We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming eco-friendly hotel”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #18 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A welcoming eco-friendly hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A wonderful hotel, run by welcoming and helpful people. Our travel plans changed the day before our arrival, meaning we had to arrive late in the evening. We emailed them and, unlike other locations, we got a quick response reassuring us that there would be no problem. We had an early departure when we were leaving - Liz arranged for breakfast to be available earlier than usual and for a taxi to pick us up. Beautifully clean rooms - not always the case when surrounded by lush gardens and flora! Location is a 10/15 minute walk out of town which was not a problem for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HJS71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a kind review. It is very thoughtful of you to write these possitive comments on us. It was great to have you here and it was a pleasure to be your hostess. You were amazing guests the entire time and I would definitely arrange anything you need to make you feel at home again. Come back soon!! Our dearest regards, L & the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    132
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
193
275
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I just needed a room for a couple of nights over the weekend between meetings on the Yucatan. After staying at PYK, I just might have to go back to Tulum! Room was fantastic, breakfast great, I can not begin to say enough about how helpful Liz was . . . I was only going to stay one night, but immediately knew I must stay for two. Since I was "working," of course access to the Internet was important . . . even that was great. Simply a fantastic experience at a fantastic place with a fantastic staff . . . It really is an oasis!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hi, Mr. H!!! Thank you very very much for your kind review, it was a nice surprise you extended your stay with us, also having you as a neighbour to my office was good company! It was great hosting you and we really do hope that in your next trip you revisit us and stay in PYK again!! Remember to email us so we can give you a revisitor special rate!! Thank you very much again! Our best and sincere regards, Liz & the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Once the front gate opened to the beautiful lush garden I knew I made the right decision. Liz welcomed us with a warm smile like we had been long time guests and friends. Our room was the perfect size for a family of four. In the morning, I would lay in my hammock and listened to the birds happily chirping and the soft music playing in the background. I spent 10 wonderful mornings enjoying the delicious breakfast and coffee on the deck taking in the beauty of the gardens and sounds. What a wonderful way to experience Tulum in small hotel with personalized service. Liz and the staff our very professional. I have to mention that the ladies who take care of the rooms are impeccable. The rooms were absolutely spotless. I look forward to returning next year with my family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egbaron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear E, thank you so very much for your kind words. Sorry for the delay on the reply but we do remember you and your family. Personally, it was really nice to grab a morning coffee and talk with all of you every morning. We had a really nice time and we were really happy you decided to stay with us. Your children were lovely as well and all the tips you gave me for my coming trip were really helpful. We hope you decide to visit us again someday, it will be a pleasure to see friends again at PYK. My dearest regards for you and your family. Sincerely, Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Posada Yum Kin is a lush oasis, but you may need a car, if you dont want to have to walk, bike or take a taxi. But we loved it. It was a 10 minute walk to town. The breakfast was fantastic. All the food was made locally and it was so fresh. Fruit juices and homade granola and yogurt, pancakes, eggs. Quite a value getting breakfast. The in room kitchen would increase the value for a family. The grounds felt like a tropical garden treehouse. Rooms were kept immaculate. Liz was very helpful. We didnt want to ever leave. Karen and Adam will have Posada Yum Kin in our hearts...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear K & A, hi! First of all, thank you sincerely much for your review. It means a lot to us as we know you mean every word you say. We had an amazing time with you! You were friendly, easy-going guests and it was a pleasure to host you. We would love if you decide to come back to your house in Tulum. Liz says hi and wants to thank you for mentioning her, she sends her best regards and appreciation. Please, come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After 20 minutes at this hotel I felt completely relaxed! The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated, and they have everything you could possibly need. The staff are friendly and welcoming. It has a real homely feel.

The breakfast is HUGE and delicious and even the coffee is pretty good!!

The location is reasonably remote (on the outskirts of Tulum town) but I found it very easy to walk around and explore the cute little town. Its close enough to walk to great restaurants, and it feels very safe wandering around, even at night.

I would have loved to stay a lot longer! Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Room Tip: I had room number 12 and it was enormous and really comfortable, although occasionally noisy if peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hola, Felicity!!
Thank you so very much for your review. It is great to hear you had such a nice time at PYK. It was very good to have you here staying with us and it was lovely to host you! The cook will be very happy to know you liked our breakfast, thank you for the comment on it. We hope you decide to visit us again sometime soon and that everything is wonderful back home. Again, thank you very much from the whole staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We were so well looked after we went back during the same trip. The manager Liz was fantastic in helping us have a wonderful stay, so friendly and always going that bit further to help us out. And when chatting with the owner the evening we arrived after a long flight and transfer from London, he immediately brought us a couple of chilled beers!

Beautiful rooms - immaculately cleaned.
Location is a short walk from town and we enjoyed that.
We travel a fair amount and rarely pine to go back to a particular accommodation - the welcoming and relaxing experience here had us pining to go back, so we did! Of all the hotels we stayed at in Mexico this one stands out.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Hola, C & L!!! It has been quite a while!! Sorry it took long so reply! It feels like it was yesterday when you stayed with us. We hope you had an amazing time travelling up north in Mex. It was a pleasure to welcome you back, you are the kind of guests we love to have around -nice, friendly and smiley all the time!- Liz and I had an amazing time with you and we are really hoping that if you decide to revisit Tulum, you will stop by and stay with us. Hope you are having a nice summer in the kingdom!! Thank you very much for your review!! Our sincere regards from PYK!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My family recently returned from a return trip to Tulum AND a return stay at Posada Yum Kin....the best place to stay in Tulum. Accommodations for our 8 night stay were perfect....#7 for a family of 4. The suite is very well appointed with bottled water, coffee maker, blender for those homemade margaritas, dishes, wifi and A/C. The rooms have many windows and you are up in the trees, so the A/C is really not needed. We slept comfortably every night. From a delicious breakfast every morning including hot and cold entrees and fresh fruit and juices to a sun deck to soak up the rays to a refreshing pool to cool off to a hammock on your private porch for a siesta, there is no reason to leave Posada Yum Kin but you will as there is much to do in and around Tulum. Now to the people....Liz is always available to ensure your stay is the best whether it's something you need for your room or suggestions for sights, restaurants, etc. The staff always greet you with a smile and keep the rooms and grounds spotless. The hotel is situated in a residential area about a 10min walk from downtown. You awake to the roosters and the man selling bread/pastries from his bike. You feel like you are part of the community and the Posada Yum Kin family no matter how long you stay. We rented a car and enjoyed the flexibility of taking day trips when and where we wanted. However, on our first trip to Tulum we did not rent a car and were still able to get out and enjoy the beach and other activities. Walking, biking and taxis are good ways to get around. Liz and her staff can assist with guiding you on the options and help set up any tours with pick ups right at the hotel. Choose Posada Yum Kin - you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationLuvr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a detail and nice review. It means the world to us that you took the time to recommend us. Every single word you said it is appreciated. Suite #7 is in fact one of our best and we are happy you found the hammock and all together comfortable. The staff is knowledgeable of your kind words towards them and they say thank you, too. It is always nice to read you felt at home and we can not really wait for you to come back and visit us again. It will always be a pleasure to host you!! Our best regards! Sincerely, L and the staff!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 96 in Tulum
929 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#13 of 96 in Tulum
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#45 of 96 in Tulum
355 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
0.9 mi away
Don Diego de la Selva
Don Diego de la Selva
#15 of 96 in Tulum
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing