We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel, would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

My first point of advice would be that you are unlikely to just happen upon the hotel. It is in the middle of Tulum Pueblo, but with its being a block back from the main highway, it's worth having a map. The road in front of it is little more than a dusty track and the area does look somewhat less than salubrious. However, this shouldn't detract you from choosing what is a great little hotel. I had no problems with the area at all and never felt unsafe at any time. In fact, not being on the main road is on benefit, because you get the extra peace and quiet.

The location is great, right in the centre of town, near a taxi rank and bus station for transport. There are many local shops and restaurants for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition, there is a convenience store/ corner shop and a much larger supermarket. The beaches and/ or the ruins are probably the primary reasons for visiting Tulum and these are easily accessibly (I went by taxi). There are taxis everywhere you look and you can get between the town and ruins for 50MXP/ £2.50/ $4.

The hotel itself is beautifully landscaped and is very transquil, a major benefit. Each room has a terrace (ground floor) or a balcony (upper floor), but there are also two communal seating areas with seats and loungers to read or relax. The rooms themselves are basic, but always perfectly clean and I was overall impressed with the quality. This is a great hotel, one which I would definitely recommentd. The only slight downside is for the price I would have hoped for breakfast (although they do provide a basket of juice and muffins), a bigger pool (the pool isn't much more than a water feature) and stronger WiFi (signal was functional, but patchy).

However, the hotel does not deserve a review finishing on a negative, so I will end by saying that this is ideal for anyone staying in Tulum.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank October_Teapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    119
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
64
176
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our road trip across the Yucatan is several days in now. Having put hundreds of kilometers of dirt roads and one lane jungle highways behind the rental car, we finally make it to the Caribbean coast of the peninsula. The difference is palpable: where the Gulf was sleepy and timeless, the Riviera Maya is alive, immediate; where Campeche and Merida felt historic, Tulum is ancient.

I'm happy to find the hotel while there is still light outside, though it's getting dark. The neighborhood twists and turns along incomprehensible one-ways that the GPS isn't even sure exist. We exit the only thoroughfare with street lights and pedestrian crossings down a wrong turn that leads to a flooded, sandy back road. We're forced to U-turn as the neighbors stare. Back on track, tall gates surround corrugated metal homes, while stray dogs and running barefoot children welcome us to the block that the Posada 06 stands on. A police car idles down the street. For the first time, I'm unsure of my safety in Mexico.

We park in the driveway and secure the locks before walking through the front entrance, but soon, all my doubts are eased. The owner checks us in and shows us to our room, gliding by the winding pool beneath the tree that grows in the courtyard. Inside, I'm immediately reminded of the Flintstones. The bed, couch, counters, and closets are all stone, sprouting from the floors and walls as natural fixtures of the room, with dark curtains and covers that offset the color of the sandy rock. It is comfortable.

The pool is open, though no one is using it; the amenities in the room are modern; gratuities like daily juice, cookies, water and crackers are thoughtful and appreciated; the terrace looks into the courtyard. Contrasted with the world outside, there is a beautiful retreat contained within these walls.

You need to drive or bike in Tulum. The strip of town, overflowing with shops selling handmade gifts and restaurants catering to the tourists, local banks and Mexican pharmacies, has ample parking -- but it is not close to anything else, and we could not walk there from the hotel. The same is true for the road to the beach -- you can stroll past outdoor cafes and restaurants when you get there, peruse simple shops amidst the trees that line the narrow calle, but first you must get there. Taxis are abundant. Attractions like the ruins and the cenotes, too, are far from civilization, though well worth the effort to get there. Tulum is modernizing, but it is not there yet.

* * *

A word of warning about the hotel for non-traditional families and unmarried or gay couples: upon checking in, we signed an agreement indicating that we were married. In the room, there was a sign in several languages that we had trouble interpreting, but which indicated the management reserved the right to deny a room, with no refund, for immoral behavior, and that members of the same sex could were not welcome without management's explicit consent. A photo of the sign is included for you to figure out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neurohr-pierpaoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We really liked this hotel. Staff were friendly and approachable.

The hotel itself is nicely laid out, it has a (small) pool and a few balconies with seating. Its location is slap bang in the centre of Tulum. Dont be put off by the side street its on, it is a nice area close to amenities etc. The only slight downside is that isnt 24 hour if you're arriving early/late.

The room itself is spacious, clean, with a nice bathroom and large shower. The shower is a tad cold but in the heat that shouldnt affect you too much! Speaking of heat there is fantastic air coniditioning in the room and the room has a fridge which was a real help. They also provide nice pastries and juice for the morning!!!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TomSean1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
estado de mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is an excellent hotel, I was there with my two boys (16 and 17) and my husband for more than a week and everything was excellent. We moved to this hotel after we spent a night in one of the hotels that are in front of the beach and are called “ecológicos”. Those hotels use the word “ecológicos” to justify the bad and dirty service. At Posada 06 everything is perfect and the people are very friendly. Delia (the manager), Soraya and the other people in the hotel are always trying to help you. The rooms are pretty clean, with a nice air condition (unique in Tulum), a fast internet, and pretty quiet rooms (they only have 12 rooms). The hotel is in the city of Tulum far away (at least 5 km) from the public beach (“Playa Paraiso”). However, it is pretty easy to reach the beach by car. Besides, it is just 15 km south of Xel-ha, about 55 km south of Xplor and Xcaret, about 5 km from the archeological site, and there are several Cenotes near the hotel that are really nice. It has a pretty small garden and swiming pool, with very nice looking Tree-frogs and Lizards. Most of all, the price is pretty convenient, the best deal in Tulum. It doesn´t have a restaurant or fitness center but you don´t need that in Tulum. There are plenty place to have a nice dinner near the hotel. Every morning the maid leaves bottles of water, fruit juices, cookies and snacks, plenty of them. We have a great relaxing stay in Posada 06!!!!

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the first floor, but the ones upstairs also look nice. The rooms on the east sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, Palm Beach Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is a very nice small hotel with good design ( very peaceful vibe). Only 6 rooms and great value. The air-conditioning works perfect and they have very good internet. I like the upstairs rooms better as they have more privacy ( private outdoor terrace). There is always someone on duty and you feel very secure here. Ana who works at front desk is very sweet.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My partner & I stayed here one night as we had an early morning bus the following day. Posada is a short distance from the town centre, close enough to walk but far enough to be relatively quiet. Tulum town is a fair distance from the beach and ruins, 3kms, so a taxi is required to get to these locations, but if like us you need to be near the town centre or prefer the bustle of the town to the beaches this is a great choice of accommodation. It is really clean, comfortable beds, nice pool and lovely setting, more of a boutique size. We really enjoyed our stay and would have been happy to stay longer. Also we found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at posada06 in April of 2012, (my wife and I and our 2 kids). The place is really well kept, well built, clean and looks good. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. Overall, we had a good stay there, but we also stayed at another place in Tulum (posada Yum Kin) where we thought we got a much better deal (swimming pool, the place is absolutely beautiful, lower price for a larger room, with breakfast included, and equally nice people). One reviewer mentioned the plastic mattress covers at posada06 (under the bottom sheet) and yes, they're very annoying and we removed them for our second night. Other than that, the place is good.

A side note:
Tulum, as a village, isn't very appealing, I'm afraid to say. We love small villages that have some characters, and we're not so much into fancy beach communities or anything like that. But Tulum does not have much to offer as far as character, it's not quaint, and not appealing. There are some nice restaurants for sure, and plenty of friendly people, but it's not a village that makes you feel at home, because it's mostly a strip along the busy highway, without a true village square, or any place where the local congregates...
To be fair, I'm not sure what alternative exists for that. Puerto Morelos, near Cancun, felt much more inviting (we didn't stay there, just stopped for a lunch on the main square) but other than that, I"m not sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.1 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#38 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#18 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#49 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.2 mi away
Azura Boutique Hotel
Azura Boutique Hotel
#51 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada 06 Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada 06 Tulum

Property: Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Address: calle Andromeda Oriente | Manzana 10 Lote 17, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada 06 Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 2008 and remodeled with apliation of rooms in September 2017, all in Mexican style, not to forget our host country, it has 12 comfortable rooms equipped with patio or terrace, located on two floors, and the lovely grounds with swimming pool and whirlpool, also a terrace to rest in peace after a day at the beach, pool or sightseeing. The hotel is situated in a quiet but central part of Tulum. We are surrounded by many little characteristic restaurants and handicraft shops. The beach is just 4 kilometers away and you can reach it easily by taxi or in your rented car. There are many small restaurants, beach clubs there. The hotel staff will be able to give you all the information you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada 06 Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing