We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Ranked #44 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Great place for low cost travelers. Be sure to pay attention to your booking they write down. As long as you keep a level head and realize it's a cheap hostel it's a chill place. Big kitchen, fridge access, cheap bikes to rent (50 pesos with 50 peso deposit). I camped on the 3rd floor all by myself, it's under construction so there were no rooms up there. If you want a 5 star hotel I wouldn't recommend this place. If you want a low key cheap place to stay then it's your ticket.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

An horrible hostal:
- dirty: toilets are just DISGUSTING (cokroaches enjoying their lunch in a bin full of defection, dirty ustensils in the kitchen, broken toilets whith a mountain of defection Never fixed)
-unfriendly: staff Never smiling with clients, except with single women, drunk must Of the time, the only thing they tell you is: "you must pay the next night"
-the breakfast: is here only to influence you to stay at this place: in reallity, you have to wait till they would like to do it. So instead Of 8h30, can be at 10h30. One time, the preparation was ready for the "crepes" and as the guy was sitting in front of his computer and it was 9h30, a client cooked the crepes...
The worst hostel i have ever had. They just don't care of you, they only care money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiva974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Nicely done out but in need of a bit of upkeep. The rooms were ok. The staff were a bit too laid back, I.e not very helpful. There is a free breakfast but it's not mentioned until you ask. Free bikes were good. I think there are better options for the money in Tulum

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seanbish1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I really don't know how to rate this place - some things are great, others horrible. I'll just list good and bad points:

+ This is big hostel, meaning there's room almost always: we arrived 30.12 and got a room
+ double rooms are nice - we love the design
+ good value - we paid 350 pesos for double room
+ bathrooms looks really nice (when they are clean)
+ there is an option to camp on the 2nd floor for the penny pinchers

- staff seems to have mood swings: sometimes helpful, other times doesn't want to talk (I once asked the guy at front desk about sth; he communicated WITH SIGNS)
- a lot of drugs here: besides some potheads among guests, staff seems to be stoned half the time
- cleanness is a an issue - the cleaner seems to be coming once a day, and for a hostel of this size, it's clearly not enough. Drains in the bathrooms were clogged most of the time.

All in all, this hostel could be really really nice, but staff has to change.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soturimimmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Well we stayed here after new year, it was Roof over our heads! The staff were rude and unhelpful! There was only one cleaner who obviously couldn't do everything and so didn't which meant the cleanliness of the place was terrible. You didn't dare open the fridge as the smell was so horrific. So we just ended up not putting stuff in the fridge as others who did got... Well their food didn't taste the same after! The only positive thing was they had bikes to rent which were cheaper than in town! When we initially were given our room the sheets weren't clean which they quickly dealt with but we didn't feel they were clean and had two very uncomfortable nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Hostel with potential but unfortunately the owner doesnt care about his customers. wifi not working, kitchen is under-equipped (not enough cups for all guests etc), very noisy at night and at the moment they repair the roof so loud in the early morning as well. i would not stay here again.

Room Tip: try weary traveler hostel or chalupa hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanleyGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived at Tulum at 4 in the morning after a very long bus ride from Belize, and a friendly taxi whom we asked to get us to a hostel brought us to Casa Del Sol. The owner was half asleep when the driver rang the bell but we were welcomed in and given a room for the rest of the night. (we got a bit of a shock when entering the door and seeing the horse standing there in the dark)
The next morning we chatted with the owner a bit, and decided to stay for two more nights - the price wasn't high and the room was on the minimal side, but we didn't need much.
The hostel itself offers dorms, private rooms, Wifi and a free for all internet computer, hot water showers (shared), very friendly staff - and we even had a hammock in our room.
We also had a unique breakfast for every day we stayed at the hostel - Most of them were ok+.
Other services are also offered for money - Towels and Bike renting and also water bottle filling.
All in all it's a very friendly place, and it is rather cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#11 of 136 in Tulum
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#25 of 136 in Tulum
114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lucky Traveler Hostel
Lucky Traveler Hostel
#35 of 136 in Tulum
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 136 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#69 of 136 in Tulum
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quintana Roots Hostel
Quintana Roots Hostel
#8 of 136 in Tulum
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing