We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so so experience at NVR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A so so experience at NVR”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband & I just returned from a 4 night stay at NVR. It was our first time in Tulum and.....wow......it's absolutely beautiful there! We are definitely planning on returning to Tulum, however, we probably won't stay at NVR on our next visit.

Casa Banana, NVR's restaurant, was great! The staff was very nice and everything we tried was good. In addition to the breakfast included with our stay at NVR, we usually purchased one traditional breakfast to share. The waiters also come to the beach so that you can order drinks & lunch while lounging ocean front. The prices were really reasonable.

The actual location of the hotel is amazing. We stayed ON the beach. The surrounding restaurants and resorts were easy to walk or bike to so it's in an ideal spot in Tulum.

Now, here's where my review takes a turn. We stayed in a Corazon suite, which is the higher end rooms at NVR. Like I said, the location of the room was phenomenal, but unfortunately the same can't be said for the room. The "suite" is really just a hotel room. The bathroom is pretty outdated with brown tile, grout stains and rust in the shower. The room itself was pitch black. As soon as it got dark out, we had to use our iphone flashlights to see. I can't imagine why they don't provide flashlights. There were a bunch of funky lights that pretty much did nothing in terms of lighting. There wasn't a mirror in front of the bathroom sink so, even if I could have seen, there wasn't a mirror there anyway! There was one single plug in the entire room which made charging our electronics super annoying. I kind of felt like I was camping. Before anyone counters back that Tulum is rustic and there are environmental reasons for some of their choices, we did look at a few other resorts and they did not have the same issues with lighting and plugs. Also, since we were staying in a more $$$ suite, I did expect for there to be a few more amenities.

Overall we still had a great time and really, really enjoyed Tulum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smcneil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear smcneil99:

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your room. It is true that only one outlet is provided and that the lightning is dim, it is all because of the source of our electric power which is from solar panels and aeolic energy. If there is no control over the watts and the outlets, the result is an overdemand of energy throwing out the batteries charged by the solar panels.
There are other hotels in Tulum who do operate 24 hours on power plants and provide the usual lighting as in non eco hotels that you can look into.
As for the bathroom, we are very sorry that you found is to be outdated and we have talked to our cleaning team to be extremely careful about the rust, the fact that the rooms are so close to the ocean in combination with the humidity of the Caribbean weather makes the maintenance a daily one and we apologize again that you had to experience it. As I always mention on the answers of the reviews, if you are not comfortable with something, do not hesitate to let us know while you are here,rest assured that if it is doable, we will do it and if it is fixable, we fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    164
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
98
591
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brickell
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our third visit to La Nueva Vida and and our expericence was amazing. Ricardo, Mariana, Eric, Jose and the entire staff was hospitable and atentive to our needs. This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for privacy and romance. The Suite we choose was literary steps away from the beach and the vegetation surround it provides sufficient privacy. We rented bikes from the hotel and went to neighboring restaurants, you can even ride your bike to town, the ruins and the supermarket.
Out of all the hotels in Tulum, this is by far the best one, we are definitielly coming back again but this time with our three year old son.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menganito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Menganito:

We are always happy to have you with us!!! Thank your for taking your time to write your review, we hope to have you back again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful! accommodating- private- quite- simple and charming..... They have the BEST beach furniture in Tulum! Not to mention the best part of Tulum beach....We stayed several places in the neighboring area and this was our favorite. Be aware of the Casa Banana restaurant... its the most expensive place in town- very good but way over priced...... Try going into the town of Tulum for meals.... its a super charming, real Mexican town with many great restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Liro garden room.... felt just like we were on the beach... its nice being higher u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoss54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear jmoss54:

It was great to have you as our guests, Casa Banana is top quality, as we always do in front desk, there are many, many choices of restaurants around, but going to Tulum town is definitely the most accessible choice and there are countless options.
We look forward on having you back again with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed in the honeymoon suite and had our own entrance and exit to the beach. We choose this location due to the small boutique hotels with nothing oversized - when looking down the beach the accomodation blends into the treeline, which was perfect.
The hotel was well placed on the beach - being far enough away from the (relatively) larger
hotels but not being too far down the beach to feel remote. The ground design made it feel as though the accomodation had been built around the vegetation not the other way around.
The room itself was lovely and spacious - we had a hammock and sun lounge on our balcony and then hammocks in the shade underneath the property. The only thing I would have changed was the wondow locks, which did not feel very secure and could easily be popped open. That said - at night - there were night security that constantly swept the property and asked to see our room key on a few occassions so from that respect I felt safe.

It was an expensive stay, and particularly staying the honeymmon suite I did not always feel as though the service reflected the large cost that people pay to stay there. Some (and I should emphasise some) of the staff at breakfast were a bit surly but on the other hand their colleagues made up for it by being very friendly.
The attached restaurant, Casa Banana, was a bit dissapointing on meal selection for vegetarians and we tended to eat at the excellent La Zebra next door as the selection and quality was excellent.
Reception staff were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view will definately give more breeze at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenerHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Neuva Vida is exactly what we expected- a beautiful beach location with an open air cabana surrounded by a tropical jungle setting. Don’t plan on spending too much time in the room as the most amazing beach in all of Tulum is right outside your door. The amenities on the beach include chairs, hammocks and wonderful beds. We walked up and down the beach and didn't see another hotel that seemed as well prepared for a day of relaxing on the beach.

The cabana was clean and comfortable, just one complaint- the bathroom had a wall of windows that gave the neighboring bungalow's balcony a direct view into our shower! At first it wasn't a problem because we had no neighbors. Once the neighbors arrived we notified the front desk of our desire to change rooms for the final two nights of our stay. The front desk informed us that our accommodations could not be changed until the next day because housekeeping had gone home for the night and would not be able to clean our cabana. Since it could not be cleaned, it wouldn't be available for other guests to rent that evening. We wish the hotel staff was more concerned with the guests that were already there then those that may show up. Other than that, staff were very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Bathroom in #7 Pasion Marina Caribbean Bungalow lacks privacy- direct view into shower from neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvanbruggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear gvbruggen:

Thank you very much for you review and we are very sorry for the situation of the bathroom and for the misunderstanding of the change of rooms. We would have gladly changed you, it was not a matter of leaving the room clean for other guests that might show up, it was the fact that the only possible option had to leave one day before their check out, but left after the maids had left and the room was in no condition to be given to you.
Again sorry for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Tulum is magical and this hotel is in a perfect setting/location to access the beach and amazing restaurants. (Highly recommed Hartwood and Simple). Staff is wonderful - kind and full of great advice. However, sleeping was uncomfortable. We stayed in room 2 in search of a sea breeze since we knew there would be no A/C. I am not sure if it was based on weather factors, but the wind did not reach the room so it was very stuffy. In addition, the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Casa Banana was a great place to grab a night cap and dessert. Breakfast was basic, but better than nothing. Overall, we loved Tulum and the lack of comfort in the room would not deter us from heading back to Tulum. We would try another room (or hotel) if we do make it back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mmm9x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear mmm9x:

We are very sorry the room did not meet your expectations and it certainly has been very humid with varying wind conditions lately. Unfortunately the ceiling and the floor fans were not sufficient for you. We are making some changes in 5 of our rooms and before the end of the year they will be equipped with AC which the guest will be able to turn on from 8 pm until 8 am. We will limit the hour of use to maintain the consumption of energy and impact the environment as little as possible. Until now we did not consider installing AC units for eco reasons, but we do listen to our guests that are more sensitive to the heat and humidity of the Caribbean. We will be announcing on our website and on Facebook when this rooms will be ready.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Eco friendly hotel for 9 nights. Loved the beach and the comfy chairs and sun mattresses they provide. The room was awesome. Piece of advice- if have cooler and want ice and snacks take a left out of hotel and walk 1/4 mile to tiny store on left. Not much like it in tulum. Only complaint was mediocre maid service. Otherwise 5 star all the way!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potatofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear potatofish:

We are glad you had such a great vacation and deeply apologize for the maid service you had, we encourage our guests, and potential future guests that might be reading this review, to let us know while staying with us if there is anything we can make better for an impeccable experience. Guests have many different tastes and needs, so of it is within our reach we will do everything possible to make it right. Thank you very much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
1.8 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Property: Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing