We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Spent 3 nights for a wedding beginning of November. The staff was excellent and the rooms are exactly what you are looking for. Small but very comfortable with an open floor plan. Our view overlooked the gulf and it was beautiful. The beach is also great, its not good for swimming but its good to lay out in. The welcome in cocktail and coffee/tea in the morning made this a nice place to stay. The only negative we had was we booked a trip through the hotel around 7PM the night before we wanted to go fishing. We paid a lot of money for what turned out to be not what we bargained for in any aspect. Unlike others who had great excursions I would suggest planning them independently or making sure you plan them in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Stephen,

Amanda & Sean friends and family were really beautiful people, we enjoy a lot having all of you here with us.

Thanks for the nice things you wrote about our hotel, El Pez is blessed of being situated in such a beautiful place, with wonderful views from all the rooms.

We are really sad that the fishing trip wasn´t what you expected.

Hope to see you again !

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    115
    28
    3
    4
See reviews for
182
483
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at El Pez for the first time at the end of Oct. Everything was taken care of perfectly thanks to Mateo, Andrea, Antonio, and staff. Mateo's suggestion for day long tour of Sian Kaan with Victor made for a tremendous excursion. We stayed in luxury cabana 10 which was upper level and provided a great view of the surf and sun. Room was clean and well appointed with great bathrooms. Food and drinks were also first class. I'll be back soon! Thanks!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear John,

Thanks for taking the time of writting such a beautiful review about El Pez.

Guests like you really deserve a first class treatment !!!

Sian Kaan is such a magical spot in Tulum, nice that you have the oportunity to go there. We are blessed to have that natural reserve so close from the hotel.

I know you will come back someday, hope to be as sooner as posible.

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This place has a very nice peaceful ambiance and the staff of the hotel is very friendly and will help you as much as possible. I personally love this place, home away from home. It seems that this hotel draw very lovely people who want a nice peaceful harmonious experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, the best are facing the beach, the bungalows are really the closest to the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogawithBija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Bija,

Home away from home !!!! You know that every time you come back the feeling will continue.

Your yoga groups are always welcome, such much love in the air every time you are here.

We are already missing you, see you next May !!!

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I had stayed in El Pez this October, 2013. This is a secluded place with great beach, style and perfect service. The staff deserves a review of it own, it is worth staying there just because of the humane/ family type treatment that you receive there. Would like to point out a server named ARMIN he is very genuine in all he does for you. Thank you !
(Mikhail from Vancouver)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikhailBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Mikhail,

It was really nice for us having you and your wife here with us.

Always is nice to read about guests that felt a family treat during their stay at the hotel.

We are really proud of our staff, Armin send you a big hugh.

Hope to see you again,

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a VERY basic hotel in every respect. No luxury here. It must have been romantic at some point, when there were not 100 other hotels on the same strip. It is a bit separate from the others, but that is because the beach in front of the hotel is much worse: completely full of rocks and a bit wild.
What I found really shocking of the whole experience was the service at reception. Or shall I say: the lack of it. Really not interested in making your visit special in any way. The staff there are dressed as if they were vacationing with you, and will not even show you the facilities. Happy to bring out the two papers where they have printed your reservation, written in BIC pen, and then to see you off at the end of the visit. Honestly, a lot to improve there to make yours guests feel special. Love the hippie feel, but you bring it to a whole new level. Some interest in your guests would go a long way.
Bed is big, but pillows are from the 70s, judging by how used and bad quality they were.
Restaurant and bar are wonderful, though. Truly special food. My congratulations to the chef.

Room Tip: Good thing about the rooms is that they are all right in front of the water. Choose a "cabaña&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spanishwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest,



Thank you very much for your review as it not only allow us to learn from your perception. Which does give us an opportunity to improve and anticipate very respectful visions of a memorable Tulum vacation, as you expected. The exotic and pristine location of El Pez at the natural reserve of Turtle Cove is an invaluable attraction for most of our clients as it not only serves as natural shelter for turtles to nest, but provides to local Mayan fishermen. However we do understand that was not what you looked for as your vacation. We do want you to rest assure that at El Pez we do take our guests comments very seriously specially about service and had addressed and rectified concierge procedures. In order to correct what seemed a glitch on staffing. Our team was actually in the process of getting local designed, beach casual yet sharp uniforms, to set the tone to a warm welcome and unforgettable stay. Also, as you stated the exceptional comfort of our beds has been a raving comment of our guests however had taken note on the pillow comment in order to correct any mishap on that. We do appreciate and thank you for your review on our recently launched Altamar Restaurant at El Pez, as it is new concept of a legendary Tulum classic. It does mean a lot to us. And that is exactly what we work hard on at El Pez. Carefully listening to what our valuable clients, like yourself, have to say as part of a diverse and precious clientele that allow us to be part of memorable times.

El Pez Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice little hotel just steps from the water. Good location too as it was on the north end of the hotel zone beach strip, meaning it is closer to Tulum pueblo than most of the nice beachside hotels. And if you want tasty food for far less than you'll pay in the hotel zone, you'll want to head into Tulum pueblo.

El Pez also has very friendly staff and a great kitchen. The included breakfasts were very tasty and healthy.

We got one of the luxury cabanas and it was worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmf415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear jmf415,

Thanks a lot for taking the time of writing a review of El Pez.

We are really happy happy to read that your time at the hotel was so nice.

Thanks for the words of the staff.

Big Hugh,

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My gorgeous boyfriend brought me to Tulum for the first time. We were so lucky to find our way to El Pez, one of the most romantic spots on the planet. Our room was wonderful with a comfy king size bed and a huge window overlooking the small cove in front of the resort. We dined at Altamar, the hotel restaurant as well. The presentation was thoughtful and portions generous. The 1958 drink is to die for! I would definitely take my significant other to this amazing place!! You will fall in love all over again…as I do every time!

A special thanks to Mateo who took such good care of us!

Room Tip: Choose Room number 3. Great spot with a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissingTulum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Concierge at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
What a BEAUTIFUL description about the hotel.

So nice to read that you and your boyfriend had such an amazing time staying with us.

Lot of love to both of you.

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing