We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good like it seems”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Ranked #60 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Urbino, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“not so good like it seems”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we have choose this hostel for its price with breakfast and because is near to the bus station. We have find a room where it rain inside and full of mosquitos, dirty comunal areas (cat sleep in the pots and in every corner you can find some free trash), after the breakfast you need to eat again beacouse breakfast is poor and you could eat for 3 days some eggs and you have to pay everything more. i'm feelling just a little bit teasing. We phoned 2 minutes by hostel's phone and we have paid like buy a public telephon card and we have paid our shower in the check out day aswell. I don't now how is the rest of mexico but in Italy people that work with turists don't do that.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187797Ketty89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    31
    21
    21
See reviews for
4
61
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We met a lot a persons there, it was cool for that.

Our room was OK.

The ktichen was clean. And the breakfast made by the owner is good with eggs and salsa!!

It is a good location, it is calm in the night.

We enjoyed the bike to rent! To go to the beach or to the ruins, it is perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank taylor11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived late at night, and most of the beach hostels were fully booked. A private room (hut) for two persons was 300$ pesos, which is OK (although it was the most expensive stay in our Mexico-Belize trip, maybe Tulum is a bit more pricey than other locations). Rooms are very basic, but we were surprised that during the heavy rainfall at night, almost no water came through the roof (made of palmtree leaves, as most of the huts in Mexico). And yes, there are cockroaches, but we saw them everywhere in Tulum (the town). The owner made banana pancakes for breakfast, good atmoshpere during the evening/morning as most of the visitors were backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Private room so dump the bed was wet. The private bathroom definitelly needs maintenance. As a private room it wasn't cheaper than any hoter hotel room we stayed during our travels. The place has great potential with some effort but I wouldn't go back there. Shame

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Moved here for a few nights after the Weary Traveller hostel closed down after our first night and it turned out to be much better. Decent breakfast. Bikes available to rent for the cycle to the beach. Our room was big and decent value. Good spot for meeting other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmasiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I chose this hostel because I arrived late at night and it was close to the bus station. The brochure at the bus station showed a nice looking pace and it promised 5% discount on prices with other services such as breakfast etc.
I was advised the discount did not apply because it was the low season and the price was already reduced (this should be written on the flyer). The dorm was dark and dirty and I was not enitirely sure the sheets were clean. There was a cockroach crawling over another guest's water bottle and the room stank. The whole place stank. The bathrooms weren't much better. The owner was nice enough but something needs to be done about the cleanliness issue. There is no air-con either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Great informative and friendly hosts who were willing to go the extra mile for customers. (Desperately needed to do laundry last minute and even though they don't provide this service, they made an exception for us and for a very humble fee.) Very clean rooms and have excellent breakfast (included). Cheap rental for snorkels and bikes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBasilio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#79 of 95 in Tulum
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#6 of 116 in Tulum
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#17 of 116 in Tulum
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#22 of 116 in Tulum
110 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
La Casona Hotel & Hostel
#29 of 116 in Tulum
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Property: Casa del Sol
Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing