We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Accomodations in Tulum!”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Accomodations in Tulum!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My family recently returned from a return trip to Tulum AND a return stay at Posada Yum Kin....the best place to stay in Tulum. Accommodations for our 8 night stay were perfect....#7 for a family of 4. The suite is very well appointed with bottled water, coffee maker, blender for those homemade margaritas, dishes, wifi and A/C. The rooms have many windows and you are up in the trees, so the A/C is really not needed. We slept comfortably every night. From a delicious breakfast every morning including hot and cold entrees and fresh fruit and juices to a sun deck to soak up the rays to a refreshing pool to cool off to a hammock on your private porch for a siesta, there is no reason to leave Posada Yum Kin but you will as there is much to do in and around Tulum. Now to the people....Liz is always available to ensure your stay is the best whether it's something you need for your room or suggestions for sights, restaurants, etc. The staff always greet you with a smile and keep the rooms and grounds spotless. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a 10min walk from downtown. You awake to the roosters and the man selling bread/pastries from his bike. You feel like you are part of the community and the Posada Yum Kin family no matter how long you stay. We rented a car and enjoyed the flexibility of taking day trips when and where we wanted. However, on our first trip to Tulum we did not rent a car and were still able to get out and enjoy the beach and other activities. Walking, biking and taxis are good ways to get around. Liz and her staff can assist with guiding you on the options and help set up any tours with pick ups right at the hotel. Choose Posada Yum Kin - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLuvr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a detail and nice review. It means the world to us that you took the time to recommend us. Every single word you said it is appreciated. Suite #7 is in fact one of our best and we are happy you found the hammock and all together comfortable. The staff is knowledgeable of your kind words towards them and they say thank you, too. It is always nice to read you felt at home and we can not really wait for you to come back and visit us again. It will always be a pleasure to host you!! Our best regards! Sincerely, L and the staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    132
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
193
276
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bigfork, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family of four stated at Posada yum Kim for 9 days. I don't think that we could have picked a better spot for for our stay. There was a glitch in our expedia reservation and Liz was quickly able to fix things and work out a an equitable solution (Dan you need to give her a raise,she was great). The rooms and grounds were very clean and tastefully decorated, all the staff were friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. The Breakfasts with fresh fruit, juices, pancakes and eggs were better than anything you could have bought in town. My wife and I both commented that the pictures on the website don't do the place justice, it is really much nicer than the pictures.The location (a little hard to find) was away from the noise and bustle of downtown, we never had trouble sleeping. If you are that all inclusive type of vacationer this may not be the spot for you, but if you want to experience a nice Mexican posada you will not be disappointed with Posada Yum Kim. Tulum was a great centralized spot for a Yucatan vacation if you can't find something to do you are not trying very hard.

Robin Jenkins and Melissa Jenkins
Bigfork, Montana

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Family J! Hi!! Thank you very, very much for your review, it is very sweet of you taking the time to write such beautiful things about our home. It was very special to have you around and getting to know you and your family. Dan was very pleased to meet you too. We'd love to send you what you forgot at the hotel, if you could please email us with your address, we will post it right away. Thank you very much again for all your kindness, it is a pleasure hosting such nice family like yours, hope you come back soon! Regards from Mex, L!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, IN
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I rely on Trip Advisor as a trusted friend to make recommendations that assure a comfortable vacation. They came through again with Posada Yum Kin.

We were warmly greeted by Liz as we arrived late in the evening. She escorted us to our beautiful room #7. The room was large, attractive, and impeccably clean. It had air conditioning and ceiling fans. The bed was large and comfortable. Wifi is provided and was appreciated except for occasional problems getting access. I cannot express how clean this room was and continued to be throughout our stay. They changed the floral arrangements in the room frequently. It was a lovely surprise to come back in the afternoons to see what they had brought that day.
The hotel features lush tropical gardens that are lovingly tended. They make up a colorful and exotic setting. The pool is large, clean, and inviting. We often came back after a hot day in town to cool off there. Breakfast by the pool was a great way to start the day with the cinnamon infused coffee and conversation with other guests. Liz and the owners were very helpful in making suggestions about restaurants, beaches, and activities.
The location of the hotel is in town. It allows you to get a feel for real Mexico. We loved waking in the morning to the sound of tropical birds, a neighbors rooster, and the sound of the local bread delivery man.
This is a hotel for people looking for an experience outside the sterile, cookie cutter, all-inclusives. This is a beautiful, romantic, warm experience. We can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is spacious and private. It has a kitchen area. Really nice room. Great for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athena22in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Athena! We can not wait for you to come back, either!!! You and your husband smiled all the time, since the moment you walked through the door even if your plans had changed, your attitude made all the difference! Everyone enjoyed your conversations during breakfast time and it was a lovely experience to meeting you! Hopefully you will decide to visit us again next year, we are looking forward to it! Thank you very much for such a beautiful review, it means the world to us! Sincerely, your friends from PYK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We just spent two nights in this charming unique hotel located in Tulum at the edge of the jungle. The room was very nice, quite large and very clean. The pool is very nice and large enough. The rates includes breakfast which is great. It is only a 15 minute walk to downtown and restaurants. Taxis are very plentiful and reasonable. Liz ,the manager, is a jewel and beyond helpful. We found this place on Travel Advisor and all the reviews were right on. Don't' look any further, this is the place you will want to stay. I will definitely be going back on our trip to the Yucatan next year.

Room Tip: We had the King Suite upstairs. Very spacious up a circular staircase, so you have to be a bit agile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom201122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi, Mr. & Mrs. W!!! Thank you so much for your kind words! You were great and very special guests yourselves! You had a nice energy and attitude. Thank you very much for being so friendly and nice to everyone! It always makes the difference! If you decide to stop by next year for the Yucatan, please, let us know, it will be a pleasure to host you again! Our best wishes from Mexico!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Overall, charming rooms and fantastic service. Liz (the manager) was very friendly and helpful. She gave my wife and I great restaurant recommendations and tips on which beaches to go to. Some of the restaurants we would have not found on our own and they were amazing!

The room was spacious and well kept. The breakfast (included in the price) was very good and included different fresh fruit juices almost every day. WiFi worked fine. We did not hear any of the dog barking that we had read about on other reviews.

The location was close to the town area, which has great restaurants (see above). The walk to the heart of town was a bit far, so driving is your best bet. We had a rental and it made getting into town better, and driving to the beaches was very easy. I think it's better to rent a car if you're staying in Tulum and not at a resort anyways.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LazerShow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write such great things about Tulum! The region has a lot to offer and we are very excited to know you had a nice time in town and in the beach. You were really amazing people to talk to and guests like you always make the difference in this business. It makes everything better to have such nice people to host!
We are happy you enjoyed Liz's advices. She is always happy to help everyone to have a great culinary experience in Mexico!!
Please, come back and visit us soon. This is your home now! Kind regards from the Riviera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Liz and her team made this a fabulous vacation for an extended family of 12—including six kids ranging in age from 2-12—which is not an easy feat. Posada Yum Kin is an EXTREMELY nice property (better than many of the beach hotels), run by great people (we even met the owners while we were there). Every room is different, and some are quite large. The pool is perfect for kids and adults alike. The breakfasts are outstanding, and the chef and staff will cook other meals for you if you order in advance (it's worth doing because the food is excellent). If Posada Yum Kin were located on the beach, it would be three times the price! Thanks again, Liz.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McIComms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hola, MC'Is!!!!!! It was such a great and fun time hosting you!!! You were incredibly smart and nice, every one of you!! I had a great time having you here, hosting you was a lot of fun. The time passed by very fast and next time, you will get those mango drinks as promised! We hope you decide to come back next year!! Please, say hi to the rest of the family and do not forget this is your home now! Thanks for all the thoughful comments in such a lovely review! It is highly appreciated and also quite nurturing for us! Sincerely, everyone in PYK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

In a destination where many travellers are looking for luxurious all-inclusive beach resorts, Posada Yum Kin is a rare gem, off the beaten path. Located on the outskirts of a downtown neighbourhood, this peaceful, comfortable, charming inn was the perfect setting for a glimpse into the local community of this growing town. There is a great selection of restaurants and shops in walking distance from the hotel - passing through the town where people were going to work and school, going about their daily lives. It felt like a more authentic experience in Tulum, and we felt like we were adding to the local economy, as opposed to exploiting it.

The staff were all extremely friendly, helpful and delightful, as were the other guests. The breakfast was excellent, more varied than we expected (with fruit, yogurt, granola, pancakes, french toast, scrambled eggs and delicious coffee), and it was a great opportunity to connect with the other guests, share experiences and get local travel advice.

One small comment, the hotel was a little hard to find at first. The directions on the website could benefit from a more detailed map, with multiple routes (the road leading to the hotel was under construction the week we were there, and not all the roads in town were well marked). Once we found it the first time, it was easy to navigate the residential neighbourhood.

From the moment we walked through the front door, we felt like we were in a unique, special place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much, Will & Amy! It was great to have you and your family accross the hall, you were great neighbors to the office! You were really kind guests and every morning you smiled at the whole staff. We really love hosting people with such a nice and sweet attitude! We are happy you have found our home to be special, thanks! Please, come back soon and visit us as friends! Thank you very much for your kind comments again! Warm regards from Tulum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 96 in Tulum
929 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#43 of 96 in Tulum
356 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing