We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Ranked #60 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I chose this hostel because I arrived late at night and it was close to the bus station. The brochure at the bus station showed a nice looking pace and it promised 5% discount on prices with other services such as breakfast etc.
I was advised the discount did not apply because it was the low season and the price was already reduced (this should be written on the flyer). The dorm was dark and dirty and I was not enitirely sure the sheets were clean. There was a cockroach crawling over another guest's water bottle and the room stank. The whole place stank. The bathrooms weren't much better. The owner was nice enough but something needs to be done about the cleanliness issue. There is no air-con either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    31
    21
    21
See reviews for
4
61
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great informative and friendly hosts who were willing to go the extra mile for customers. (Desperately needed to do laundry last minute and even though they don't provide this service, they made an exception for us and for a very humble fee.) Very clean rooms and have excellent breakfast (included). Cheap rental for snorkels and bikes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walkerville, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Best thing about this place is the family who are perfect hosts. Carlos is the boss and he is a very laid back, friendly and lovely fellow.
Great value rooms. Great social area. We are very happy we chose Casa Del Sol. We usually stay mid range price rooms but decided to go to a hostel for some social interaction - we found plenty!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H00HAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a private cabana, it was 300/night and 50 key deposit (best value we found).

The place has free breakfast (crepe w banana + cafe), wifi, hot showers, huge stocked kitchen, fridge, cheap bike rental (50/day) and a jacuzzi. Our cabana was authentic but quite basic with only a bed and fan. The architecture at the hostel is impressive, very cool vibe.

Alberto was running the place when we were there, very nice guy. Be aware that you can catch a collectivo from the main road to the ruins for not much (they dont tell you that) or a bus from The Weary Traveller at 9am for 15 pesos return.

Only issue with the place was the location, a little further than the rest. But its not that bad only 10 mins walk from bus terminal. We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1NG3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Very nice clean hostel, staff where very helpful found cheapest and easiest was to get around to cenotes and cheap dive shop! Their not as fare out as everyone makes it, 3min walk. Hire bike and snorkel equipment was helpful too, breakfast was average but still ok. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Check prices when I booked an extra night got it 25pecos cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
244 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This place was fabulous, great kitchen, good Room, comfortable beds. The manager was so lovely and his kid super gorgeous, you could hire bikes for really cheap and ride all around town. A great place to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifenadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Always nice to get breakfast in the morning. Location wise it is a bit further than other places. The rooms are pretty clean, the beds are pretty comfortable, there is internet and a kitchen you can use... all good things. The manager is nice and helpful as well. They rent bikes at the best price in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelhorseNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#79 of 95 in Tulum
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 116 in Tulum
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 116 in Tulum
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#23 of 116 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#28 of 116 in Tulum
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing