We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”
Review of Casa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa del Sol
Ranked #65 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 7 February 2014

It's easy to wind up in this hostel if you don't have much prior knowledge as far as lodging goes in Tulum. There are many signs leading you here once you exit the bus station - I imagine this is how everyone arrives. The property has potential, but I found it to be very dark, both inside the dorm room and in the common area. The dorm room I stayed in was right off the common area as well, which meant little privacy or quiet.
I rented a bike one day and it was of a good quality. In the morning there were tamales for breakfast which we had seen being made the previous night but the family who works (and lives?) there, and that was a nice treat. However, there is no real warmth or identity to the place, and I checked out after one night to seek lodging elsewhere.
I have stayed in other hostels where towels are lent for free and kitchens have common items like salt, oil, vinegar available for guest (who wants to constantly buy/travel with that stuff?). These things were not openly available.
There are places to hang wet clothes, but it is not really clear where you are supposed to wash clothes, if you're looking to do that.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpottieOttie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

There is no sound isolation between the common area and the rooms. There are either no quite hours or no one in the reception is trying to apply it. I had a terrible sleep the night I stayed. I don't mind the conditions of the bathrooms but I can see that others may find them unclean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

It depends what you're looking for. I just met up with my partner so we weren't looking for a party just inexpensive accommodation with other young travelers. They have loud music blaring till past 1am making it hard to sleep, and the house next door had loud music before 8 am.
The guests tend to hang out in the hostel in the evening, making it good if u want to socialize ...bad if u want to sleep.
You can't get any local travel advice from the staff if you don't speak Spanish.
Also we had a small balcony but the staff was hanging laundry from it the entire time since it was near the laundry room.
We checked out an hour late so they kept the key deposit.
Don't get me wrong, this place is fine depending on what ur looking for (the breakfast is decent), if you're traveling as a couple I wouldn't recommend it since u can get a hotel room with private bath for a similar price.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nxtadventure88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we have choose this hostel for its price with breakfast and because is near to the bus station. We have find a room where it rain inside and full of mosquitos, dirty comunal areas (cat sleep in the pots and in every corner you can find some free trash), after the breakfast you need to eat again beacouse breakfast is poor and you could eat for 3 days some eggs and you have to pay everything more. i'm feelling just a little bit teasing. We phoned 2 minutes by hostel's phone and we have paid like buy a public telephon card and we have paid our shower in the check out day aswell. I don't now how is the rest of mexico but in Italy people that work with turists don't do that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187797Ketty89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We met a lot a persons there, it was cool for that.

Our room was OK.

The ktichen was clean. And the breakfast made by the owner is good with eggs and salsa!!

It is a good location, it is calm in the night.

We enjoyed the bike to rent! To go to the beach or to the ruins, it is perfect.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank taylor11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Arrived late at night, and most of the beach hostels were fully booked. A private room (hut) for two persons was 300$ pesos, which is OK (although it was the most expensive stay in our Mexico-Belize trip, maybe Tulum is a bit more pricey than other locations). Rooms are very basic, but we were surprised that during the heavy rainfall at night, almost no water came through the roof (made of palmtree leaves, as most of the huts in Mexico). And yes, there are cockroaches, but we saw them everywhere in Tulum (the town). The owner made banana pancakes for breakfast, good atmoshpere during the evening/morning as most of the visitors were backpackers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Private room so dump the bed was wet. The private bathroom definitelly needs maintenance. As a private room it wasn't cheaper than any hoter hotel room we stayed during our travels. The place has great potential with some effort but I wouldn't go back there. Shame

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#85 of 98 in Tulum
108 reviews
4.8 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.4 mi away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 133 in Tulum
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
TuboTulum Hostel
TuboTulum Hostel
#22 of 133 in Tulum
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#14 of 133 in Tulum
182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Che Babel
Hostel Che Babel
#81 of 133 in Tulum
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Sol

Address: No. 815 Polar Pte | Entre Saturno y Luna Nte., Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 133 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £11 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly Constructed, less than a year ago, in a quiet neighborhood only a block off of Tulum Ave. this 58 bed plus hammock and tent Hostel has everything from Private Rooms with a Private bath and kitchenette (no appliances) to a place rooftop terrace to hang a hammock or pitch a tent on the roof of or dorms. Old Mexican-Mayan Charm. We even have a Mayan Te Mascal Temple in the garden. Cabanas are cool and Dorms have solid wood bunks with thick mattresses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo so you can book your Casa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Sol Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing