We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING family vacation spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
nc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING family vacation spot!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

El Pez is the perfect place to go to get away from it all, and have a beautiful experience in Tulum! The staff, Michael, Julia, and Vanessa, were so helpful, sweet, and accommodating. The breakfasts were great (and included), and the coffee delivered to the door of our room every morning was a total treat! Our rooms were lovely...breath-taking views, ocean breeze, clean. Even my older teen son adored the trip (which is saying A LOT!)...as he stated at the airport when we were leaving Mexico, "This was the best family trip we have ever taken!"

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Hey T!
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We are so thrilled your family had such a wonderful time with us! You, your husband & children were all so fun to be around. The compliment from your son is one of the best we've received-teenage boys are hard to please when it comes to fun family vacays, so we're glad he loved it! We hope you all are able to come back & hopefully Mya & her mom can come then as well & the girls can have a reunion! :)

Keep in touch!
Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    117
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
487
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hope Valley, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Thank you Michael, Julia, Vanessa, and your great staff. Perfect stay. Great ocean front room with a fabulous off shore breeze and surf to fall asleep to. We will be back

Room Tip: We had room 3 second floor with balcony. Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wylieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Beautiful rooms, clean, great service, amazing view........I cannot wait to go back !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimsteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My wife and I just returned from 5 days at El Pez and what a wonderful time it was...the hotel is just beautiful,the location perfect,the staff outstanding .. we wish to thank Mike and Julia(the managers) for making our stay so perfect..they have done just a great job in making the hotel such a welcoming experience,
We had a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the water and turtle cove and spent many hours just relaxing to the sounds of the waves
The breakfast and dinners were very very good and healthy.
We will be booking for next April asap
Derek and Ellie,Naples,Florida

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We were welcomed by a wonderful staff who were extremely helpful and made us feel at home. I highly recommend the 2nd floor beach front rooms. You will be put to sleep by the sound of the waves and nice breeze blowing through the big screen doors looking out onto the ocean. The managers (Michael and Julia) and staff here are great, and the property is small enough that you taken care of with a nice personal touch. The food and drinks were great, Rubin and Luis will take excellent care of you, providing amazing drinks and food whenever you want it, they truly made our experience there wonderful. The property is located in a nice spot too, close to Zamas for live music at night and close to all the restaurants. If you are looking for a hotel with a beach area to swim at, this is not really the spot, There are comfy chairs on the beach here to relax in and soak up the sun AND there are amazing stretches of beach to swim from within a few minute walk, so DON'T this discourage you from El Pez. El Pez is located in Turtle Bay, thus the name, the turtles return here each year to lay their eggs and return to the ocean. Very cool to see if you can be there for the hatchlings. Thanks again everyone at El Pez! Chris & Kristie, Denver, CO.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We just got back from a very relaxing vacation at El Pez in Tulum. It's a great boutique hotel on the beach with a fantastic staff and incredible food. Vanessa was a wonderful hostess always ready with suggestions to make our trip more interesting and fun. The room was very comfortable with an amazing view and the coffee waiting in a basket at the door every morning was a real treat. Every breakfast was different and unique while watching the pelicans dive for fish in the cove right in front of us. Dinners at El Pez on the water were romantic and the best we had all week. The service was spectacular and the drinks were fantastic!!!

Room Tip: they're all good!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We spent a beautiful couple of weeks at El Pez during the second and third weeks of February. We were overjoyed at the location and couldn't have asked for a better view from the balcony of room 4. We enjoyed the beach mostly to ourselves on a stretch a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel. It was a great spot and to our suprise the sun lounges were free (we've been on too many European holidays). The weather was superb, we honestly wouldn't want it any hotter... it was just right! Breakfast was the perfect start to any day in paradise, the service from Sinhue and Rubin was second to none and the breakfast itself was wonderful; we started every day with a selection of fruits with yoghurt and granola followed by whichever Mexican classic was on the menu that day (Mexican eggs on toast was our favourite), and just to top it all off you could enjoy your breakfast while watching the hungry pelicans diving for theirs. Magical. Vanessa and Violetta were our concierges for the trip who were both fantastic people and great and their job - our holiday simply wouldn't have been as enjoyable if it wasn't for their knowledge and advice. If you're looking for tranquility, beauty and a lifetime of memories El Pez Tulum is the place for you.

Room Tip: Request room 4 before you arrive, it's the best room with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conor_and_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing