We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Paradise!”
Review of Playa Mambo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Mambo
Ranked #22 of 89 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My girlfriend and I just spend a couple of days at Playa Mambo in Tulum and we had a great time! The hotel is very nice! We changed to Playa Mambo from another hotel and therefore had to switch to another cabana after 2 days. Both of them where at the beach-front. The new owners have done a lot of renovation work there during the last months as far as we heard so some of the older comments might be outdated.

The beach at the hotel is wonderful, we could even observe several turtles depositing their eggs on the beach at night-time.

Pros:
- small and quiet hotel
- great beach
- nice, clean and simple but still stylish cabanas
- good base to go diving into cenotes and the sea
- great staff (especially house-keeper "Augustin" who explained us lots of things about turtles and live in Mexico - however I guess you need to be able to speak Spanish if you want to benefit from this ;-)
- moderate pricing compared to other hotels in the surrounding
- queen-size beds with good mattresse

Areas to improve:
- provision of drinking water in the rooms would be nice (however we simply bought a 25 liter tank in the shop next door so this issue can easily be sorted out)

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones at the beach front. Cabanas at the back side close to the street side co...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ML_1981-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Playa Mambo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed there in January 2013 for about 4 nights. We made a last minute booking and went to pay it couple of days earlyer (as we stayed near). They had a little mess with our reservation, weak wifi signal and confusion when we asked receip from payment - but they didn´t seem to be concerned about that at all so we stayed really calmed also (though it was a high season and if they wouldn´t have had room for us we would have to sleep on the beach:D). This incident characterizes our hole stay, but in the most positive meaning - easy and carefree (I don´t even remember that we ever locked the door of our cabana, though we were riding around by bikes a hole day sometimes...). We got their last and simplest cabana, it was really authentic and old but on the other hand very lovely and romantic (also very clean) so we just fell in love with it. It´s a small family business and the parents doesn´t speak the best english, but if you have any more sophisticated questions their (about eleven years old) son knows answers for everything - in english (they explained that he was the only family member who had learned it), and it was really cute and funny. He was like a small boss there. The beach in front of the cabanas is also really nice (like in the whole tulum), but compared the bigger hotel beaches it was just soo quiet (but if you wanted to have some more crowd, music or drinks from the bar - you could just walk along the beach line couple of minutes). And one more thing what I can´t leave for myself - they offer the best self-made tomato marmelade for breakfast:)
Before that we had stayed in a more modern and luxurious Coco Tulum, which was also absolutely adorable, but now, thinking back about that place - my heart belongs them:)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed here in July of 2012 and then revisited last month since we liked this area so much. I emailed them ahead of time and was informed they had done some renovations since last I was there so I was excited to see the changes. The rooms were def nicer than the last time we were there and the landscaping had changed slightly but was still beautiful. My wife and I love this place because its small and located between two nearly vacant lots, meaning less people. They have bikes to rent and there's a convenience store connected to the front desk. Also there are plenty of restaurants and things to do within walking distance. If you want a mellow rustic cabana that places your feet in the sand the second you step out the door then this is your place. Sit back relax and enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelershane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in the Ochre cabana for 7 nights. It was very large and had lots of space to keep our clothes, etc. A chair in the room would be a nice addition. The bed was pretty comfortable but the pillows were rather small and flat. There was no drinking water in the room but when asked, they did say they would fill our water bottles daily. We got a very large bottle of water in town for a couple dollars and that lasted us for the entire week. There aren't beach towels in the rooms either but they will give you another bath towel if you ask. The staff was very nice and accommodating. They spoke very little English and we don't speak Spanish but we always figured things out. The beach was beautiful. There were 6 of us and there was always enough beach chairs. And the deck on the beach was a great place for breakfast or evening card games. We also never had issue with the WIFI, it even worked in our cabana because we were close to dining area.

Playa Mambo is simple place that doesn't many frills. But it is a great value and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinydogtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Playa Mambo. We had previously stayed here two years ago as a couple. This year we brought our two children, 13 and 16. We were in the verde cabana. They set up a comfortable cot for our 13 year old and our 16 year old stayed in the loft. There was plenty of room in the cabana for all of us and our things.
Andrea and the whole staff were very accommodating. We had wonderful breakfasts, pizza, and a BBQ one night. The cabana and the whole property was clean and beautiful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Playa Mambo is quiet, peaceful and cozy. Our cabana (Chocolate) was roomy and comfortable and the beach was beautiful and private. The staff was attentive and friendly. The cost was quite reasonable. The only thing that would have made it better was drinking water. None was provided so we purchased a large jug at the chedraui that lasted the week. (The website indicates that Chocolate has a partial ocean view, but you can't actually see the ocean. However you can hear it and feel the ocean breeze.)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimMc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Bottom line is, you walk out of your cabana and toes are in the sand...you're on Tulum beach, so life is good! The eight cabanas are simple and comfortable enough, but not luxurious in any way. We stayed in both Fuschia and Ochre, and while Ochre was the cheapest (closest to the parking and farthest from the beach), the room was more comfortable than Fuchsia. The showers in both were pretty poor (my husband said it was like someone had poked holes in the top of a tin can, and that's how the water dribbled out), but they got the job done. The included daily continental breakfast included a rotating plate of fresh tropical fruit (great), accompanied by a dense pastry which had the slightly bitter flavor of baking soda (not very tasty). Coffee was average quality drip. Each morning there was some strawberry jam and butter to accompany the pastry. There was also a more extensive menu with eggs etc, for extra charge. The owners were very friendly, but spoke almost zero English. This was a surprise considering that English is spoken almost everywhere through the Mayan Riviera. Wifi was only available near the reception area, and on most days worked. Not highly reliable though, in case you're trying to keep in touch with people back home.

Walking the Tulum Beach was a daily routine, and in doing so we could see that all of the cabana resorts were much better set up for enjoying the beach. All had comfortable looking beach chairs, and many had sun and wind protection. In this department Playa Mambo was sorely lacking and really showed its lack of amenities - the beach chairs were old and heavy, with peeling paint and thin cushions. There also were not enough to allow for two people per eight cabanas, assuming all were full and everyone wanted to lay out on the beach. There were two palapa 'umbrellas' for shade, but only if you got a chair early enough. And speaking of covering a chair, don't forget a sarong or a cheap beach towel, as none were included with the cabanas.

We found Tulum kind of 'awkward' in that the beach is such a long way from the pueblo. Without a rental car (or scooter) to go in to town to eat, one is at the mercy of the much more expensive restaurants along the beach road. Another option would be to take taxis, which would also be expensive if done daily. Playa Mambo is a looong way along the beach road, and driving in took about fifteen minutes each way. Still, staying along the beach is, IMO, the way to go - the opposite predicament would arise if one were to stay in the pueblo and wish to go to the beach for even part of each day. Which brings us back to walking out of your cabana and toes are in the sand - on this count Playa Mambo delivered!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisandkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
3.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#21 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
Playa Mambo Eco Cabanas
#46 of 130 in Tulum
31 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Canek Boutique Eco Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Dune Boutique Hotel in Tulum
4.5 mi away
Casa Ganesh Tulum
Casa Ganesh Tulum
#14 of 89 in Tulum
45 reviews
5.0 mi away
Casa Violeta
Casa Violeta
#30 of 89 in Tulum
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Mambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Mambo

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £118 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Mambo 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Playa Mambo Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing