean view or oceanfront is necessary to get the amazing breeze off of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csc1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel provides the basics and what it has going for it is the beach front location and price , which is why it's receiving great ratings. However it is not necessarily an Eco friendly hotel. Cheap Plastics elements are everywhere in and outside the rooms, the label Eco Hotel pretty much used to attract tourist and justify some of the short comings that could have been provided in an Eco friendly way. In essence if you use the definition Eco Hotel that defines this place, than pretty much all hotels in Tulum are Eco Hotels. So, if you are looking for the basics in a beach front hotel, this place will do, however there are other places in Tulum to choose from.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertHajdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear RobertHajdu:

It seems your reason to rate us so low is the use of plastic. We are really sorry you feel that way, it's true, we do use plastic, most in the water bottles we provide to our guests, which, as well as any other plastics that are thrown either in the trashcans placed in many locations around the hotel specified as non organic waste or in the waste bins in the rooms, also any plastic trash that might be collected in the mornings when cleaning all our beach strip, all these are carefully separated and taken every week to the recycle center in town which we help build with our donations.
We really do make an effort to keep as ecological as possible, our energy is solar and aolic, reason why we do not allow the use of hairdryers or irons and why path lights are turned off at 11 p.m. We do not shut down the electricity in the rooms for the comfort of our guests, yet we do ask kindly to turn off the fans and lights when not in the room.
We have ongoing coconut and chit reforestation, we follow a low density ideal, reason why we are chosen by guests new and returning, for the quiet and privacy of our accommodations.
It is because because of our known compromise that we are one of the centers of the conservation of marine turtles in the Mayan Riviera, providing housing and food for the volunteers every year from May to November. Among being always active and present in projects that threaten the ecosystem of our surroundings.
We are sorry you did not mention your discomfort when you visited, we would have gladly explained in person the above and give you a tour of our installations and you might have had a more pleasant stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

La Nueva Vida de Ramiro couldn't be better, the reception was always very helpful. We spent the first few nights in the Lirio Garden Room which is not on the beach but we LOVED it, so private and cozy, the beach was only a two minute walk away! If you are on a budget don't hesitate to reserve this room, it is beautiful. We spent the last night on the beach in Room 3 (can't remember the name!) and it was wonderful but after staying in Lirio I have to imagine all of the rooms here are amazing. The breakfast was really nice, fruit cups, freshly baked bread, and pretty decent coffee. The lunch and dinner menu are pretty pricey but we realized that is just a characteristic of Tulum beach restaurants, if you want more affordable incredible food venture into town! Overall we would definitely return, nothing beats laying on a one of La Nueva Vida's beach beds looking out into the beautiful blue water of the Caribbean.

I have to comment on SunnyBlueSky2014's review, you do realize that in Mexico and nearly every other developing country south of the United States you don't flush your toilet paper? That is not just some eco rule of La Nueva, not everywhere has the complex infrastructure it takes to be able to flush paper down a toilet….reconsider traveling outside the US if this disgusts you so much.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are amazing but we loved Lirio Garden Room, so quiet and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The accommodations are great, well equipped, clean and comfy. We stayed in a villa and loved it!! A nice breakfast is included which can even be delivered to your room.
The one star off is only due to the restaurant that accompanies Nueva Vida, which is mainly meats and such. Very limited, if any, salads and lighter food.
The beach is beautiful.
Tulum itself? well, the hotel area is a crowded road, with different cabana places lining the street, on both sides, all right next to each other, each with it's "own" beach area. All geared towards the tourist.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

After having read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor, we were very excited to spend a few days at this resort. There were some things we were prepared for after reading reviews on tripadvisor like the lack of air conditioning, modern amenities, possibilty of bugs, salt water showers etc. What we were not prepared for was poor service and that is what prompted me to write this review. I usually look at trip advisor to make a decision and this time the reviews were quite different from our experience. We were checked in by Roger who was very unhelpful from the first day on. whenever we needed anything, it took at least 2 visits to the desk before anything got done. there is no phone, so everything required going to the front desk.
Basic supplies like soaps and towels were not replaced when cleaning the room. There is an open drain in the shower and the soap fell in it and we had to ask the cleaning people twice before we could get more soap.
We were woken up on 2 nights with the strong stench of raw sewage. You are not able to flush toilet paper down the toilet and are asked to throw it in a trash can! that was disgusting.
Worst of all when it rained on our last night there, the bathroom roof leaked and there were puddles on the floor making it very slippery. We had to throw down some towels to soak up some water. When the rain stopped, we went down to reception and asked Roger to have the room cleaned and give us some fresh towels. We went for dinner and came back about 3 hrs later and Roger was gone for the day and the job was not done. There was a lady at reception who was very apologetic and helped right-away, but it still required 2 trips.
This was a sharp contrast to the excellent service we received in Merida on the same trip.
Having said that, the beach was beautiful and the location of the resort is perfect. If only the service was better it would have made it an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Get a beachfront room - more breezy and less bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SunnyBlueSky2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

beautiful natural environment and layout and architecture of the bungalows -- all close to the beach. The management and service were warm and outstanding! The environment was restful and rejuvenating.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

From the moment Roger graciously welcomed us, the day we sadly had to leave, we felt like we were in the arms of an old friend. The oceanfront room was beyond compare. Filtered ocean views through the perfectly manicured trees, the breeze, the sounds, the sights... nothing can compare to this. The property is large with perfect sandy pathways that lead to the cabanas and the beautiful, BEAUTIFUL ocean. Mornings (and a few evenings) at their open air, wood stove, Banana Restaurant was like sitting with family . Love this place and everyone who runs it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoYoYogis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
Hotel Cabanas Tulum
#8 of 101 in Tulum
838 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 101 in Tulum
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#23 of 101 in Tulum
1,417 reviews
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £126 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing