We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ergh.....”
Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Ranked #76 of 396 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ergh.....”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our appetizer, tomato asado with goat cheese, was terrible. My meal, 2 meatballs in a thin red sauce with potato chips was weird. My husband got pulled pork and he thought it was decent. The man & woman who run the restaurant (I think) were very friendly, however, our server was disinterested and less than helpful. They were also out of several entrees, which of course were the ones I originally wanted. Definitely would never go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank smcneil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    440
    185
    75
    34
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great spot for dinner, awesome furniture & decor”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been to El Tabano for dinner a few times and it never disappoints us! Great mojitos! Some of our favorite dishes were the lavender shrimp and the mole shrimp. The menu is huge! The furniture & decor was absolutely unique! We will definitely return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina0701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

During our recent stay in Tulum we ate there twice. Whatever we tried was delicious, the red chicken, pork in green mole, stuffed green peppers as starter.. .. up and down the menu. Start with a ginger Mojito when you go there. It is a very relaxed place, romantic when you dine under the stars.. Loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HazelVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“amazing albondigas”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

the pear and granola starter was way too sweet and dry, much better for breakfast than a started, but the albondigas were melt in the mouth. Beware, the restaurant runs on a generator and the power cut halfway through, but it was no hardship to finish our meal by candlelight.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eraho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had dinner once last December. The longest service ever and not so nice.
I did not like the ceviche here, too much alcohol in it.
Would not go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanessaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing