We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I guess RUSTIC describes it best”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Mambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Mambo
Ranked #22 of 80 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“I guess RUSTIC describes it best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I read the last 5 reviews before mine to see if people were having the same experience as me and it seems so. CHRISTIAN makes this place go, he's laid back, friendly, and willing to help out. I kept seeing the word rustic come up and yeah I guess that explains it best. My wife and I stayed in the beachfront cabana and we didn't have any issues. Toilet didn't flush great but in all these "eco" places there's something to compromise with. Included in your stay was breakfast and wifi (near the reception area). We laid in the hammocks to check emails and what not.

Things to note though, there was only one electrical outlet to charge electronics and you can't do it overnight because you are using a fan. Bikes are available for rent here. There's a mini mart attached which is convenient. Parking available.

The beach in Tulum is absolutely wonderful and relatively private. My wife and I were in Tulum only 2 months ago and fell in love with it so we went back for our anniversary. This time of year turtles were laying eggs and we got to see 3 in one night. Near by is La Mex-Ita restaurant which has the coolest staff in Tulum and the food is amazing. Only a two lot walk away and we hung out there almost every day.

Room Tip: Any of the cabanas would suffice my need here but the best ones are ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    55
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
44
157
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have recently stayed at Playa Mambo for 14 nights during June and we have a mix of feelings about this place. I have to say that most of the "bad" things mentioned by others are true, but also the "good" ones. I guess that at the end it depends on the expectations you have.
We were a family of four (children ages 6 an 5) and the location was just perfect. As it is low season, most of the days/nights we were the only guests at the hotel, so at the end we felt like at home. Christian was great, always willing to help and try to solve our issues / requests. Also Tommy (a new acquistion of Playa Mambo - the dog) was lovelly, Christian even let us walk him along the beach. We could not taste the barbacue some people have mentioned, but we were always looked after by Christian. The beach is beautiful and we even managed to see a turtle laying the eggs one night. We used the decking area on the beach as our dinner table, bringing food from the restaurants nearby (by the way, I really recommend the restaurant at Luv Hotel).
On the other hand, it is clear that this place needs an investment. We stayed at the Orange first for two nigths but because of the rain, the room and the bed got wet. We asked Christian to move to the Penthouse as it was empty. The change was well worth it as by far is the best room. The sunbeds need replacing, the decking area needs to be repaired, some other changes in the rooms (like having new and nice towels, or new taps) would make the place look much better. Christian looks after the place but no signs of the owner for 14 days (and Christian was on his own) which makes me wonder if they are really involved on running this place and interested on its condition.
As a conclusion, it worked out for us although it was maybe too rustic but again, it depends on someone's expectation. Therefore, if you do go, keep an open mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat-warrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the penthouse, and it is right on the beach. I loved the rustic almost tree house-like vibe that the place had...the first floor consists of a mini living room and an open bathroom (that seemed to be the theme everywhere we stayed in Mexico....no doors to the toilet) that has a modern feel. The sink holds pebbles and the all-rock(ish) shower is Flintstones-meets-Zen. Besides that and the 1st floor concrete, everything else is very minimal and wooden. The stairs, the floors upstairs, patio furniture, etc. all resemble bleached wood. The bed has a mosquito net, and the bedroom opens to a deck where you can view the incredible Tulum stars. We luckily did not get mosquito bites during the night (that net works!) Our favorite part of this place, besides the flat, calm beach, was sleeping with the doors open and hearing the waves. We had a bit of trouble opening up one of the wooden wooden shutters with a rusted latch, but we figured it out.

The beach....I think it was my favorite beach area in Tulum. You can go out forever and it stays shallow. The water was so clear. Play Mambo has umbrellas and lounge chairs that made it great to relax and hang out with friends. We definitely had at least one day were we parked ourselves out there all day!

Playa Mambo knew we had just gotten married. It was such a sweet surprise when we arrived to see the gifts of a bottle of cold champagne and roses waiting in our bedroom!! That was a nice personal touch!

Also, Christian, at the front desk, was wonderful in preparing our morning breakfasts, cleaning up our place, and offering advice for when I got an allergic reaction to a horsefly bite. He told us to go to the Red Cross (right when you're entering the Hotel Zone near the firehouse). We had no idea that was there, and if I hadn't gotten a shot for it, I probably would have been miserable the rest of the trip. Thank you, Christian! He also allowed us to cook in his kitchen when we caught fish one day. Super nice guy!

There is a play area for kids, with some toys provided, on the beach.

If rustic is your thing, check this place out. It won't break the bank.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

This place is exactly what you would imagine. There are no luxuries here but you should know that if you have even looked at the website. It is, however, one of the most relaxed places we have been too (and we have TRAVELED). The owner and manager are so nice, accommodating and friendly. The rooms are basic but the beach and sunbeds make up for it. We had a little mouse running around the room one night and even this could not dampen our experience. We were in the Penthouse room for 21 days and the view from bed was just breathtaking every morning and evening. There are plenty of places to eat around so no dining on site is no problem, plus every once in a while they do a BBQ. It's just great!!

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Penthouse...breathtaking views and so much space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was a very nice place for our vacation for many reasons. The staff, Christian and Richi, were always available and helpful (Thank you!!). They gave us tips on local places to eat and go and the breakfast they prepared every morning was also just right. We stayed in the Chocolate cabana and the Orange cabana, both of which were very comfortable. The Orange cabana directly faces the beach and has a porch with chairs where we spent much time relaxing and reading. Our 5 yo son loved to play in the loft. The beach at Playa Mambo is absolutely beautiful and easy to enjoy...no rocks or sea grass, just soft white sand.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We loved it at Playa Mambo, The place is rustic and offers you a nice cabana with a complete natural atmosphere. The Cabanas are made from natural sources and give you a warm feeling. The beach is incredible and the Playa Mambo staff is always there to help out and make you feel at home far away from home. This place is to relax, read a book and enjoy what nature has to offer. If you are a city hotel lover, then do not come to the Playa Mambo Tulum Area, but if you like Yoga return to your spiritual you and reunite with nature, this is your place, and we LOVED it.
http://playamambo.com

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvb236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

nice hotel ith warming people. The price is still quite high for what you get, even if it is reasonnable considering the other small cottages on the same beach.

The hotel is small with only 5 huts all with hot water. We had the Chocolate cottage which is not on beach front (but close enought).

A bit too neutral while a little 'je-ne-sais-quoi' could make this hotel great. Having said that, still a good relax place in which I had a great moment. Playamambo is still a good compromise on the Tulum beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marseillais-d-Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.9 mi away
Playa Canek Boutique Eco Hotel
0.0 mi away
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
#42 of 119 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tita Tulum Hotel Ecologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Agua Hotel Tulum
Agua Hotel Tulum
#47 of 80 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
5.0 mi away
Alma Tulum Hotel Boutique
4.7 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 119 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mambo

Property: Playa Mambo
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Playa Mambo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Playa Mambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Mambo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing