We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Yum Kin
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$553
US$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$410
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villas H2O(Tulum)
US$79
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Posada Del Sol(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Tulum Luxury Hotel(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$314
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Luna del Sur(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$173
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pacha Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$69
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (629)
Filter reviews
629 results
Traveller rating
463
135
24
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
463
135
24
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathyogurtwater dispenserfull kitchenthe main dragbeautiful oasisbeautiful poolbreakfast was deliciousevery morningdirt roadtree houseshort driverented a carmini fridgesmall hotelplaya del carmentulum ruins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 629 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Once the front gate opened to the beautiful lush garden I knew I made the right decision. Liz welcomed us with a warm smile like we had been long time guests and friends. Our room was the perfect size for a family of four. In the morning, I would lay in my hammock and listened to the birds happily chirping and the soft music playing in the background. I spent 10 wonderful mornings enjoying the delicious breakfast and coffee on the deck taking in the beauty of the gardens and sounds. What a wonderful way to experience Tulum in small hotel with personalized service. Liz and the staff our very professional. I have to mention that the ladies who take care of the rooms are impeccable. The rooms were absolutely spotless. I look forward to returning next year with my family.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank egbaron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear E, thank you so very much for your kind words. Sorry for the delay on the reply but we do remember you and your family. Personally, it was really nice to grab a morning coffee and talk with all of you every morning. We had a really nice time and we were really happy you decided to stay with us. Your children were lovely as well and all the tips you gave me for my coming trip were really helpful. We hope you decide to visit us again someday, it will be a pleasure to see friends again at PYK. My dearest regards for you and your family. Sincerely, Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Posada Yum Kin is a lush oasis, but you may need a car, if you dont want to have to walk, bike or take a taxi. But we loved it. It was a 10 minute walk to town. The breakfast was fantastic. All the food was made locally and it was so fresh. Fruit juices and homade granola and yogurt, pancakes, eggs. Quite a value getting breakfast. The in room kitchen would increase the value for a family. The grounds felt like a tropical garden treehouse. Rooms were kept immaculate. Liz was very helpful. We didnt want to ever leave. Karen and Adam will have Posada Yum Kin in our hearts...

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear K & A, hi! First of all, thank you sincerely much for your review. It means a lot to us as we know you mean every word you say. We had an amazing time with you! You were friendly, easy-going guests and it was a pleasure to host you. We would love if you decide to come back to your house in Tulum. Liz says hi and wants to thank you for mentioning her, she sends her best regards and appreciation. Please, come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After 20 minutes at this hotel I felt completely relaxed! The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, and they have everything you could possibly need. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It has a real homely feel.

The breakfast is HUGE and delicious and even the coffee is pretty good!!

The location is reasonably remote (on the outskirts of Tulum town) but I found it very easy to walk around and explore the cute little town. Its close enough to walk to great restaurants, and it feels very safe wandering around, even at night.

I would have loved to stay a lot longer! Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Room Tip: I had room number 12 and it was enormous and really comfortable, although occasionally noisy if people were playing in the pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hola, Felicity!!
Thank you so very much for your review. It is great to hear you had such a nice time at PYK. It was very good to have you here staying with us and it was lovely to host you! The cook will be very happy to know you liked our breakfast, thank you for the comment on it. We hope you decide to visit us again sometime soon and that everything is wonderful back home. Again, thank you very much from the whole staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We were so well looked after we went back during the same trip. The manager Liz was fantastic in helping us have a wonderful stay, so friendly and always going that bit further to help us out. And when chatting with the owner the evening we arrived after a long flight and transfer from London, he immediately brought us a couple of chilled beers!

Beautiful rooms - immaculately cleaned.
Location is a short walk from town and we enjoyed that.
We travel a fair amount and rarely pine to go back to a particular accommodation - the welcoming and relaxing experience here had us pining to go back, so we did! Of all the hotels we stayed at in Mexico this one stands out.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hola, C & L!!! It has been quite a while!! Sorry it took long so reply! It feels like it was yesterday when you stayed with us. We hope you had an amazing time travelling up north in Mex. It was a pleasure to welcome you back, you are the kind of guests we love to have around -nice, friendly and smiley all the time!- Liz and I had an amazing time with you and we are really hoping that if you decide to revisit Tulum, you will stop by and stay with us. Hope you are having a nice summer in the kingdom!! Thank you very much for your review!! Our sincere regards from PYK!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My family recently returned from a return trip to Tulum AND a return stay at Posada Yum Kin....the best place to stay in Tulum. Accommodations for our 8 night stay were perfect....#7 for a family of 4. The suite is very well appointed with bottled water, coffee maker, blender for those homemade margaritas, dishes, wifi and A/C. The rooms have many windows and you are up in the trees, so the A/C is really not needed. We slept comfortably every night. From a delicious breakfast every morning including hot and cold entrees and fresh fruit and juices to a sun deck to soak up the rays to a refreshing pool to cool off to a hammock on your private porch for a siesta, there is no reason to leave Posada Yum Kin but you will as there is much to do in and around Tulum. Now to the people....Liz is always available to ensure your stay is the best whether it's something you need for your room or suggestions for sights, restaurants, etc. The staff always greet you with a smile and keep the rooms and grounds spotless. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a 10min walk from downtown. You awake to the roosters and the man selling bread/pastries from his bike. You feel like you are part of the community and the Posada Yum Kin family no matter how long you stay. We rented a car and enjoyed the flexibility of taking day trips when and where we wanted. However, on our first trip to Tulum we did not rent a car and were still able to get out and enjoy the beach and other activities. Walking, biking and taxis are good ways to get around. Liz and her staff can assist with guiding you on the options and help set up any tours with pick ups right at the hotel. Choose Posada Yum Kin - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationLuvr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you very much for such a detail and nice review. It means the world to us that you took the time to recommend us. Every single word you said it is appreciated. Suite #7 is in fact one of our best and we are happy you found the hammock and all together comfortable. The staff is knowledgeable of your kind words towards them and they say thank you, too. It is always nice to read you felt at home and we can not really wait for you to come back and visit us again. It will always be a pleasure to host you!! Our best regards! Sincerely, L and the staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews