We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Say Enough Good Things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cant Say Enough Good Things”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from 5 days in Tulum and spent all 4 nights at El Pez...If you hate big wasteful hotels that leave you feeling like you never left home but enjoy some luxuries like a ridiculous view, clean bedding and a private bath...then you will LOVE El Pez. My friend and I had a sea front king room for two nights and a luxury cabana the second two nights due to a full booking schedule. We actually preferred the coziness of the sea front king but the luxury cabana would be the obvious choice for a family. The food was excellent, the entire staff was friendly and professional and the constant sound of the ocean provided ultimate relaxation. I would recommend renting a car. El Pez provided the perfect jumping off point for our own daily adventures including the biosphere reserve, cenotes, snorkeling, trips into town etc. I have traveled quite a bit in the caribbean, indonesia, central america, etc and I would return to Tulum and El Pez without a doubt.

Room Tip: Being absolutely fully in front of the ocean is worth every penny in the warm summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Muchas gracias for the excellent review! :) It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful Sea Front room. It means so much to us to receive such a stellar review from a world traveller like yourself! Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. We understand there are many beautiful places in the world, so it is such a great compliment to hear that you would return to Tulum and El Pez!

Peace,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    117
    29
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
487
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent a wonderful week at El Pez. If you stay there you will have no TV, no AC, a bad Internet connection and mosquitoes but you will also enjoy slow cooked food, a basket with gourmet coffee on your doorstep daily, privacy, your own beach, a big terrace to sit, lay down, read and talk, the best coconut granola you will ever have, your own hip beach bag ready to go, super clean and charming rooms, friendly staff and high quality customized service. I recommend that you bring repellent, baby powder to get rid of sand and humidity, books (they have a small selection to borrow), your computer in case you want to watch a movie (make sure you download it at home!) and small bills for tips.
El Pez is perfect for couples, celebrities (we actually saw some) and families looking for fun and quality time. The beach has some rocks but it is super exclusive, only 200 meters away you will find nearly 6 kilometers of white sand beach: paradise!
It was truly amazing to be seven days without electronics, make up and even shoes. We will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you so much for the awesome review! We couldn't have described Pez better ourselves! We really appreciate you letting other travellers know what to expect when staying at our Eco-Resort. We are looking forward to your return next year for another week sans make up, shoes and all the stresses of life! :)

Cheers!

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed two nights at El Pez. For us it was the perfect place to unwind after Cozumel and Cancun. The new managers are great as are all the staff at the hotel. Great food, great drinks, great rooms - it is delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your review Vicky! We are glad you found El Pez to be a great place to relax after Cozumel & Cancun. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you need a place to unwind!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Can't say enough how much we enjoyed our stay and the great staff at El Pez. The trip was a graduation/birthday present for my daughter and there was a very pretty bouquet of flowers waiting for her when we arrived. Thanks Julia!

The Pez has delicious breakfast and dinners and the most excellent guacamole I ever tasted. Every afternoon after being out and about, we either had drinks brought to our cabana or on the beach.

The hotel arranged for a snorkel trip to Dos Ojos cenote (mexidivers were the best) and bikes for us to rent for two days. They also arranged for a driver for a trip to Coba (the driver was very nice and took us to buy souvenirs afterward - do not buy at the ruins - big ripoff). The beach at El Pez is good for sunbathing but for actual swimming, we preferred any beach south of the Tulum ruins.

Tulum itself was beyond my expectations. At every moment we were happy to be there and not in Cancun. The area is so tranquil and laid back. The restaurants were absolutely fantastic. Our favorites: El Tabano (bring good bug spray) and Mateo's, and although we found the boutiques pricey, we thought the whole place very affordable - all of our food, drink and bike charges after 5 nights were quite reasonable. The mosquitoes ate us alive but we can't wait to get back there. :)

Special thanks to Hope Smith from Born to Travel for arranging everything for us. www.born2travel.net

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Hi Olivia!
Thank you so much for the review-we really appreciate it! We are glad that we could help make your daughter's birthday/graduation gift so memorable! It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us and we hope you are able to come back to celebrate many more special occassions in beautiful Tulum!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Simple and lovely boutique hotel with friendly staff. I still dream of the wonderful breakfasts. Beach is rocky but gorgeous and sandy beaches are an easy walk away. Hotel is private, much moreso than the other beach hotels in Tulum, and an easy walk to El Tabano and Mateo's our favorite spots!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SingDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had such a great time while staying at El Pez! The breakfasts are waiting for you...we hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I got married at El Pez on May 27th. I regret that it has taken me so long to write this review. I do not regret having my wedding at El Pez or booking the property for four days of festivities with my friends and family. The El Pez staff exceeded out expectations at every party and with every aspect of our stay. They were responsive to needs and requests. They were accommodating and helpful. They were calm and friendly. The food, cocktails, and party planning were exceptional. We hosted 3 nights of activities at El Pez and each night was perfect! The location and rooms are beautiful and a good value. Our wedding ceremony and reception were flawless. All of out guests left extremely happy and my husband and I feel we could not have picked a better venue. Kudos to the Wedding Planner, Party Planner, Management, and Staff for your great taste, attention to detail, kindness, and care! We will be back and we will whole heartedly recommend you to friends! -Allison Yarne & Will Bossen

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Allison & Will,
Your wedding was the first wedding for us as Managers at El Pez and we wanted you both to know how much we enjoyed it & having you all here! You and your friends and family were so much fun and you guys definitely know how to tear up the dance floor! :) We will never forget the exciting thunderstorm during the rehearsal dinner and the amazing fire show in the lobby! We are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed all three nights of activities and really appreciate you sharing your experience with everyone on TripAdvisor! Thank you for the review. We look forward to seeing you both again to celebrate many anniversaries to come!

Best Regards,
Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2012

What an amazing place! We thoroughly enjoyed our entire experience at the El Pez! From the time we entered the hotel until we left to go home everything was perfect! The rooms overlooked the beach with a beautiful view. We saw tortoises come up on the beach to lay their eggs during the full moon. We were able go snorkeling, swim at the cenotes and lagoons, go kayaking, sightseeing at the Mayan Ruins, and just enjoy the relaxed atmosphere.
The staff at the El Pez and the service and food were exceptional! Michael and Julia made this one of the most special vacations we have ever taken.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrid379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Bob & Astrid,
Thank you for the sweet review! We are so happy to hear we were able to make it such a special vacation for you & a happy early birthday for Bob! We had a great time with you all too! The turtles laying their eggs was truly an amazing experience & it was so nice to share it with you. Our staff really enjoyed having you as guests as well & were very happy to hear you enjoyed the service & food. We hope you are able to return to Tulum & stay with us again soon!

Take care,
Michael & Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 95 in Tulum
259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing