We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I recommend If you have the car!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villas H2O

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villas H2O
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Neuilly-sur-Seine, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I recommend If you have the car!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Very good calm place, good quality, nice room. The only issue is thé access road. It is not an issue IF you come by car. Better 4x4. But for Tulum -good place to stay. Very friendly couple that runs the hotel. So dont hesitate to book it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuliaY333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    53
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
45
92
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Our family spent six nights at H2O in two attractive, comfortable and spacious rooms at this lovely, off-the-beaten-path, hotel. It is a quiet and private spot. The property is lush and the pool, beautiful. It is ideal for laps and has a shallow area for small children. Beware, however, that the tiles around the pool are very slippery when wet, and a falling risk for the little ones. Mali and Gero, the delightful young Argentinian couple managing the hotel, are kind, helpful and accommodating. Mali's banana bread was a favorite breakfast treat, especially for our two year old grandson, who just couldn't get enough. Elizabet and Lady kept the rooms clean and well-supplied with towels. Beach towels and snorkeling equipment were readily supplied. The atmosphere was entirely relaxed.

The rooms are bright ( unfortunately, even at 6:00 a.m. ), air conditioned, have closets, safes, and some shelving units. Wi-fi is ok. No tv; no phones, no in-room hairdryers ( though one was available at the desk ).

We enjoyed breakfast each morning, and like other guests eating at the same time, often ordered eggs and bacon to go with the fruit, banana bread, coffee and juice that were served by Mali and Gero. Once back home ( we left too early in the morning to formally checkout ), we received a bill for the bacon and eggs. I see now that only a continental breakfast was to be provided. My mistake, but surely we should have been advised during our stay of any extra charges that we were incurring. It could have been the beach towels, the snorkeling equipment, the hair dryer. How were we to know? While the bill was negligible, it seemed a little petty and served to undermine our overall experience, which had been so positive.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfrench3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend in late July and had a fantastic time.
The owner was fantastic, allowing us to extend our stay when we became hooked with the diving he had organised.
Room has fantastic, the absence of a TV was welcome. The pool was great (although after cavern diving it was hard to compare). Breakfast provided each morning was delicious and fresh.

The local knowledge and advice given was impressive!

Room Tip: The balcony was hot but hey, what do you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and I stayed at H2O for one night after being evacuated from the Hotel El Pez because of a hurricane. It was safer to stay in-land than 3 yards away from the sea.
The owners were great, very kind, welcoming and reassuring.
But we also really liked the place. The pool is very nice and the rooms very clean & comfy.
We defintely recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We just stayed at Villas H20 for 3 nights. Would stay again!

Pros- Beautiful property- rooms and public areas. Air condition. Owners were extremely helpful- offering suggestions and directions on how to get to different places. They make sure everyone is able to be comfortable and have a good time. Towels and snorkels were made available too! We were the only people there for 2 nights ( low season), nice and peaceful!

Cons- Location is a bit out of the way, however cabs cost 40 pesos if you get picked up and 30 pesos if you get dropped off ( from town).... which was not a big deal for us at all. Just something to be noted.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My wife and I were going to stay at H2O, because of the pool and positive reviews. But, we mistakenly sent the owner the wrong dates and showed up when the hotel was closed for the staff to vacation. The owner felt so sorry for our misfortune, that she actually offered us two FREE NIGHTS; if we were not able to find another hotel. She assisted us in getting a taxi, allowed us to use her wifi, computer, and telephone. She refunded our money for the wrong scheduled dates and was so nice to us. She went above and beyond what was asked or even expected. We will deffently be staying at H2O on our next visit to Tulum and this time we will make sure we give them the correct dates. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING H2O.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoddiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great place! clean, fresh and nice decorated rooms, friendly staff. Breakfast is poor, just fruits but all around that place u ll get same "food" in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#49 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#42 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.0 mi away
Azura Boutique Hotel
Azura Boutique Hotel
#50 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
2.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas H2O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas H2O

Property: Villas H2O
Address: Calle Chichen Itza Mz. 24 Lt. 001, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas H2O 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villas H2O in Tulum! Setting a new standard for boutique hotels in Tulum town, Villas H2O combines modern, minimalist design with locally crafted detailing and furnishings to create an atmosphere of urban chic with a friendly, relaxing vibe. Our location on the southern edge of town provides easy access to restaurants and shopping, without sacrificing rural quiet and jungle views. Villas H2O offers 3 types of rooms, all stylishly decorated and with private balconies or patios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villas H2O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas h2o Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing