We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true rustic, tranquil, beach getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabanas Playa Condesa
Ranked #112 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My boyfriend and I were hugely relieved to find this gem after a couple of nights of spring-break-hell-hole Playa del Carmen.

It is a very simple place. We had a room with a cold shower and no toilet (a few steps across the sand outside). The room had a double and single bed hanging from rafters - the single was useful for a day nap or tossing our things. The mosquito nets were practical and pretty, as were the woven blankets. It was dark inside during the day, as there was only a small glass-less window, but we didn't ever have reason to spend time inside during the day. The openness of the cabana meant our clothes often felt slightly salty or damp and it was nice to stick everything into a laundry when we moved on after a few days. The cool showers were fine on hot days, but a little brisk on cooler evenings.

The family managers were laid back, but very sweet - the kids running around were adorable. We sometimes had to go and find someone when we wanted breakfast, but when we did, we were cheerfully served delicious food at a reasonable price. We ate dinner there early one night, and went next door a couple of times (quite a bit more expensive, but very good). There's a small shop, but we went into town one afternoon to make bus reservations and stocked up on a few extra snacks and supplies at the shops there.

The room was more expensive than others we paid for further south in Central America, but very good value for the location (~400 pesos).

Immediately in front of the cabanas is rocky, but the white sand is only a few steps to the left.

The beach to me is about swimming, walking, and lying in the shade reading and listening to the surf. If you're looking for white linen napkins, massages and cocktails, this isn't the right place. If you're like me, it's heaven, but probably not for a more than 4 or 5 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annaclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We slept in a private cabana on the beachside in a hanging bed, wich was very fun. Mosquito net was provided. It's a quiet place: very basic and very cheap. There was a small store, but there weren't many things available. There was a small restaurant for breakfast and lunch that closed at sundown. No kitchen available. Toilets were dirty and toilet paper unavailable. Showers were also dirty and we didn't feel the welcoming feeling. But we had a good stay. The beach at these cabana's is very rocky and it was a short walk to the white sandy beach. The supermarket and town are taxi distance away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobke_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to stay on in Tulum for an extra week of our trip. But, as this was over New Years, the prices everywhere were completely jacked up and everything was full anyway. There was literally not a beach-front cabana to be found. What we ended up with was a "cabana" in La Selva, the jungle, just on the west side of the beach road. It is made of sticks and totally open to the elements - bugs, critters, what have you. I am convinced that a wild tapir reached in through one opening and ate some bread I had wrapped in two paper bags - it was pulled to the edge of the wall, ripped open, and with large bites taken out of it. These were no mouse bites. We paid, I think, 400 pesos for our own cabana with a "private bathroom".

We were told there would be hot water, but there was not. They then pretended not to have told us that. The bed was made up with sheets already, but must have been sitting empty like that for ages because they were covered in dust and dead insects. I took some toilet paper myself and cleaned the huge cobwebs off the (extremely weak) hanging light. There were daily shrieking encounters with large insects in the bathroom. The mattress was filthy, and while there was a mosquito net over the bed, it was filthy as well and FULL OF GAPING HOLES. While my boyfriend went to get our bags from the previous lodging, I went about trying to make the place livable by requesting new sheets, making the bed myself, and tucking the mosquito netting under the bed as is done at fancier places and trying to minimize insect entry by folding the netting over the gaping holes.

This felt more exposed than camping, and every creepy jungle sound came right into reach us. And there were many. It sounded like the sound effects track from Lost with crazy unplaceable loud noises. Was that an insect? An animal? The wind? We dubbed one sound "the laughing bats". We never used the "beach" here as it is just rock, but used this as a base to ride our scooter from to better places in the area.

Did I mention there was no toilet seat in the bathroom? No lid, no seat. The shared bathrooms in the beach side of the "hotel" seemed quite dirty, dark, and only had hot water at select and very limited times. I never found any. The staff never entered our place once while we stayed there to bring anything, and every few days we brought our towels to the front desk to ask for new ones.

The staff were nice enough, even though they lied to us, and if you're really desperate this place won't kill you. Our hanging bed was cool, in a way, but I would have traded it for a non-gross mattress (I hid the other unexplained gross bare mattress that had been on the floor under our bed to get it out of sight). The caban was almost totally dark in the daytime.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unexpectedexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My brother and I looked for a rustic place in Tulum, which is a little more difficult than we thought it would be. Tulum is becoming a bit fancy and there are several “eco resorts and spas” in the area. We hoped for something secluded and off the beaten path. This path is very well worn and the hotels, cabanas, spas, whatever, are right next to one another for about 2-3 miles. Regarding Playa Condesa; there is little or no beach in front. It’s 95% rock, solid rock. You can access a sandy beach if you walk around the corner. The bathroom is shared and it’s super stinky and dirty, similar to a camp ground with no lights. The cabanas are open to the elements. Ours had a concrete floor and two beds. That’s it. I’m not sure what the cabanas are made of, probably bamboo, but you won’t want to stay here if the temperature drops below 80 degrees. It was about 70 and very windy during our stay. Bottom line, after a trip to the restaurant, we packed our stuff and left. Backpackers will probably love this place. It was a little too rustic for us.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ctoberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

At a glance the rooms look ok but under closer inspection the beds are made out of wooden crates and have old cheap mattresses with dirty looking bottoms and top sheets. It was also very expensive for what it was but cheap for the area (600 pesos a night). The beach view was good and it is close to the mayan ruins but I wouldn't go there again. We stayed for two nights and the room wasn't cleaned in between.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesHack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My wife and I found Cabanas Playa Condesa by walking down the road after seeing the Tulum ruins and asking every single hotel and cabana for a price and a peak. We settled on Cabanas Playa Condesa because it was the most economical and convenient for our needs.The showers and bathrooms are shared and clean with plenty of hot water.There is a small cafe which will cook any fish you might catch and is a great place to sit and enjoy a drink or coffee and watch the surf. A tiny store offers all the basics including beer.
The Cabanas themselves are simple,native and practical. Our king sized bed hung from the rafters on ropes and after a little getting used to the combination of the swaying bed and the surf right outside put us right to sleep.Our floor was concrete and swept everyday and clean linen was provided throughout our ten day stay.Electricity is only available from 1900 to 0700 as there are no power lines out to the beach and everything is renewable energy.
We felt very safe during our stay as Cabanas Playa Condesa is family owned and there was always someone around to help.Even overnight a father and son sat outside in the courtyard and watched over everything in the night.
Cabanas Playa Condesa is a happy place and that is why we will return.The owners Juan and Patricia and their family are friendly and lighthearted and help to make a vacation fun and light.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank zendograilseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Krisztián G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#13 of 99 in Tulum
601 reviews
0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rancho Tranquilo
Rancho Tranquilo
#66 of 99 in Tulum
130 reviews
0 mi away
Harmony Glamping and Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Quintana Roo National Park Campground & Hiking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Playa Condesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Playa Condesa

Address: Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Also Known As:
Cabanas Playa Condesa Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing