We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want to be one with nature peace and quite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Ranked #13 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“if you want to be one with nature peace and quite”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I will absolutely go back here again, charming lovley place.
1. the place have a great location at Tulum beach
2. clean and nice.
3. fan, no places have air con in Tulum what I have understood because of the problems with electricity
4. 24H electricy, they have it 24H, but they need to keep down the electricity use, that's why they don't use air con.
5. a lot of turtles came up in front of this hotel. we didn't saw anyone though...
6. breakfast that's included: home made bread, homemade banana bread, butter jam and coffee/tea
7. they rent out bikes for 150 pesos for 24H


well I cant say anything else than; I like this place!

Room Tip: we didn't have they biggest budget so we took one of the cheaper room. ask for the room; viente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citysurfchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    629
    164
    40
    8
    9
See reviews for
98
591
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

2nd stay at this fabulous hotel and it was just as great as the 1st time!

My husband & I originally planned to stay 3 nights in the pueblo at a different hotel (that shall remain nameless) as we had some excursions planned, we were to later move on to NVR for the rest of our vacation. After 12 hours of traveling, we arrived in the middle of the night at our "nameless pueblo hotel" only to find it closed! This "nameless pueblo hotel" is rated in the top handful here on TA & was by far the biggest disappointment on our trip. Even though they stated they had a guard on staff all night, no one was there. They lied to get our business and we would not recommend anyone to stay there at all! After almost 2 hours of knocking & calls that went unanswered, our very patient transfers driver was nice enough to drive us to NVR on the beach in hopes that they could take us in a few days earlier than planned. The hotel was able to check us in a couple of hours later and luckily our room happened to be available. After such an awful start to our trip, we settled into to NVR and realized that we should have just stayed here from the start. Other than the "nameless pueblo hotel" issue, everyone we encountered on our trip truly went above and beyond. The beach here truly is 2nd to none and there really is no reason to stay anywhere other than on the beach in Tulum. The room was comfortable, staff beyond great, and the beautiful beach was all well worth the trip.

Do yourself a favor, if you are considering staying in the pueblo, just don't. The beach & NVR in particular, are the way to go for a fantastic Tulum vacation. You won't regret it - we've already booked for our next trip! We really love this place and highly recommend to anyone looking for a laid back relaxing time on a beautiful beach with caring and attentive staff with great nearby restaurants. See you soon Nueva Vida!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solful1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Solful:

What can we say, love to be our guests heroes!! We are very grateful for your review and that we lived up to your expectations on your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us and we will keep working hard to make your next stay even better!!!
The warmest regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've been to a lot of places but I'm in love with Tulum and this place puts the cherry on the cake! Top notch!
Great service, amazing location! Best beach!

This area is Boca Paila, a peninsula off downtown Tulum city....true paradise...
I hope nothing more gets developed there...you are within feet of the most beautiful silky sand beach! Super friendly locals and best of all: no resorts, no high rises, no chains....low key! Old world style, classy!

Exceptional place to visit with your significant other! Very romantic and isolated. Peaceful, dreamy!

My only disappointment would be that the restaurant changed hands. When I first spotted the hotel, was thru coincidence of dining at the restaurant in about 2008. Casa Banana then...amazing food, great service! On my last visit, it had changed hands. Food no longer that great..service ok. Not personable anymore...so you can eat in town or at other nearby great restaurants. You have no problem finding fresh ingredients and super tasty choices here....

Indulge yourself in an unforgettable experience. If you're visiting from the States behave! It's not bourbon street or Cancun where you are expected to act like a misbehaved college kid!
People are real, it's not very touristy. Secluded, beautiful paradise....hope it stays that way!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfacto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Skyhost:

Love that we are part of one of your favorite places in the world!!! Your description of Tulum is spot on and it is great that you mention it's "low key" feeling to it. Tulum is very quite and there is not much night life going on after 11p.m., unless you go downtown where you have a couple of really cool bars that usually have live music. Although there are great restaurants, many offering soft background music and a great dim light ambiance.
And yes, can't beat Tulum's romantic feel!!
Hope to have you again very soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa Del Carmen, MX
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have traveled all over the world, stayed in all different classes of hotels, consult with hotels and am an investor in a hotel... and Nueva Vida de Ramiro is a unique and special place. If a hair dryer, safe for your "jewels", A/C or dedicated staff waiting to take care of every little need is key for your vacation, I would suggest you look for a different destination.

But if you are looking for a hotel with SPECTACULAR beaches, a place to decompress, a place to breath, a place where the surf is your "white noise", a place where you can have a long conversation with a significant other, a place where the staff leaves you alone to "just be" but is never to far away, then you are in the right place.

We had previously stayed at two other hotels in Tulum. This was our second stay at Nueva Vida de Ramiro and we stayed in oceanfront rooms both times. For us, there is no need to look for another place to stay, we have found it. The oceanfront room rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area. The rooms are large, unique, clean and the wifi works great. The entire property is very well maintained and the staff is very pleasant. If forced to find something to "improve", I would say if their safes were just a couple of inches bigger, they would fit a laptop. That's it!

I'm a light sleeper and we had a palm branch hitting our window, just enough to get my OCD's attention. I reluctantly asked the front desk if there was a solution (we try to adapt to the jungle versus having it adapt to us) and before I made it back to the room, maintenance was pruning the tree. A simple request to reception and Continental Breakfast was delivered to our patio each morning. A request for a late check out was not only accommodated (we stayed on the beach till 5p) but the General Manager had the hotel's outdoor shower room setup with towels, soap and shampoo for us.

Their partner restaurant across the street, Casa Banana, is fine. But we really enjoyed the vibe, food and service from the restaurant a few steps away on the beach, Casa Banana. Great Mexican food, fresh fish, cold water (not the easiest thing to find in Tulum), and live Salsa (with free classes) every Sunday. And one of the best restaurant managers, Fernando, that I've come across in my travels in Mexico.

Everyone in Tulum says there's a special "energy" flowing through Tulum and we agree completely and I suspect if you visit once or twice you will agree too. For us, that was underscored when walking back from Casa Banana to our room around 10pm. We came upon a turtle making her way from the ocean, across the beach to the dunes to lay her eggs. That in itself was a fascinating experience, but when we determined she had chosen the exact spot where we had just spent our day on the beach, we had an entirely different appreciation for Tulum and Nueva Vida de Ramiro. For us, it became almost magical and truly memorable.

Thanks very much to Mariela and all the staff, we will be back soon!

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront rooms, they are already a great value and worth the extra amount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlayaMayaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear PlayaMayaGuy:

We just had a staff meeting to give them their monthly bonus and I shared your review, ensuring them and motivating all to keep up the good work. Your review describes exactly what we strive for: good service yet not overwhelming and interrupting the peace and relaxation of our guests, taking care of the guests needs as soon as it is possible. We truly appreciate when guests tell us during their stay if there is anything that will make them feel more comfortable, if it is within our grasp, we will make it happen.
We are always so grateful for the reviews, but coming from someone who is in the business like you it is a definite bonus for us. So thank you very much for taking time form your schedule to write this fantastic review and we will be waiting for you both for that long stay you discussed.
Warm regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My sister and I stayed at Nueva Vida de Ramiro for 10 days in June. This was out third trip to Tulum and our second time at NVR. We stayed 7 nights in #30, Suspiro, which is the last unit on the northern end of the property. Our last three nights we stayed in #2, Horizonte Perdido Suite, which is the last unit on the southern end of the property. Both are right on the beach and have beautiful views. We loved them both.

The grounds are beautifully kept. We loved the paths throughout the property and figuring out different ways to get to and from our room. The rooms are clean and so pretty . Each has a ceiling fan and floor fan. We slept with outs doors open at night to hear the ocean and get the ocean breeze. Very comfortable. Each room has an outlet for charging electronic devices. Between the two of us we had two phones and two Kindles. We had no problems keeping them charged, we just rotated them.

There is a breakfast included which is provided by Casa Banana, the restaurant which is across the street from NVR. You can eat at Casa Banana or have the breakfast delivered to your room in the morning. The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, hot bread with butter and jam, banana pound cake, coffee and juice. Casa Banana also provides food and drinks during the day on the beach. We had wonderful lunches on the beach every day. The grilled calamari, fried calamari, bruschetta, ceviche and guacamole were so good. Thank you Luis and Santiago!

We spent our days walking on the beach in the early morning watching the sun rise, riding bikes on the beach road, swimming, eating and just staring at the beautiful ocean. We also took a wonderful sailing trip down to the Sian Ka’an Biosphere Reserve. We rented bikes through NVR. Each bike was 10 dollars a day. There is complimentary coffee each morning at reception for early risers. We had massages on our balcony. NVR also has coolers and boogie boards you can borrow. There is a little store a short walk south from NVR where you can buy ice, water etc.

On one of our last days while swimming in the evening, there was a turtle swimming about 50 feet out from us. The next morning there were turtle tracks on the beach and a nest where the turtle had laid her eggs.

Everyone at NVR; Roger, Ricardo, Mariela, Eric , the groundskeepers, housekeepers and security were so friendly and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaudiaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nvrami, Manager at Nueva Vida de Ramiro, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear ClaudiaJ:

Thank you for your great review, we shared it with our staff during our monthly meeting, it is great for them to hear from our guests the good job they are doing and priceless to see their proud faces.The fact that you returned is already a great sign, and we are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us as well.
You still have many other rooms to try so do not hesitate to contact us for your next stay, Lately our returning guests have been very keen of the classic beachfront bungalows...... check them out!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great Location and Rooms. Beach is spectacular and service was great. There was a continental breakfast included and it was great, warm homemade bread with fresh squeeze juice and fruit. Very safe, I went with my husband and baby and it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorisalmanzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Stay here! Really, I can't say enough about how much I loved this place. Everything about it was just right. The staff was great, rooms perfect - not stuffy or fussy, beach is fantastic, excellent location, grounds beautiful. Why did I wait so long to review? pure selfishness! I wanted to try to keep it myself for as long as possible. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Tulum.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.4 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
1.8 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nueva Vida de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nueva Vida de Ramiro

Property: Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Address: Km. 8.5 | Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tulum
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#13 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nueva Vida de Ramiro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nueva Vida de Ramiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Hotel Tulum
Nueva Vida De Ramiro Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing