We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to paradise as you can get!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We spent 4 nights here recently on the second leg of our honeymoon trip and absolutely fell in love from the start. Michael and Julia are terrific! My wife broke her toe while there and they ran to their home to get her some ibuprofen and were constantly checking to see if she needed anything. The staff there is top notch too. Great food and great drinks. We cannot wait to go back. I can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Opt for the cabanas if you can afford it. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hi Corey!
We can't tell you enough how much we appreciate your sweet review! You & Rori were such a delight to have stay with us! We were so glad to see that despite breaking her toe, you guys had a great time and maintained such a positive attitude. We can't wait until you are able to come visit us and beautiful Tulum again! Keep in touch!

Warmest Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (939)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 939 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel on August the 19th, 2012. We were surprised by a stinking smell but could not make out where it came from. Also, at arrival, we were asked to pay the full amount of our stay (6 nights), which we said we would do the following day. We had already payed for three nights, as a deposit. Well, when we woke up, we found out the smell came from the filthy beach, filled with trash and seaweed spelled by the ocean as a consequence, apparently, of a hurricane occurred 10 days ago. Whereas the rest of the hotels in the area had decided to clean their beaches, el Pez had not. We had to leave inmediately, and they refused to refund our deposit (full 3 nights), even though it was not our fault that they had decided not to clean their wherabouts. We felt badly treated and strongly recomend not to go to this hotel; highly overpriced and unable to understand client service.

Stayed: August 2012
3  Thank Maria Jesus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

It is very disappointing that you would use a legitimate forum such as TripAdvisor to write a false review just because we did not comply with your demands.

This review is not about a dirty beach or bad customer service, as our beautiful beach is cleaned twice a day, despite a hurricane or not, and our customer service is unsurpassed as noted in nearly every other previous review. We find it surprising that at no point during the time you were in our hotel, even when asked, ‘how is everything with your stay so far?’ did you mention the topics of your review.

Our policies are made very clear to our guests both in the Reservation and Cancellation section of our web site and in the Reservation Confirmation email guests receive once they have made a reservation with us.

Not only did you refuse to pay the remaining balance of your stay at check in, citing your travel plans had changed, it was only after we explained the following morning, that we would not be giving you a ‘FULL REFUND’ including the night that you had already stayed in our hotel, that you threatened ‘to write as many bad reviews on TripAdvisor as they would allow’. We do not appreciate threats of blackmail.

It is truly a shame that you would discredit all the hard work of our employees, who strive everyday to provide an immaculate and friendly environment with impeccable customer service, just because you did not get the free night stay that you demanded. We are always open to accept constructive criticism from our guests, which helps us to keep improving our hotel, but we refuse to be blackmailed and bullied by someone looking for a free ride.

Michael & Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I just returned from a 6 night stay at El Pez and I can't stop raving about it! The managers Michael & Julia greeted me with a smile and made me feel at home instantly. The accomodations were impeccable. I stayed in a sea front room with a king size bed, private shower, ceiling fan, not to mention the white sand beach at my doorstep. Every morning I woke up to fresh gourmet coffee awaiting me on my terrace. The food is prepared fresh at your request. I highly recommend the fresh fruit platter with coconut granola & yogurt,also the fish tacos are divine, especially with a Coco-jito.
I have to mention that during my stay Hurricane Ernesto came in to town. The managers and staff took iniative immediately and made the evacuation painless.....and I was able to return to my immaculate room the next afternoon!
Lastly, the convenient location of El Pez made my planned excursions to the Mayan ruins, cenotes, etc, simple. I can't wait to go back to El Pez!!!

Room Tip: I chose the sea front room with "the view", but I would recommend a cabana for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 808Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hola Lori!
Gracias for the awesome review chica! We had such a great time with you & were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking time to share your experience with other travellers. We especially thank you for your recognition of how we handled Hurricane Ernesto. The staff worked very hard those two crazy days, so they are thrilled to see all the hard work was appreciated by the guests. We hope you are able to return to El Pez very soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

El Pez is Wonderful! The managers, Michael & Julia were very helpful and made us feel right at home. We had not even planned on staying in Tulum. We had lunch there after visiting the Mayan Ruins. We continued our travels and decided to change our plans and return for 5 days! The oceanfront rooms upstairs feel like you are in a private cabana. The hotel restaurant is fabulous too. If you want to leave the complex, you can walk to many great restaurants and a few cute shops.

Room Tip: We loved the pink upstairs room. Very private and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Hi Lisa!
Thank you so much for the review! We were so pleased to have you & John change your plans to stay with us. It was so fun hanging out with you both and we are really looking forward to your return in December for John's birthday! Thank you for the wine too-it was very good!

Take care,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from 5 days in Tulum and spent all 4 nights at El Pez...If you hate big wasteful hotels that leave you feeling like you never left home but enjoy some luxuries like a ridiculous view, clean bedding and a private bath...then you will LOVE El Pez. My friend and I had a sea front king room for two nights and a luxury cabana the second two nights due to a full booking schedule. We actually preferred the coziness of the sea front king but the luxury cabana would be the obvious choice for a family. The food was excellent, the entire staff was friendly and professional and the constant sound of the ocean provided ultimate relaxation. I would recommend renting a car. El Pez provided the perfect jumping off point for our own daily adventures including the biosphere reserve, cenotes, snorkeling, trips into town etc. I have traveled quite a bit in the caribbean, indonesia, central america, etc and I would return to Tulum and El Pez without a doubt.

Room Tip: Being absolutely fully in front of the ocean is worth every penny in the warm summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Muchas gracias for the excellent review! :) It is so nice to hear how much you enjoyed the beautiful Sea Front room. It means so much to us to receive such a stellar review from a world traveller like yourself! Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travellers. We understand there are many beautiful places in the world, so it is such a great compliment to hear that you would return to Tulum and El Pez!

Peace,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We spent a wonderful week at El Pez. If you stay there you will have no TV, no AC, a bad Internet connection and mosquitoes but you will also enjoy slow cooked food, a basket with gourmet coffee on your doorstep daily, privacy, your own beach, a big terrace to sit, lay down, read and talk, the best coconut granola you will ever have, your own hip beach bag ready to go, super clean and charming rooms, friendly staff and high quality customized service. I recommend that you bring repellent, baby powder to get rid of sand and humidity, books (they have a small selection to borrow), your computer in case you want to watch a movie (make sure you download it at home!) and small bills for tips.
El Pez is perfect for couples, celebrities (we actually saw some) and families looking for fun and quality time. The beach has some rocks but it is super exclusive, only 200 meters away you will find nearly 6 kilometers of white sand beach: paradise!
It was truly amazing to be seven days without electronics, make up and even shoes. We will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We couldn't have described Pez better ourselves! We really appreciate you letting other travellers know what to expect when staying at our Eco-Resort. We are looking forward to your return next year for another week sans make up, shoes and all the stresses of life! :)

Cheers!

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed two nights at El Pez. For us it was the perfect place to unwind after Cozumel and Cancun. The new managers are great as are all the staff at the hotel. Great food, great drinks, great rooms - it is delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for your review Vicky! We are glad you found El Pez to be a great place to relax after Cozumel & Cancun. We hope that you are able to visit us again when you need a place to unwind!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 99 in Tulum
418 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £239 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing