We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Tour”

Community Tours Sian Ka'an
Ranked #20 of 98 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Tour”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We did the Muyil tour and canal float ... Fernando did a great job walking us through the ruins and explaining what we were seeing. The boat ride to the canal was nice, and the float was so peaceful and relaxing. Nothing spectacular here mind you, but a very nice day.

I recommend wearing long sleeve shirts and pants for the Muyil portion as the bugs are everywhere --- you are in the jungle after all. There are bathrooms where you can get changed after the Muyil tour (before heading out on the boat). You will get a fresh fruit snack and a short break after Muyil, and they will also take your order for lunch that will be served once you come back from the canal float. I wasn't expecting a full meal so that was a nice bonus. The guides are friendly and knowledgeable; all in all this was a nice way to spend some time in a setting without crowds of people around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveFromMerryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    34
    7
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Antonio was an amazing guide for the muyil ruins as well as trip through the Mayan Canals. The ruins and its history was rich, filled with spirits of the Mayan culture and mosquitos (so really do not forget your repellant). The trip to the canals was not to be missed. At the boat launch treated to hundreds of butterflies - yellow, green and black. Then traveled through the canals made by both Mayans and nature. You then float with the current through the windy canals of "sweet" water - there are a couple of reservoirs that eventual run into the sea. Not to be missed and could not ask for better service from guides that truly understand and can share the culture in such an amazing way.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RezCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Muyil Forest & Float - Highly recommend”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We were picked up at our hotel for our expedition in a very comfortable van. We picked up other travelers at two other hotels before arriving at the Forest where we had a lesson about the Mayan people and the flora and fauna of the forest. We saw the ruins, but unable to climb. Please come prepared, the mosquitoes are very hungry in the forest and will feast on your exposed body. After the forest, we stopped for fresh fruit, then proceeded to our boats that were waiting for us. Our guide told us about the canal that was dug by the Mayans. We then reached our float entry point and were instructed to put on our life jackets and relax. We obliged and floated without any effort while hearing the birds sing, catching a glimpse of various fish and watching the mangroves pass. After our "float" we were taken to our stop for lunch. For lunch you had a choice of chicken fajitas or fish, I selected fish, and although I am very, very picky about fish (usually salmon only) this was the BEST fish I had ever consumed, perhaps it was the atmosphere, or the freshness. Tranquility at its best. This is the best type of side trip for anyone wanting to avoid over populated "traditional" excursions. I plan on booking excursions with them anytime I vacation in the area, there are several to choose from. http://www.siankaantours.org/

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel4funwithmyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston TX USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Antonio Caamal Uitzi was our guide for a tour of the Sian Ka'an Tour of the Biosphere in early April 2013. He was wonderful and his pleasant personality and willingness to share so much information greatly added to our enjoyment and education during the tour. The food at the end of the tour was awesome. We look forward to his guiding us again the next time we return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CindySidell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen, NH
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

If you are going to see Sian Ka'an, these are the folks you want to show you the way. Comfortable vans, knowledgeable and friendly guides, fruit snacks and a great lunch. This is a must-do activity. You will not be sorry for scheduling this adventure - the Muyil Ruins are quiet and lovely, and the float down the mile plus canal through the mangroves is one of the most peaceful things you will experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanteGlen_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Community Tours Sian Ka'an also viewed

 
Quintana Roo, Yucatan Peninsula
 

Been to Community Tours Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing