We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience at Posada Yum Kin”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Don't think that being away from the beach is a disadvantage. Posada Yum Kin is a short, cheap taxi ride to the beach but you save lots by being away from the more expensive stretch. Another advantage is being close to downtown where most of the action is, including delicious restaurants and the bus station where cheap fares can take you everywhere in Mexico, nearby ruins, cenotes, etc. Beautiful rooms and kitchenette, the decor, the ambience, the staff... was simply amazing. It's a perfect location for a romantic couple or family to relax and disconnect. The area was quiet and gorgeous, and we were treated like family. I would go back to Posada Yum Kin in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
There are newer reviews for Posada Yum Kin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 606 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at Posada Yum Kin for 7 nights and were very happy with the experience. It's a lovely hotel, outside of the lights and noise of downtown, and I would certainly recommend it to the traveler who is a bit more independent and is looking for a place to relax.

Our room (#9) was great, with a small patio that overlooked the trees at the end of the quiet, dead-end street. It was just what we needed with bottled water, simple kitchen, and nice bathroom (GREAT shower!).

Morning breakfasts were simple (fruit, granola, toast, fresh orange juice, cinnamon coffee and tea), but healthy and delicious.

All staff were helpful and friendly. Carlo is a gregarious host and helped us arrange scooter rentals in no time flat. He was also helpful and offered advice before we even arrived!

I don't have many complaints, but it's important to note that there wasn't clearly-available reception past 4:00 p.m. every day. We were able to track down people to help us "after hours," but I missed the ease of having an owner/manager on-site or longer front desk hours. Also a few details were missed in daily housekeeping, but our room was always impeccably clean, which is what matters most to me.

Overall, this is an excellent, well-run hotel full of kind, welcoming people. It's safe, well-maintained, clean, and lovely. We enjoyed our time at Posada Yum Kin.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gringuita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We went to Tulum for New Years, stayed at Posada Yum Kin and loved it! The hotel is clean, bright and beautifully decorated. Carlo, the manager, is very friendly and gave us great recommendations on restaurants and things to do in the area.
We stayed in room #8, just perfect! Exactly what you see in the pics (or maybe even nicer). We even cooked our NYE banquet :) in the little kitchen and everything was just perfect. You would just want stay and live in this place if it hadnt been for all the fun things that you can do in Tulum and surroundings.
The one little hiccup with this posada is location. Is not awful but its quirky. Its close enough to the beach but about 5 minute drive, so it does not offer the right-on-paradise location. If beach life is what you want to do, maybe its more convenient to find something right on the beach. However, Tulum has so many things to do and see that you will have to move out of beach paradise to do them! In that case, this location works fine.
Recommendations:
- rent a car! lots of places to go and the hotel location calls for it.
- have at least one meal in El Camello, an awesome hole in a wall seafood restaurant at very cheap prices
- the float in the canals tour in Mujil is pricey but absolutely worth it! ask Carlo about it :)
- just go to Tulum! its such an incredible not-super-packed touristy paradise, that deserves your attention!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Pleasant, calm,beautiful,clean and well priced.
Few blocks from the center of Tulum, walking distance, bikes available. Excelent breakfast, nice pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Me quede en la posada yum kim durante los primeros dias de noviembre del 2011. Apenas entré quede asombrado con la tranquilidad del lugar, la musica agradable y el cuidado con los más mínimos detalles (al interior de la pieza las toallas estaban dobladas con formas de aves y otros animales!). La posada era fresca, las habitaciones espaciosas y cómodas además que el personal muy interesado en ayudar y brindar la mejor experiencia.
Lo recomiendo de todas maneras!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilanoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Carlo is very personable and helpful for planning your days. We didn't mind the drive to the beach. We had a car. Very safe and easy to get around.
Suite 7 is beautiful but there is no air conditioner and we could have used the noise of A/C, over Christmas the music from town was very loud so the location was not as quiet as we hoped.
everyone working at the hotel is very nice and the fresh fruit breakfast was perfect. We used the kitchen and it made a great change from eating out. Appreciated that spring water was available to us. Felt very much at home and comfortable and other travellers were great group. The pool is very nice. Highly recommend if you don't mind not being on the beach. We would definitely return. Easy drive to Coba or to Akumal for snorkeling.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Beautiful place. Great pool. Nice rooms, WIFI. It is a bit off the beaten path, but it's well worth the 10 minute ride to the most beautiful beaches you've ever seen. Lots of places to eat (shrimp fajita @ Mateo's down by the beach was best ever)or you can cook on the 2 burner stove in the room. Nice, big, new grocery store nearby. Highway from Cancun is a nice ride. We'd recomend you try the Mayan "forest and float" tour. Carlo, the manager is a great guy and will set you up. They'll pick you up in the morning and take you on an all day tour that includes a float, in a life vest down a stream, through the wilderness. It's awesome!!! Went to an all inclusive a few years ago and it was nice, but if you really want to see Mexico, this is ther place to be.

Room Tip: 8 was great
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 98 in Tulum
933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#40 of 98 in Tulum
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,298 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 98 in Tulum
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 98 in Tulum
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £45 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing