We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romance and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #12 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Romance and Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this hotel! You have read all about the beautiful beach ( it really is beautiful) and the perfect beach set up. The beach is very large and therefore plenty of room to spread out and have your personal space. The beds & chairs for each guest room helps give the public beach a romantic feel.
We stayed in a room in Zona Corazon and it lives up to its name. It was a romantic, wonderful setting. We were worried about no air con in the room at night. We always sleep with it freezing in our home. And since it was a busy time of year we were not able to get a second floor room. This was not a problem at all. The breeze was fantastic! The fan was more than sufficient to keep our room comfortable all day and night. The villas are built slightly off beach level and allow the ocean breeze to circulate easily. Lighting is plentiful. We did pack some battery operated candles that added a great romantic touch and allowed us to have candle light cocktails on our patio at night. Soo romantic with the moon reflecting on the water!
Even though we were on the first floor of a 2 story villa (and surrounded by guests on all sides) we never saw our neighbors and felt like we had complete privacy.
The grounds of the hotel are natural and lovely. Plenty of light till 11pm. Then it's lights out & wow does it get dark! I suggest bringing a mini flash light, not so much for the hotel grounds, as for the Main Street there are tons of great restaurants, shops, bars and clubs along the road that are worth your attention. Go out for a nice dinner and bring your flash light. The road is only lit by the establishments and the passing cars. The flash light may not be necessary to see where you are going but it's a great way to let passing cars know you are there.
A cooler is also a great thing to have in your room. We purchased a cheap foam cooler from the large supermarket at the beginning of the street to the hotel and stocked up on our favorite beverages and water plus some snacks. The hotel does offer food & beverage service from the amazing restaurant across the street, but I needed a little more instant gratification :-). The beach waiter is great and provides good service. Best thing is he is not constantly circulating asking if you need anything. He is readily available waiting for your order at the base of the life guard tower.
Last piece of advise. Rent a bike or car or hire a taxi but get out and explore Tulum it is beautiful and fun.
Enjoy your travels.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Sammyfate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Sammyfate:

Thank you for taking time to write such a great review about us, we are so glad that you had the experience that we always wish for our guests, peace, quiet and privacy.
Your recommendation on the flashlight is great, it is true that for saving energy and keeping up with the ecologic mindset we turn off the path lights to the rooms, only the path lights, in the rooms the electricity is given 24 hours a day. When leaving the hotel and walking on the street, some taxis tend to drive a little fast and if there is no moonlight, so it is a good idea to have a flashlight on for all cars to spot you. We also recommend bringing a flashlight with red light during the months form May to October to have a closer experience to turtles in their nesting and hatching season. They do not register red light so it does not bother or confuse them. Thank you again Sammyfate!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    606
    163
    38
    8
    9
See reviews for
95
577
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

An absolute pleasure of a vacation. Made simply wonderful starting with our greeting from the front desk managers. Roger welcomed us with a pleasant smile and relaxed attitude after our two hour bus ride via ADO from Cancun with refreshing drinks and a great overview of all of the hotel's features and amenities. You wander through natural trails meandering throughout the local flora on the property to your room. Very ecologically taken care of and seems to fit naturally within its environment.

Hotel manager, Mariela, honestly became an immediate great friend to my wife and I that I know we will be staying in touch with in the off-season. Often finding ourselves chatting with her and swapping travel stories for an hour or two daily. She was beyond insightful with a plethora of spot-on recommendations on everything from tours and activities to the best restaurant for whatever you're in the mood for. She won't point you in the wrong direction. You can see she's great at getting a read on what type of traveler you are, and sending you to the appropriate places. Staff is extremely accommodating to all requests. If there's something you need to enhance your stay, just ask, as opposed most peoples' approach of complaining about it later. They provided a cooler to keep our room beverages cold, extra pillows, fresh beach towels, boogie boards, rent bikes if you want, etc.

My wife and I have been back to Tulum for vacations 5 times, normally staying at Playa Azul, where we had reservations (another great place to stay in Tulum) that had just closed over a local land rights dispute leaving only 5 DAYS for us to re-book at another hotel! Scary! But all turned out for the better after finding Nueva Vida de Ramiro. Mariela gave us all the reassurance we needed on the phone, guiding us to the perfect room, while booking our stay. Rooms feel very private and visually and acoustically isolated from one-another. I think they were fairly full while we were staying there, but it didn't feel like it, as we rarely ran into other people. Spacious, clean and comfortable throughout. We even extended our stay a couple days and were easily moved to another beachfront cabana by the staff taking care of the luggage move.

I'd have to say our only difficulty was in coordinating timing for our room to be cleaned. We're night owls, and like to sleep in and some days just go nowhere other than the chaise lounges on the beach. Sometimes making it hard to coordinate with the cleaning staff before they're done for the day.

We're definitely going through Tulum withdrawals. Can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: You can't really go wrong in a room choice. Just tell them what you're looking for, and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaronjohnsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Aaronjohnsen:

Well a simple welcome is not enough for your wonderful review. We are so happy that your stay with us was so pleasant and that you enjoyed all of the recommendations given at front desk. By now you should have received in your email your member code, this promotional code we send to all our past guest that gives you an automatic 15%off in your future stay with us, which we sincerely hope is sooner than later. It was a blast having you stay with us and next time we can surely work something out with the cleaning staff in order for you to rest as needed.
Big hugs from all our staff at NVR!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our 9 days stay at NVR. NVR has a beautiful beach (with a lifeguard and beach security). The cabana we stayed in was wonderful (#11) with big french doors that we kept open the entire time we were in cabana. The porch was big with a nice hammock that was very inviting. Tulum is hot and humid, but there were no issues with that because the ocean breeze never stopped while we were there. There were a couple nights we had to close the doors because the wind was so strong! Just in case the wind stops, there were two fans in the room (ceiling and floor fan). The ceiling fan is under the bug net for optimum air flow. There are many turtle nesting sites on their beach and we got lucky to even witness a turtle laying eggs right in front of our cabana!! The breakfast was nice, we loved the loaf of bread and fresh juice. The coffee was strong, but all the places in Tulum seemed to have strong coffee. The staff was extremely friendly (even the maintenance workers were friendly and greeted us). I also read about the water in the showers to be slightly salty, it was but I felt clean after I showered so it wasn't a high concentration. They provide biodegradable honey shampoo (and conditioner!!) and body soap, which I really enjoyed! I absolutely loved staying at this hotel and would definitely come back again if we travel to Tulum again (room #11 was amazing!!).

A couple areas for improvement ... (1) the showers in this cabana was not completely private. There are big windows with no curtains. For the most part, the windows face in direction where not a lot of people walk so it's relatively private, but every once in a while there would be someone walking by (but probably didn't even realize the shower was there). Seems like an easy fix... just put up a couple curtains. (2) The restaurant and other offerings are charged separately from the room and require that you pay in cash for those. Would be nice if everything could be seamlessly integrated such that you can charge easily to your room, just something to consider.

One word of advice to travelers... read about Tulum. I loved the beach, how it felt a little off the beaten path and somewhat eco-friendly. I was not expecting that the food (ALL restaurants) would be over priced... to the point which you feel as though you are just being taken advantage of. It also seems there are a lot of foreigners capitalizing on this so I recommend seeking restaurants that have local Mexican owners and/or servers (just to give back to the Mexican community a little). I believe this hotel staffs local Mexicans and even provides them a portion of the profits - just another reason to stay at NVR!

Overall, great stay at Nueva Vida de Ramiro. Definitely recommend it and will hopefully be back soon!

Room Tip: Pick # 11 (Amor Eterno) or the room next to it. You are right on the water and have great breeze fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Kristina G:

Thank you very much for your review and your recommendations on the curtains and the showers, as you mention, it is really impossible from the outside to see the shower since the cabañas are built on stilts, so from the outside the height does not permit it, but we understand your point and are looking into a couple of options for the guests to feel even more privacy.
It is true what you wrote about the staff, not only all the staff is not only Mexican, but local from Yucatán, you may actually have heard them talk Mayan, their mother language between themselves. And the owners do divide the profits, they believe that the more the guests, the more the income, but also the more work, so monthly all the staff is receives extra bonuses for their job. We truly appreciate when guests notice that all our staff is local and when they talk to them, the Mayan culture is pretty much alive, and we even have a Mayan shaman, he's the gardener and takes care of all the grounds, and has medicinal plants on the premises, so if you happen to have a bad burn from the sun, for example, let us know, he has the miracle and 100% natural aloe and herbs mixture that will heal it in. True story! Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in Tulum and we did some research before coming. Knowing that most of the hotels along the beach were "eco" hotels we thought that there would be a camping feel to it.

We were greeted with fresh juice upon arrival and this attention to detail seemed to weave itself through other aspects of the stay.

We absolutely loved this place. The proximity of the our cabana (#29) to the water was amazing. The ocean breeze (actually at times quite strong) kept the mosquitoes away and provided the original white noise machine that is the ocean to lull us to sleep every night. It gets dark but since we knew that this place would not be lit up at night we brought headlamps. There is a concern with respect to light since turtles use this part of the beach as a nesting area and apparently the lights interfere with this cycle. No problem for us however. We had plenty of moonlight to see by. We were there for a full moon and it was so bright that we actually had shadows.

Overall this was a great place to stay and I would come back again. The rooms had enough for us to love (double showers!) and the salt water that came out of the faucets and sinks actually made my skin feel better. Most places along the beach are similar to Nueva, but their charm and helpfulness during our stay makes them stand out to us. Rent bikes through them and take a tour of the town (we were even able to bike to the nearby ruins in about 30 minutes). Try and get a little out of the local life of Tulum and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Makinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Makinola:

So grateful for your review, we definitely recommend planning your trip in either full moon or new moon. As you so clearly stated, full moon with the reflection of the white sand is so stron that no flashlights are needed and you can actually see your shadow. But then again, new moon is a whole different yet not less of a spectacle, since there are no street lights or strong hotel lights, it is breathtaking the amount of stars you can see and guaranteed that if you lay down for a while, you will spot more than one shooting star each hour. For future guests, there is a free app called "Planets",which shows you all the constellations and planets visible above the horizon and the also the ones that will show, since there is wifi in many areas of our beach, try to download it . Allow it to use your location and it is amazing how easily you can spot them. Also not to be missed: Sunrises!!! Even if you come on vacation and want to rest, at least try to see one one day, they are unbelievable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely loved our stay at Nueva Vida. Amazing value for the price. I've been to many beach resorts around the world, and have never been so close to a beautiful beach for such a great price. The staff were very friendly and accommodating! We stayed in cabana 29. Cool furnishings and very clean. After exploring Tulum I thought Nueva Vida occupied one of the prettiest, spacious parts of the Tulum coast. You're also close to a lot of great restaurants. Can't wait to return!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmsKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear EmsKH:

Thank you for your review, we will be honored to have you back. Do not hesitate to contact us to ask about other rooms, all of them have a different touch and returning guests love to try different ones, all suites are beachfront so there is no mistake when picking one or the other. Or maybe try the classic beachfront bungalows for a more rustic experience.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband & I just returned from a 4 night stay at NVR. It was our first time in Tulum and.....wow......it's absolutely beautiful there! We are definitely planning on returning to Tulum, however, we probably won't stay at NVR on our next visit.

Casa Banana, NVR's restaurant, was great! The staff was very nice and everything we tried was good. In addition to the breakfast included with our stay at NVR, we usually purchased one traditional breakfast to share. The waiters also come to the beach so that you can order drinks & lunch while lounging ocean front. The prices were really reasonable.

The actual location of the hotel is amazing. We stayed ON the beach. The surrounding restaurants and resorts were easy to walk or bike to so it's in an ideal spot in Tulum.

Now, here's where my review takes a turn. We stayed in a Corazon suite, which is the higher end rooms at NVR. Like I said, the location of the room was phenomenal, but unfortunately the same can't be said for the room. The "suite" is really just a hotel room. The bathroom is pretty outdated with brown tile, grout stains and rust in the shower. The room itself was pitch black. As soon as it got dark out, we had to use our iphone flashlights to see. I can't imagine why they don't provide flashlights. There were a bunch of funky lights that pretty much did nothing in terms of lighting. There wasn't a mirror in front of the bathroom sink so, even if I could have seen, there wasn't a mirror there anyway! There was one single plug in the entire room which made charging our electronics super annoying. I kind of felt like I was camping. Before anyone counters back that Tulum is rustic and there are environmental reasons for some of their choices, we did look at a few other resorts and they did not have the same issues with lighting and plugs. Also, since we were staying in a more $$$ suite, I did expect for there to be a few more amenities.

Overall we still had a great time and really, really enjoyed Tulum.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank smcneil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear smcneil99:

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your room. It is true that only one outlet is provided and that the lightning is dim, it is all because of the source of our electric power which is from solar panels and aeolic energy. If there is no control over the watts and the outlets, the result is an overdemand of energy throwing out the batteries charged by the solar panels.
There are other hotels in Tulum who do operate 24 hours on power plants and provide the usual lighting as in non eco hotels that you can look into.
As for the bathroom, we are very sorry that you found is to be outdated and we have talked to our cleaning team to be extremely careful about the rust, the fact that the rooms are so close to the ocean in combination with the humidity of the Caribbean weather makes the maintenance a daily one and we apologize again that you had to experience it. As I always mention on the answers of the reviews, if you are not comfortable with something, do not hesitate to let us know while you are here,rest assured that if it is doable, we will do it and if it is fixable, we fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brickell
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was our third visit to La Nueva Vida and and our expericence was amazing. Ricardo, Mariana, Eric, Jose and the entire staff was hospitable and atentive to our needs. This is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for privacy and romance. The Suite we choose was literary steps away from the beach and the vegetation surround it provides sufficient privacy. We rented bikes from the hotel and went to neighboring restaurants, you can even ride your bike to town, the ruins and the supermarket.
Out of all the hotels in Tulum, this is by far the best one, we are definitielly coming back again but this time with our three year old son.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menganito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Menganito:

We are always happy to have you with us!!! Thank your for taking your time to write your review, we hope to have you back again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#13 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Property: Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing