We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sweet home!!!!”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home sweet home!!!!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Never in my life I thought I could stay in a hotel that makes you feel at home, so far from home.
If you are looking for a quiet place with extra large air conditioned rooms with huge kitchen and a private pool, you should definitely stay here!!!
Me and my family stayed here for 3 unforgettable nights. We stayed in 4 rooms (12,7,2,3) we were a group of 14 pp, and everybody loved the place. We met great people from all over the world and because of the atmosphere of the place we just started talking over breakfast and getting to know each other.
We loved Val the owner and Liz and Claudia the hotel manager and manager to be, they all made us feel so comfortable that we were so sad to leave.
Breakfast was so fresh and tasty we wished we could have it for lunch and dinner too.
The supermarket is so close you can bike there in 7 min, and get everything for so cheap! we got groceries and in the rooms Val made sure you have everything you need to cook for yourself - pots, pans, plates, cups, forks, knives, oven, gas, mineral water, fridge and ice box.
We cooked for 20 ppl for less than 30USD. Val took us to the fisherman house to get the freshest fish filet, and insisted that she is paying for it. In return we invited the whole crew to dine with us. It was a wonderful event!
The restaurants in the Yucatan gotten so expensive it feels like New York City rather than Mexico, and we love cooking so the fact that we had the full kitchen in every room was a huge plus for us.
We also checked the hotels on the beach and we were so disappointed with the way they all looked - they had nothing to do with Mexico, they all look and feel the same - that is to make money and not make you feel a part of Mexico. We were so thankful for choosing Yum Kin for that.
We would be happy to answer any question you have about to Tulum and Yum Kin, please feel free to contact us. Enjoy your vacation!
Zak

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZakBennettA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola, thank you for choosing us,we enjoy having you with us here in Posada Yum Kin, please keep us in mind for your next vacation in Mexico.Thank you once again.

ADRIAN TERCERO


PYK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    129
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
187
271
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed three nights at Posada Yum Kin and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms were clean and spacious and the pool was an extra bonus that we didn't know about when we booked. They also included an unlimited supply of drinking water and had cooking facilities in the room.
Rooms are accessed via a courtyard with a gate, so the place felt very secure.
As an environmentalist I love any place that makes an effort to use solar panels, so they get big bonus points for that.
The hotel is an easy 5 - 10 minute walk to the main street of Tulum, where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops.
Overall we really enjoyed this place and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are accessed by a spiral staircase and are not suitable for anyone with impaired mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola, thank you for choosing us,we enjoy having you with us here in Posada Yum Kin, please keeps in mind for your next vacation in Mexico.Thank you once again.

ADRIAN TERCERO


PYK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

It does have a tranquil feel as you walk in. It is a very quiet place. Unfortunately the location is what lets it down.

We caught a taxi from Playa and on arrival in Tulum despite having the address it took many conversations from the taxi driver to locals before we could finally find it.

Upsides:
- Nice rooms with air conditioning and fan
- Complimentary breakfast and water

The location is a distance from the Tulum Town Centre so we had to catch a taxi from the hotel into the town for 30 pesos each time. We had friends staying in the town who had decent accommodation so there are other options. They offer bikes but these are not complimentary (costs $5 US per day and they are quite old).

Place itself is lovely though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tpea012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola, We thank you for choosing us,just to let you know, we have up date our bicycles and now are more reliable and new,please consider us for your next vacation in Mexico, and once gain thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The reviews were filled with warmth and enthusiasm, so we booked Yum Kin for 3 days. Great move! It has a cozy, quirky atmosphere, clearly had a lot of thought put into layout, decor and style, and provides great base. Our room (#1) even had small kitchen which gives greater flexibility.
Lis, the manager, was a star throughout, settling us in and providing good local tips. A cycle ride away from main street with shops and restaurants, and 15 min drive to the warm turquoise waters of Caribean. I can't think of any drawbacks.

Room Tip: all rooms are unique, but well explained on Yum Kin website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OJGT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola,Thank you for choosing us,and we enjoy having you here with us, please keep us in mind for you next vacation here in Mexico,once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent 11 days my family and I (2 children 2 & 5) in the Posada Yum Kin, finding a more perfect place (we had a car) than this charming Boutique Hotel would not have being possible. Lis, the hotel manager is a perfect mixing of friendliness and efficiency. We will be back...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luc Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola,Thank you for choosing us,and we enjoy having you here with us, please keep us in mind for you next vacation here in Mexico,once again thank you.

AdrianTercero

PYK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We followed the recommendations in Trip Advisor and stayed here for a couple if days while exploring Tulum.

Better than we had hoped! Friendly and informed staff that were a joy to meet.

We explored the busy beach scene and checked out the highly rated restaurants (see Hartwood review) but stayed away from the crowd and relaxed in their great pool for a day as well.

I enjoy driving and if you have a rental car this is perfect - easy to find, park and drive to the popular spots in and around Tulum.

Highly enjoyable and great value.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceantech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola,Thank you for choosing us,and we enjoy having you here with us, please keep us in mind for you next vacation here in Mexico,once again thank you.

AdrianTercero

PYK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Immaculately clean and superbly maintained! The staff (especially Liz) is beyond friendly and the hotel is kind of like living in a private compound/tree house. We stayed in Suite 7 which is almost bigger than our apartment in DC. The suite has a full kitchen, closet, two queen beds, large walk in shower, and most importantly for me, A/C. The pool is nice and the breakfast was delicious. One pro/con is location depending on how you look at it. An adventurous but safe walk to town, but the resort is so quiet and great to hear some birds.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimbone19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this review, 24 January 2015
Hola,Thank you for choosing us,and we enjoy having you here with us, please keep us in mind for you next vacation here in Mexico,once again thank you.

AdrianTercero

PYK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.8 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#2 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
5.0 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
3.1 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.5 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
5.2 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Property: Posada Yum Kin
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#8 Best Value Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing