We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but not a complete bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place, but not a complete bargain”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at posada06 in April of 2012, (my wife and I and our 2 kids). The place is really well kept, well built, clean and looks good. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a good stay there, but we also stayed at another place in Tulum (posada Yum Kin) where we thought we got a much better deal (swimming pool, the place is absolutely beautiful, lower price for a larger room, with breakfast included, and equally nice people). One reviewer mentioned the plastic mattress covers at posada06 (under the bottom sheet) and yes, they're very annoying and we removed them for our second night. Other than that, the place is good.

A side note:
Tulum, as a village, isn't very appealing, I'm afraid to say. We love small villages that have some characters, and we're not so much into fancy beach communities or anything like that. But Tulum does not have much to offer as far as character, it's not quaint, and not appealing. There are some nice restaurants for sure, and plenty of friendly people, but it's not a village that makes you feel at home, because it's mostly a strip along the busy highway, without a true village square, or any place where the local congregates...
To be fair, I'm not sure what alternative exists for that. Puerto Morelos, near Cancun, felt much more inviting (we didn't stay there, just stopped for a lunch on the main square) but other than that, I"m not sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    120
    29
    8
    7
See reviews for
66
184
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have stayed here twice in the past couple of years. It is one block from the main street in the town of Tulum. It is very queit, the a/c works great and includes a TV and small fridge. The hotel is small and was exactly what we needed as we spent most of the day on the beach in Tulum. You do need to leave a deposit for the TV remote and cut the a/c off when you leave. You are close to many resturants and there is no shortage of cabs to get you to the beach. Check-in and check-out was easy. We never used the pool, however the grounds were well taken care of. If you are looking for a place to rest that is quiet, clean and maintained for a fair price, this is it. We usually travel during low season and there may have been one or two rooms occupied while we were here. We would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilsnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

At first it was deceiving, but as you pull up to Posada 06 everything changes. You are greeted by the friendliest of staff. I was met by the sweetest gal named Dalhlia, she was helpful and spoke extremely good english although she was humble and said she spoke very little. Later in the evening I was greatly helped by Jose, who helped me order pizza. If you are looking to stay near the water this is not the place for you, if you are looking to stay near the Tulum action it is perfect. The rooms are so beautiful, and peaceful, The entire room is of poured concrete, with a beautiful soft finish, the lighting is soft and very romantic. There is a balcony to sit and relax and enjoy the evening breeze. There is a pool, although I did not partake. The room was immaculate! It comes with a mini fried as well as a coffee maker, and a basket of goodies/muffins at no charge. The hotel is close to Coba ruins (you MUST go) and Tulum ruins as well. If you have never been to a cenote, do NOT miss this experience in Mexico, it is well worth it! Ask at the desk, they are very informative!
Our room was on the second floor, it had a nice size bed and a couch in it, a very nice size bathroom. I definately recommend staying here if you are not desperate to stay on the ocean, although the beautiful beach is very close.
I look forward to going again.

Room Tip: I loved the top floor for quiet and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kymmy1canada_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel last week (March 2012). Was there with hubby & 6 year old daughter. We got the room with queen size bed and extra twin. First off, the place is really beautiful and easy on the eye. The entry way was breezy and clean - no clutter! We were greeted by Ana (very nice) and they let us check in an hour early. Our room was #1, on the ground floor, but close to the pool so that my child could swim and I could safely watch her from the little patio deck that came with the unit. The room is all made of poured concrete - I kept thinking I was going to bang my toe or my shin, but all was fine. There is a very pretty full grown tree in the middle of the hotel - it looks really gorgeous lit up at night. There are a toral of 12 rooms. Very quiet and peacfeul. The room was immaculate! Comes with small TV, mini fridge (yes), coffee maker, and I really appreciated the little basket of muffins, coffee, creamer, tea and bottle of water. Room has A/C and fan - both worked great. The bathroom is a good size - again, poured concrete style - which looked fine to me. They did provide soap, body gel, but no shampoo - but no big deal, we had our own anyway. There is a safe, but you have to leave a 500 MP as a guarantee. The front desk was always helpful to us. Yes, the room seemed dark - since our room was on the first floor and the door to the room is a sliding glass door, so you had to keep the sheer white curtains closed for privacy, but that was mostly when we were dressing or sleeping. I felt safe the entire time. Hotel is close to Coba ruins (you MUST go) and Tulum ruins as well. The Tulum donwtown has some good eats - we actually enjoyed La Tratoria Romana, Italian food, very yummy. Panaderia Carmen was OK, enjoyed the panaderias in Playa del Carmen better. We also ate at this place called Mateo's on Tulum beach - the ambinece was cool and the music was chill, a bit overpriced, but the food was decent. Cool picnic tables and a cool vibe. All in all, I would stay at the Hotel Posada 06 again. One negative: the queen mattress was very hard.

Room Tip: Choose #1 if you have little ones that will want to take a dip in the pool. You can watch them from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tpenadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This charming little hotel has everything you need for a restful trip after a day at the beautiful beach, a stunning cenote, or climbing the ruins. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated with ceiling fans and AC. They also have small areas outside the room to sit and read by the pool. Each day, a new basket of breakfast juices and biscuits arrived and was helped keep expenses down. The walk to the main part of town was a few blocks away. This is the area that things happen in Tulum. We were very glad we chose to stay in the town and take a day trip to the beach - where there are not as many "authentic" bars and restaurants. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. We would most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were two couples so we took separate rooms on the street level - plus I was wearing a walking ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Although this is a comfortable hotel, the attitude of the staff marred our visit. The care and attention they invest in the fabric of the hotel borders on obsessive but sadly this does not extend to looking after their paying hotel guests. When we arrived, the road in front of the hotel had been newly tarred the day before and on viewing the room before booking we inadvertently left a small trace of tar on the floor which was hardly visible. This was immediately pointed out to us by the lady who showed us the room. While completing booking formalities they then dispatched a cleaner to remove the 'offending mark' and we were then informed by them that they could not get the tar of the floor as if we had done this deliberately. After we were shown the room they noticed a light bulb was not working for which they apologised profusely spending the next 10 minutes coming and going from the room until they found a bulb that fitted. When asked where to park our car, we were told there was space in front of the hotel but could we park carefully so other cars could get in and if we were going out later not to make a noise when returning to the hotel. Being a respectable couple in our 50's we took offence at being treated like some unruly child but let the comments pass.
Their concern for the hotel is all very commendable but when asked later if there were any restaurants they could particularly recommend, the lady waved us away and simply replied there were plenty in town before returning to her paperwork. On leaving the same evening for a meal the receptionist seem to make a specific point of keeping her head down. The following morning, the same lady said we could not leave 'until they had checked the room' and we were then made to wait until the room was inspected. Quite what they were checking for was a mystery as we paid in full in cash the night before and brought down the controls for the TV and air conditioning; there was also no mini bar in the room. We always make a point of leaving rooms very tidy, making the bed and folding towels so the inference that we might in some way have wrecked the room was most unwelcome.
The whole experience marred what is a fairly good hotel and the attitude of the staff was in direct contrast to other accommodation in which we stayed during our three week trip to Mexico where most went out of their way to make the guest feel very special.
They all need to go on a customer care course and would recommend looking somewhere else particularly given the premium cost they charge for the benefit of staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Tricky to find at night in an old car rental without interior lights, the Hotel Posada 06 was however worth the trip to Tulum and is an ideal place to stay just off the rather uninteresting main town drag and only a short drive to the ruins & beaches.
Our simple stone-finished room (with WIFI) was clean, functional and with a nice balcony overlooking the green courtyard and pretty little pool area. Staff and reception are very friendly & helpful.
If the garden area were slighty larger, a good outdoor breakfast service with real coffee wouldn't go astray!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manofleisure41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#39 of 96 in Tulum
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 96 in Tulum
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#34 of 96 in Tulum
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada 06 Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada 06 Tulum

Property: Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Address: Calle Andromeda Oriente | Manzana 10 Lote 17, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada 06 Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2008 and remodeled with apliation of rooms in September 2017, all in Mexican style, not to forget our host country, it has 12 comfortable rooms equipped with patio or terrace, located on two floors, and the lovely grounds with swimming pool and whirlpool, also a terrace to rest in peace after a day at the beach, pool or sightseeing. The hotel is situated in a quiet but central part of Tulum. We are surrounded by many little characteristic restaurants and handicraft shops. The beach is just 4 kilometers away and you can reach it easily by taxi or in your rented car. There are many small restaurants, beach clubs there. The hotel staff will be able to give you all the information you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posada 06 Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing