We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Yum Kin
Nearby Hotels
Azulik(Tulum)
US$651
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$607
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$306
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$616
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$763
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$743
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$591
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Piedra Escondida(Tulum)
US$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$425
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveller rating
464
135
24
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
464
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathyogurtwater dispenserfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbeautiful poolbreakfast was deliciousevery morningdirt roadtree houseshort driverented a carmini fridgesmall hotelplaya del carmentulum ruins
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 630 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

In a destination where many travellers are looking for luxurious all-inclusive beach resorts, Posada Yum Kin is a rare gem, off the beaten path. Located on the outskirts of a downtown neighbourhood, this peaceful, comfortable, charming inn was the perfect setting for a glimpse into the local community of this growing town. There is a great selection of restaurants and shops in walking distance from the hotel - passing through the town where people were going to work and school, going about their daily lives. It felt like a more authentic experience in Tulum, and we felt like we were adding to the local economy, as opposed to exploiting it.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and delightful, as were the other guests. The breakfast was excellent, more varied than we expected (with fruit, yogurt, granola, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs and delicious coffee), and it was a great opportunity to connect with the other guests, share experiences and get local travel advice.

One small comment, the hotel was a little hard to find at first. The directions on the website could benefit from a more detailed map, with multiple routes (the road leading to the hotel was under construction the week we were there, and not all the roads in town were well marked). Once we found it the first time, it was easy to navigate the residential neighbourhood.

From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt like we were in a unique, special place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WillAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you very much, Will & Amy! It was great to have you and your family accross the hall, you were great neighbors to the office! You were really kind guests and every morning you smiled at the whole staff. We really love hosting people with such a nice and sweet attitude! We are happy you have found our home to be special, thanks! Please, come back soon and visit us as friends! Thank you very much for your kind comments again! Warm regards from Tulum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I felt like I knew what to expect before I even arrived. It was just like all the reviews, the good (personable service from Liz and her team, great breakfast, good wifi) the bad (dogs barking - grab some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper). Gotta love Tripadvisor. We really wanted something different and it delivered ( no TV or no your just a number type of service). A good hotel in a residential area.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel and away from the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you very much for your review, it is always nice to hear feedback of our guests. We really appreciate it! It was great having you stay with us and the good news is that the dog problem is finally fixed! (They moved!) Hopefully next time you will have an even greater experience with us!! Again, thank you very much for sharing our home with us, it was a pleasure to host you! Come back soon!! Regards from all the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

stayed here recommended by our diving instructor carlos from mdxi divers . As we arrived out the front this place was covered in beautiful fauna and jungle trees . soon as the hotel staff oped the door to the oasis it was amazing . it had this sense of real nice relaxation and the staff just smiled every word you said to them . breakfast is very good with a selection off scrambled eggs fresh fruit . toast . pancakes , The layout of the building is very easily accessible to the pool and all the rooms .

the rooms are made each day and i couldn't fault anything in our room .


Liz Jemeninez was such a pleasure to deal with and she helped us with some of the best food recommendations .


Liz if you read this i will be deffinetly seeing you in the future with my wife and kids :)

much love from the land down below AUZZIE BOIIS

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear, Sizzle! Thank you very much for your kind review but mostly, thanks for such a great time! You and A were really nice to everyone, always with such a big smile upon your face that it was quite fun and nice to have you staying with us! We would do it anytime again! Hope we get to host you next time you come diving to Tulum, we had a blast, too! Kind regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We had a great time at Posada Yum Kin. It is really tucked away in Tulum, but we found it. The roads aren't marked well, so take your map! The room was fantastic, with a nice kitchen and great patio with hammock. The interior of the hotel is a courtyard filled with lush plants and even a large cage of parakeets. If you take the wooden spiral staircase up, it allows you cross over to some of the rooms to the breakfast and pool area. We thought the breakfast was great, with a mix of fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, warm foods such as pancakes, eggs, etc. Coffee was even quite good!

We would go back to PYK with no questions the next time we're in Tulum.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hola!!!! Thank you very, very much for your review!!! It was great to have you staying in PYK. We are happy to know you made this your special home during your time in Tulum. As usual, we are very lucky to have guests like you sharing our special place with us. We are excited to know you enjoyed breakfast every morning across the bridge, to be honest, it was an honour to host you! We are already looking forward to your next visit! Best regards from the whole team!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

What a great place to stay in the town of Tulum--quiet,close to resturants,shops and bus station!Liz,the manager,made me feel comfortable and right at home!The staff are lovely.They serve good coffee and breakfast in the a.m.
It is far enough from town for peace and quiet but close enough for an enjoyable little bike ride to some good fun with the locals.The hotel zone is about 3 miles away,which was perfect for me.I wanted to feel like I was in Mexico and not in just a tourists' enclave.
I love PYK! The rooms are clean and well cared for.The beds are comfortable with good clean sheets.It was a wonderful lodging experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Anna.!! Thank you very much for your kind review, but most of all, thank you for letting us having you as our guest. It was a great surprise! We really appreciate you changing scenary with such great disposition. It was great having you around with such amazing vibe! We are really looking forward to your next visit, it will be great to see you again!! Lots of warm regards and thanks from the whole team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews