We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, owners not too helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Ranked #77 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overpriced, owners not too helpful”
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed in December so maybe that's why it was overpriced and poor value for money. Wouldn't want to stay in summer months- the rooms have poor ventilation and are extremely hot with loud aircon that doesn't work too well.
Breakfast not included. I didn't know they do a cooked breakfast for a price as I wasn't told this (or anything, such as where it get water to drink) when I arrived.
If going to Tulum get accomodation at the beach not in town. It's a short taxi away but why bother? The town is boring, I'd rather have woken up to the beach on my doorstep.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeecydeLaFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    44
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
100
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

What a great surprise! The owners, Mira and Jorge, are really lovely warm people, they welcomed us in the greatest way.
If you, as us, don't like - actually we hated - Cancun/Playa dC American Mexi-Disneyland (luxury, fake Mexico, big hotels, villages and condos, mass tourism, fake smiles, americanized food, crowded and loud beaches, organized packages and tours for everything etc etc ...), Tulum is the place to be and this small family hotel is the place to be in Tulum.
Four days in this cute hotel and their lovely owners definitely saved our vacation and made us feel so well after the northern area disenchantment.
We indeed loved the place - in a real Mexican street - the rooms are simple but furnished with character and colors ... but by far the best attraction are the owners Mira and Jorge: they in particular treated us as their friends, they gave us everyday suggestions on what to do around, on the spots around they do like and they turned what initially seemed a lousy vacation start-up into really a great vacation!
We hope that Tulum, with people as them, will be able to resist to the attempts, already unfortunately visible, of Tourism Industry to destroy and commercialize also this beautiful place (so hurry up guys, go there until possible)... and that the wonderful places and people we met will stay there for the future generation intact.
Thanks again Mira and Jorge!!
Maurizio & Luana

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurizio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed here for one night as we took a detour away from Cancun and I must say we chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews. We weren't disappointed!

From the outside you could never guess what a gem was hidden off the dusty beaten road. Upon arrival we were greeted by Miroslava who was extremely welcoming with an infectiously wicked laugh! :-)

We were led through the cosy courtyard of timeless wrought iron chairs and tables and up the spiral wooden steps to the wooden terrace.

The thatched roof in the middle of the square tearrace made along with a lush green canopy and individual hammocks gently swinging in the soft breeze made it feel like we'd stepped into an oasis of spa-like calm.

Our room was equally tranquil, decorated in soft teracotta hues and a soft light coming from the charming hanging wooden lights. Authentic Mexican throws on the beds threw a splash of colour in the otherwise serene room whilst traditional artifacts were cleverly arranged around.

There was clan water in a cooler that you can help yourself with using the authentic pottery cups - a bonus.

Main road a 2min walk away, taxis to the beach 60 pesos.

Exceptionally clean, I cannot recommend enough this little hidden haven of paradise.

Room Tip: We had a peek in the other room as they were being turned out - the rooms directly opposite the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkerbelle1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Jorge and his wife are very lovely people. We were greeted by our first name and by his super friendly terrier dog. Although we only stayed one day with them it felt like a longer time. They had a very unique hotel for the Tulum area, full of vegetation and relaxed atmosphere. Our room was very clean and spacious, with functioning AC/internet (a must for us). Also I was feeling a bit of stomach indigestion and luckily Jorge had the solution. Jorge also provided great insight on low cost adventures as well as places to eat. He was kind enough to let us leave our luggage without any worries while we went to the ruins and enjoyed the beautiful playas of Tulum. For the price we paid and the amenities we received, its one of the best bargains in Quintana Roo, especially when you compare Tulum to the commercialized and tourist infested Playa del Carmen and Cancun. Overall if we are ever back in Tulum, we would definitely stay in Lo Nuestro Petit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I was in the suite as the other rooms were booked. It was a big beautiful room, I loved the big bath tub in the room and the decor was very nice. The owners were amazingly helpful and super nice!!! :) they had lots of great tips for us to enjoy authentic Mexico.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel out of an act of last minute desperation. Our original place was a cabana on the beach but it was disgusting and hot and we decided to venture into the pueblo for a hotel with better accommodations and A/C. We ended up here. This hotel is owned by a couple: the man is mexican and the woman is a french ex-pat but who has been living in Mexico for 25 years. The couple was nice and had excellent information for things to do in Tulum and surrounding area. We appreciated their recommendations for restaurants, places to sight-see and snorkel. The woman was animated and friendly and passionate about all things "authentic" in Mexico. She was not shy about expressing her distaste for commercial or touristy things. Her husband was more quiet, but usually friendly...except when I asked him about the status of my laundry (which I had to pay $5 for 1 small load)...he snapped at me very rudely. This bothered me because I am a very easy going, quiet, and respectful guest and he acted like me asking him about my laundry nearly 5 hours after I gave it to him was such an inconvenience to him. When you're staying at this hotel, you almost feel like you're staying in someone's house. The owners live in the hotel and you feel sometimes like you're tip-toeing around them. When we would leave the hotel in the morning a few times we forgot something in the room and turned around and went back, and the owners would already be in our room to clean it.....we'd have literally been gone 2 minutes. Felt awkward to see them in your room literally 2 minutes after you've vacated it. Nonetheless, I always felt safe here, never felt like they were looking through my stuff, and never felt like my things would go missing. They are truly passionate about their business and making your stay pleasant. I just think a lot of things get lost in translation and cultures are different...which can be confusing and frustrating on both sides.
As far as the rooms are concerned: the beds are comfortable, the sheets were clean and unstained, the a/c was cold, shower and toilet were always cleaned every day. The decorations were simple and standard...but who really comes to Mexico to sit in a hotel? I was simply looking for a comfortable, clean, cool places to sleep. And that's exactly what I found. I would stay here again and I would recommend it to future travelers.

Room Tip: Choose upstairs if you can: owners live on the bottom floor and you'll have more privacy. Walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were very satisfied with this hotel! It was exactly what we were looking for! My husband and I vacationed in Tulum for 5 days and our hosts at the hotel helped to make our vacation even more excellent!
The husband and wife that own the hotel are very devoted to the area and have lots of great tips about ways to enjoy Tulum and the surrounding area without getting sucked in to tourist traps and spending a lot of money. They gave us a lot of tips about places to go and every recommendation was spot on! We wanted to see the famous sights as well as the less famous ones without involving tourist-geared-tours on buses full of hawaiian-shirt-clad white people, and that is exactly what we got. Our host gave us maps and directions, and also rented us snorkels at a price much cheaper that what is charged at the beach. (But bringing your own snorkel might be even cheaper!) We had a great experience with them, but it probably did help that we both speak Spanish, and had similar ideas as the hosts about how to enjoy a vacation.
Our room was simple but charming, and comfortable. The hotel had a pretty court yard and was peaceful. It's not ritzy and is located on a non-descript side street, but is very close to the square and to the center of Tulum. And as a bonus, there was an AMAZING taco stand just down the street on the way to the main drag through town. It was a perfect breakfast spot on our way out every morning!
Tulum is a great town to visit and Lo Nuestro is a great base for your exploration!

Room Tip: We were in a room that didn't have a jacuzzi tub, which was fine for us. Yes, you have to squee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinoagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#82 of 95 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#79 of 95 in Tulum
115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#73 of 95 in Tulum
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#80 of 95 in Tulum
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nadet Suite Tulum
Hotel Nadet Suite Tulum
#83 of 95 in Tulum
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel

Property: Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Address: Osiris sur mz 42 lote 2, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial hotel, in Mexican style with Mayan hand-made and antiques decorations and furniture. Rooms with jacuzzi, terraces, balconies, garden with space to rest in hammock or chaise lounge, and also there is patio where you can have a breakfast or at dusk cocktail. Perfect hotel for both adult and just married people. Free internet access for hotel's visitors. Furthermore there is a laundry for comfort of the customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lo Nuestro Petit Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing