We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love with Carlos”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Ranked #54 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Walkerville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We fell in love with Carlos”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Best thing about this place is the family who are perfect hosts. Carlos is the boss and he is a very laid back, friendly and lovely fellow.
Great value rooms. Great social area. We are very happy we chose Casa Del Sol. We usually stay mid range price rooms but decided to go to a hostel for some social interaction - we found plenty!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H00HAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    36
    32
    21
    21
See reviews for
4
62
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a private cabana, it was 300/night and 50 key deposit (best value we found).

The place has free breakfast (crepe w banana + cafe), wifi, hot showers, huge stocked kitchen, fridge, cheap bike rental (50/day) and a jacuzzi. Our cabana was authentic but quite basic with only a bed and fan. The architecture at the hostel is impressive, very cool vibe.

Alberto was running the place when we were there, very nice guy. Be aware that you can catch a collectivo from the main road to the ruins for not much (they dont tell you that) or a bus from The Weary Traveller at 9am for 15 pesos return.

Only issue with the place was the location, a little further than the rest. But its not that bad only 10 mins walk from bus terminal. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1NG3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very nice clean hostel, staff where very helpful found cheapest and easiest was to get around to cenotes and cheap dive shop! Their not as fare out as everyone makes it, 3min walk. Hire bike and snorkel equipment was helpful too, breakfast was average but still ok. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Check prices when I booked an extra night got it 25pecos cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place was fabulous, great kitchen, good Room, comfortable beds. The manager was so lovely and his kid super gorgeous, you could hire bikes for really cheap and ride all around town. A great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifenadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Always nice to get breakfast in the morning. Location wise it is a bit further than other places. The rooms are pretty clean, the beds are pretty comfortable, there is internet and a kitchen you can use... all good things. The manager is nice and helpful as well. They rent bikes at the best price in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelhorseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantes-la-Jolie, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Nice place, nice kitchen, quiet in a middle of a little oasis, you can rent bikes and glasses to snorkelling but...
If you meet the manager in the evening, he might be drunk...
But it's not the the worst. The next day, he can runs after you to tell you to cut the light, to stop your blower because it's his electricity.
Prices are expensive regarding to the delivery. There is no swimming pool but a little basin clean if you are lucky.
You should find another place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToniosuperGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was staying at a different hostel in Tulum and was ready to leave, but stayed an extra night because I was invited to a drum circle on the beach. As a result, I had no place to go except my friend's hostel at 1:00am. I came in and slept on the 4th floor roof/open air area. The next morning, I met the manager who charged me far less than he could have. The sleeping there was NOT comfortable, but I was tired and the breakfast was tasty (crepe with bananas...), though small. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 462David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#83 of 96 in Tulum
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 96 in Tulum
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#6 of 119 in Tulum
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#15 of 119 in Tulum
169 reviews
1.0 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#21 of 119 in Tulum
111 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#25 of 119 in Tulum
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 119 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing