We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in the Tulum Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best hotel in the Tulum Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel super well located, with Mexican charm, lovely hostess, Ms Mirka! Super clean, large welcoming rooms, arranged with style. Hotel is located close to the bus station and Tulum centre, from where it is easy to move around. Highly recommended! We had lovely stay there! Dziekujemy Pani Mirko!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgathaPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    44
    16
    11
    10
See reviews for
16
100
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Personal is very unkind.expecially the lady.she is awful..it seems she is doing you a favour...this made the all staying very unconfortable. Stay away from this place, there are so many different places to stay there

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elieli0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very friendly on arrival.
Booked 2 nights but decided to cut short to one night after booking online.
To say this was difficult was an understatement!
Room good size, with ensuite.
Taxi to beach and ruins.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at Lo Nuestro when we visited Mexico in March. He and I enjoyed our stay; the proprietors were excellent.

Our room, though simple, provided great comfort and was a steal. The hotel is very well kept and the room was extremely clean. Although we had a small leak in our sink while there, Jorge made sure to take care of it right away! We only wanted to let the owners know so that they did not have troubles down the road. Still, Jorge made sure to fix the leak within one day.

There is a beautiful courtyard where you can sit out and have breakfast for a very nominal fee. The coffee is excellent.

The location of this hotel is within walking distance to the downtown area. The downside is that it isn't close to the beach. However, if you like biking, it is very inexpensive to rent bikes (my partner and I did just that!!) and you can get to the beach in no time. Also, taxi rates are inexpensive and readily available.

I've seen many reviews of this hotel and I think that the owners are a bit misunderstood. They are a very intelligent couple who hold strong personal beliefs on "outsiders." If you are deterred by debates and individuals who are biased against excess, then you may not have a good stay here. However, if you are interested in the world, people and do not find yourself looking for extreme glamor and pampering, you'll love this space... it is for you. If you're looking for a resort removed from Mexico and what Tulum has to offer then you'll be at home here.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Laredo, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

If you're interested in being based downtown, this is a quiet, if a little overpriced, option. It's easy to a take a taxi to the beach so I preferred being closer to more restaurants and nightlife. It is a small family owned hotel and the owners are a little fussy. They keep the gate locked and sometimes aren't there to open it, they have a long spiel when you get to your room about what to do and not do. Can't flush toilet paper. Hammocks ont he balcony were a nice touch. Rooms are very simple. Bathroom mirror was the size of a salad plate.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony with a hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Clean room, but strange layout, with an open solution to the bathroom which was not too convenient. AC was making a lot of noise. We were greeted by the couple who owns it when we arrived in the afternoon. They had been drinking, and the woman (which never presented herself with her name) could hardly stay straight. She was constantly repeating whatever we said. It was quite bizarre. But the situation got even more awkward when we asked about their laundry service. The woman got very mad, for no reason, giving us a lecture on the tropical climate, and that we could not wash our clothes in the room - which was not what we wanted anyway. The next day we wanted to order their breakfast. When asking what was included in the "mexican breakast" the woman gets bothered, leans on a table, sighs, and asks us "how many times have you been in Mexico?". We didn't want another lecture so we decide to have breakfast elsewere as the atmosphere was not very pleasant, and we didn't feel very welcome. The man was quite helpful and freindly though. But we felt like we were intruding their space when entering and leaving the hotel, which was not a good feeling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Snowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

I booked 3 nights at Lo Nuestro with a friend of mine in January 2013. In terms of cleanliness, all is good. The room was also very cute. The mattress was a little hard but nothing to prevent me from having a good night of sleep. Location is good for Tulum centro. Note that the bathroom walls don't go all the way to the roof so you will hear the other person if you share a room... not sure if it's like that in all rooms. Where I was disapointed was with the service I received from the owner (the woman, not Jorge).

On the first night we were there, I washed my delicates by hand in the sink (i think its pretty normal to do that, but maybe I'm the weirdo here). I was hopping to give the rest of my laundry to the owner the morning after since they offer the laundry service.

When I got out of my room in the morning to get a coffee, the owner started to lecture me about the fact that I had done some laundry (delicates) in my room. (She had seen them drying on my balcony). At first I almost thought it was a joke, but she continued on saying "i seemed like such a nice guest" (washing my panties and bras by hand makes me an awful visitor?), saying that washing clothes in the sink was prohibited and that I knew it, and that it would ruin the sink and she would have to call in someone to fix it. (I had seen a small sign in the room with the rules, one was: do not wash. I truly thought that it meant do not clean the room since the mop and cleaning products were stored in our bathroom. I read the spanish translation later which was way clearer: no lave la ropa). Anyway, she went on and on, even asking if it was because I was too cheap to pay for the laundry. I was very insulted and stopped her saying I didn't deserve that treatment. She then continued to complain to her partner/husband in Spanish thinking I didn't understand (I do understand Spanish).

It was the weirdest thing and worst treatment I have ever had in a hotel. That woman speaks French and French is my first language so it was not a communication problem. The reviews i had read were good and I was not prepared for that. Too bad because the place is very nice. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stephhac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#53 of 91 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
Las Tres Palmas Hotel
#79 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residencia La Mariposa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#78 of 91 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#69 of 91 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#75 of 91 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel

Property: Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Address: Osiris sur mz 42 lote 2, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 91 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial hotel, in Mexican style with Mayan hand-made and antiques decorations and furniture. Rooms with jacuzzi, terraces, balconies, garden with space to rest in hammock or chaise lounge, and also there is patio where you can have a breakfast or at dusk cocktail. Perfect hotel for both adult and just married people. Free internet access for hotel's visitors. Furthermore there is a laundry for comfort of the customer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lo Nuestro Petit Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing